We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Formby Hotel

82 Formby Road, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Formby Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Captains Flat, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Our overnight stop in Devonport was made all the better for a nights stop in the Formby Hotel. The Hotel is obviously updating and our room was fresh and exceptionally clean. The bed was comfortable and our queen size deluxe room was quiet and airy. I always love a room with a bath and the bathroom did not disappoint. Exceptional... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked on booking com, expected a proper hotel, surprised when I arrived to find it was just a regular pub, had no parking at all, Chinese backpackers everywhere, was also annoyed they photo copied my drivers license and I asked for it back in morning but they said they shred it, not good at all.

Helpful?
Thank Real R

Travelers are raving about these Devonport hotels

County Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Judging by the reviews, this place really needed a refurbishment so I'm glad that we stayed after the fact. The room overlooked the port; it was clean, basically brand-spanking new. Everything in the room looked great- no complaints. However the corridors look like they need to be next on the hit list, as it's beyond tired, along with the common... More 

Helpful?
Thank missannik
Goodstone2015, Guest Relations Manager at Formby Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review. We have been working to renovate all our rooms and will now turn our efforts to the common areas of the accommodation. So glad you enjoyed the Central Restaurant - we are quite proud of our food here. Thank you again - we appreciate your comments More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Awkward check-in process and average room quality, but altogether acceptable for the $100 we paid. What is not acceptable is the noise. Room is directly facing the outdoor bar area. Its loud. Real loud. Shouting, swearing, fighting, Katy Perry on repeat - the whole deal. To not point out that the accommodation is not suitable for sleeping in is unacceptable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luke B
Mawson Lakes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Not well signed so finding it was not easy. If you don't mind stairs then go right ahead. At the end of a busy day trudging up the stairs was a pain. Renovations to the room next door meant putting up with hammering. Carpet was atrociously dirty - so a reno was absolutely needed in this room too. Bed was... More 

Helpful?
Thank adele959
Goodstone2015, Guest Relations Manager at Formby Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Adele, We are sorry your experience was not a good one. We only have two rooms left in out accommodation refit and unfortunately, it appears you had one of them. We have been trying not to utilise these rooms unless completely necessary. All rooms will be finished very shortly and if you choose to stay with us again you... More 

Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

The new renovations look great up til we got to our room. Bedding was clean and looked modern. The overnight experience would be lifted to a much nicer experience if new carpet was laid in all the rooms. We had room 15. It had a QB, SB and ensuite with shower over bath. The decor is quite old which didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raelene G
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Formby Hotel, responded to this review

Raelene I have been advised there are still 3 rooms to be fitted with new carpet. Unfortunately you got one of them it seems. Its a shame to let them when all else has been updated, but needs-must I guess. We have a great location for the Spirit, but we are also an entertainment venue on Friday nights - hope... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

I was quite worried after my husband booked room & I then reviews, we were booked into a yet to be renovated room : staff were upfront & honest & were happy to help if we had any problems once seeing room, however; yes the room was way over due for a refit but it was clean, linen clean &... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bec A
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Formby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Bec Apparently we have 3 rooms remaining to have the new carpet fitted - sorry you got one of them, but pleased all else was in order. Cheers More 

Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

Went back to the Formby last week after many long years and was most impress with the building changes and updates, Meals available were of a good variety although some were a bit expensive e.g. Steak Sandwich $22 which I had and although I though it expensive it was very good meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Oldgrumblebum
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Formby Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Grumblebum - dont stay away so long next time. More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

Firstly the room was clean, warm and comfortable but very noisy! We heard minimal bar noise (being a Friday night) just lots of noise from other guests coming and going and slamming doors. I would suggest staying here but maybe not over a weekend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie R
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Formby Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Cassie - sorry about the noisy neighbours. More 

Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

This hotel was so clean, the bed was the most comfortable we had ever slept in, the linen was so new and fresh. It's all about how clean and comfortable a place is, and this one ticks the boxes. Thank Formby

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Formby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you.. please to hear that our renovation work has been received well. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
#5 of 5 in Devonport
3.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dannebrog Lodge
Dannebrog Lodge
#7 of 14 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay