We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pumphouse Point

Save
Share
1 Lake St Clair Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7140 Australia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (788)
Room & Suite (148)
Dining (23)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
In the middle of Tasmania, on the deepest lake in the Southern Hemisphere and surrounded by some of the most dramatic natural landscape on the planet awaits Pumphouse Point, an industrial relic reborn as a wilderness retreat. Explore the myrtle forests, drift across the lake or just sink into your couch and watch the world float by. The scene is set for your new favourite memory.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Hiking
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Room service
Seating area
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
636Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 464
  • 120
  • 31
  • 12
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
nomibal wrote a review Apr 18
Sydney, Australia15 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent two nights at Pumphouse Point this month. I would like to give an honest review of our experience. The location and surroundings are absolutely exquisite and certainly make up for some of the other aspects which are lacking.....more on that soon. There are fabulous walks around the lake area, rowboats to take out on the lake, bicycles and e-bikes all included for guests. We really enjoyed the breakfast & dinner communal dining experience - getting to know some of the other guests was an unexpected positive. The dinner menu is set. We do not eat meat, but no fresh fish is provided, so we were somewhat underwhelmed by the vegetarian option. The staff did try to sort this out for us on the second night and went out of their way to provide food that we would enjoy. We appreciated this but feel that there should be more attention to the menu for guests who do not eat meat/chicken. Each guest is provided with a delicious larder of locally produced products in their rooms to be eaten for lunch and during the day before dinner. Delicious, fresh bread is baked all day and available on the hour should it be wanted. Everyone seemed to loved this offering. The rooms are comfortable and a decent size but do not expect luxury. In this case less is more.......the best aspect of the room is the view over the lake. We stayed in the actual Pumphouse itself and the view from our room was magnificent. The public areas include beautiful spots to relax in front of a fire-place and take in the view, sip some great wine, read a book or play a game. The staff were helpful, friendly and provided good service. All in all for us Pumphouse Point had the feel of a great lodge rather than a luxury hotel. We felt that it was overpriced in terms of the food provided and the simplicity of the accomodation. I would love to return to the Pumphouse again as I felt that 2 nights was a little short and there was so much more to see in the area but the prices at the moment make an extended stay unlikely.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: View from the entry floor of the Pumphouse rooms was fabulous - felt like we were on a ship.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
judef wrote a review Apr 9
Sydney, Australia69 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
My partner and I stayed for two nights and it was absolutely gorgeous from arrival to departure. The location is sublime and it m arrival the weather was perfect ! We had a spectacular view from our room in the shore building (my preferred location) Bar has a selection of fabulous Tasmanian wines for purchase using an honesty system. Set menu Meals were delicious and well presented using local produce. Communal seating was a great way to meet other guests and swap experiences of Tasmania Each room has a larder of local goodies to take on a picnic or have in the room. We chose to hike from echo point to visitor centre which was to take about 3 hours but took us 4.5hours. Sadly we didn’t see any wildlife. The weather is changeable in Tassie so in a week we went from t shirts to snow so be prepared! Pumphouse point was a very special location to go with a special person.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pumphouse Team, General Manager at Pumphouse Point
Responded 2 days ago
Hi judef, We're glad to hear you loved your time in the Shorehouse with us, and enjoyed our communal dining and lunch goodies! Thank you for leaving your kind review. It was great to have you stay and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Warm regards, Pumphouse Point Team
Read more
Jeremy S wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions
We visited pumphouse twice during the winter months and will return again. Very relaxing environment with easy going staff. Recommend walking the Frankland beaches and if you are into fly fishing take your rod! We got to experience the delicious fire feast on the weekend and beautiful warm mulled wine before dinner. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Pumphouse Team, Marketing at Pumphouse Point
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Jeremy, Thanks so much for your kind words about Pumphouse. We're so pleased you enjoyed your second visit, made the most of experiencing the vast wilderness here. We hope to welcome you back again next time you're in Tassie. Safe travels, Pumphouse Point Team
Read more
コアラ wrote a review Mar 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for 3 nights at the retreat. The rate is 6 star plus. However, we feel we were ripped off. The worst part is meal. 2 meals included daily but we had to be at the dining room at 18:30 sharp and share with other 4 gusts. 40 guests were packed in the small area. No wine is available by glass, guests have to purchase bottles. (we did not have to purchase since the rate included drinks, but other guests have to) Dining area is very casual, very noisy, and no menu options are given. Meal quality is very standard nothing special. We felt as if we dined at a dormitory canteen. We expected more upmarket ambience and flexibility for the rate which we were charged. We requested to dine in the room for the last night, but was rejected without any consideration. The lady said they would not provide any flexibility to guests. This arrangement is purely for cost cutting and not for the sake of guests. We dined at Lake St Clair Lodge nearby which is a 3 star hotel. instead of the hotel. The restaurant is far better than the pumphouse. The reception did not answer our calls and never called us back. The reception hours are limited. If you would like to be ripped off, go for it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Pumphouse Team, Marketing at Pumphouse Point
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear コアラ, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at Pumphouse Point. I and our entire team were very disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with your stay here – it’s certainly always our intention to provide exceptional value for our guests, so we’re very sorry you left feeling this way. Our team are reviewing your comments to understand how you felt ‘packed in’ to the dining room, as the space was designed to cater for all in-house guests and includes an adjacent lounge area. The dining room is generous in space and exceeds all COVID distancing requirements, which as you would understand is a major departure from normal separation. As the dining room is not open for casual dining it never exceeds our maximum 38 guests at a time, the space is sufficient and legally able to be utilised by double this number. We will investigate further. We do consider all requests carefully, however our current menu isn’t suitable for room service and we are not willing to compromise on the quality, temperature and presentation of our meals. To deliver to The Retreat – being secluded away from the main building – would compromise this. We’re sorry you didn’t consider the alternative options we offered you multiple times. We do have a continuous improvement ethos and our team has met to discuss ways we may improve this part of the experience, and it’s our intention to do so. Our set-menu communal dining (we have never claimed to have a restaurant) is an important part of the experience at Pumphouse Point – it is, and always has been, a part of what so many find special and engaging about our wilderness retreat. We’re sorry it didn’t live up to your expectations. We offer all three melas a day, and the larder lunch is designed for you to be able to take into the wilderness at your leisure. We’re sorry that the stash of Tasmanian cheeses, charcuterie, chocolate, seafood, snacks and warm fresh bread in your room daily didn’t satisfy you as a meal for lunch. As for our honest bar system, having wines by the bottle is in the interest of covid-safety. We do offer single-serve bottles of some wines, and allow guests to take their unfinished bottles back to their room or even back home with them. At bottleshop prices, having wine by the bottle is not something that’s been an issue with our guests before. Our reception is open daily between 8am and 6pm. As mentioned, there are team members in the shorehouse that would have been happy to assist you up until 10pm, and we have an after-hours number available for emergency situations. I am perplexed and sorry that you were not aware of our style and offerings as a Wilderness Retreat as we strive to communicate this to all of our guests in prior to and at arrival including on our website, reservations pages, booking confirmation emails, pre-arrival form, at check-in and via social media. We apologise, and given your expectations were not fulfilled we are working to determine how we could even better communicate this before arriving. We are situated in Tasmania’s World Heritage Wilderness area, a national park, and have a commitment and philosophy of enabling guests to immerse in this. We provide a range of activity opportunities and I am pleased the team reported you did participate in some of those and enjoyed the experience especially our Retreat e-bikes. We don’t claim to offer any of the things we weren’t able to provide to you, and are careful not to present as a ‘luxury’ property. We’re sorry again you didn’t find the value that we strive to offer as a boutique wilderness retreat which is connection with nature and sharing this with other travellers. We are mortified you felt ‘ripped off’, something we have never been accused of by over 100,000 previous guests. We constantly benchmark and review against similar establishments around Australia in pricing, experience, activities, and food and beverage offerings. Given your remarks we have taken onboard your feedback seriously for further review. Regards, Simon Currant Owner/Managing Director Pumphouse Point
Read more
john mcintyre wrote a review Mar 2021
Thredbo Village, Australia27 contributions9 helpful votes
there is very little to be critical about Pumphouse Point.we stayed in the pumphouse.the room was quirky but very comfortable. the bar fridge was well stocked and the larder of cheeses,charcuterie and other items was a very good idea. As others have mentioned the food is problematic.Breakfast was a buffet which in the current environment is questionable. Dinner offered no choice and was not up to the standard you would expect from this quality a hotel One night the steak was chewy and the next night the chicken was dry. I am glad we were not there the next night as it was pork with mashed potatoes which is far from my favourite food.my suggestion is get a better chef and give the guests at least some choice in mains.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Pumphouse Team, General Manager at Pumphouse Point
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Pumphouse Point. We’re really pleased to hear that you liked the rooms, the stunning location, and the in-room larder for lunches. We are operating in line with all covid-safety guidelines, including our breakfast buffet, which is why we allocate our guests set times for breakfast. We’re sorry if this made you uncomfortable and we would have been happy to provide you with other options if you’d notified us of your concerns. We’re really sorry that we fell short on the quality of your evening meals. We’ve since met as a team to discuss how we can improve our current menu to ensure that this experience doesn’t happen again. We do notify guests of our set menu dining experience prior to their arrival, but we’re sorry if you expected something different and hope that you still leave with wonderful memories of your stay in the wilderness with us. Thanks again for joining us, John, and we hope we can welcome you back one day. Warm regards, The Pumphouse Point Team
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaCradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pumphouse Point
Which popular attractions are close to Pumphouse Point?
Nearby attractions include The Wall in the Wilderness (2.4 miles), Lake St. Clair (1.8 miles), and Franklin-Gordon Wild Rivers National Park (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pumphouse Point?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Pumphouse Point?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Pumphouse Point?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Pumphouse Point?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pumphouse Point?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hungry Wombat Cafe, The Wall in the Wilderness Cafe, and Derwent Bridge Wilderness Hotel.
Does Pumphouse Point have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Pumphouse Point accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.