We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hills of Gold Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nundle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hills of Gold Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in no 2 unit for the Chinese go for gold festival. Being centrally located in town everything was at our door step. The unit was spacious and clean, Marie was such a delightful host with good advice on where to go for a great meal. We had such a great time at nundle, the locals... More 

Helpful?
Thank steponafish
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2016

At $350.00 for a one night stay you would expect basic cleanliness. Our family of five stayed in the residence. The upstairs bathroom was not cleaned. The floor had a lot of hair and dirty footprints on the floor from previous guests. The shower had not been cleaned, a protective cap from a razor was still in the shower on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Lynne for your review. It is always our intent to present our property in the best possible way and to look after guests in a positive, caring manner. I am sorry that if on this occasion we disappointed you, however, your family was part of a group booking for a wedding being held on the Saturday afternoon. The... More 

Coonabarabran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

My husband and I stayed here on Wednesday night. Hot day outside, but lovely and cool inside. The air conditioner wasn't on, but the lovely big room was the perfect temperature. Marie is an excellent hostess, and her room was spotless. The room had both a front and back door, and a bench out the back was just right for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maree D
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Hi Maree, Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities met your needs so well. We hope to see you again. More 

Singleton, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

A baaic motel in a small county town. Clean , neat and tidy. Service was great and organised. The grounds of the motel was very well kept. Rooms are very basic. I agree with another Trip Advisor person....fly spray prob been in the room since 1980 and doesn't spray properly. Good cetral location but I do think for $140 per... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna D
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Hi Donna, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Nundle and would stay with us again. We always try to look after our guests in a friendly, professional way. Our Saturday rate is $140.00 as our costs are greater at the weekend due to penalty rates. Our insect spray is not from 1980... More 

O'Connell, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

Front office greeting typically country friendly. Rooms are tired but basically clean. Mozzie spray dated from the dark ages and is the most basic no frills....get some mortein!! Bed and linen comfy and clean. Local pub is very good, OK wine selection and truly superb local trout dish, very , very good. Nundle is a gorgeous stopover. Some locals just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey P
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Hi Geoffrey, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed Nundle and its friendly hospitality – sorry that some of the locals did not say hello to you. Our insect spray is not from the dark ages, it is an Australian made and owned product similar to Mortein and sourced from a local supplier in Tamworth as... More 

Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Rooms were ok, no hot water when we arrived mid afternoon is really unacceptable, we were offered to use the facilities in the B&B next door however we paid for a motel room with a bathroom and that's what we expected. No offer of a discount of any sort and not what I would call friendly service. Chances of using... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we were pleased you were happy with the room and we do understand your feelings about the hot water situation. As we explained to you and your partner we had been having difficulties with our system that day and the hot water was starting to reheat just after your arrival. We apologise that you were... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

Right in the centre of town and across the road from the Pub, but sooo quiet! This little town is delightful, and the country around it beautiful. Rooms are fine, no kitchen available when we visited, but there were alternatives nearby. An easy going and pleasant stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry O
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

With delightful hosts, we enjoyed visiting the interesting sights around Nundle - the Woollen Mills, Hanging Rock Lookout, the Trout farm - as well as enjoying delightful meals each evening - Cafe Nundle and Mt Misery Gold mine Cafe. Well rugged up at night, we had a fantastic time looking at the stars. Wonderful weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Anne H
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

Marie was a wonderful host to myself & 14 other weary bikers on the 29th November. Everything was perfect and bikes were even put under cover in the carport. Rooms were clean, roomy & beds were comfy. With the Peel Inn across the road for drinks & dinner an the Cafe Nundle just down the road for breakfast, it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Sydney
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

A very comfortable motel in a lovely, friendly country town. Immaculately clean. Fresh milk in the fridge. Heating on for our arrival. Very comfortable beds and perfect for our family of three. Extremely friendly and helpful owner. You'll have a great night's sleep.

Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyofthreeSydney
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nundle hotels
0.0 mi away
Peel Inn
Peel Inn
#1 of 3 in Nundle
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Mine Guesthouse
Gold Mine Guesthouse
#2 of 3 in Nundle
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hills of Gold Motel

Address: Corner of Jenkins and Oakenville Streets, Nundle, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Nundle
Price Range: $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing