We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Norwood Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Norwood Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sorry, but for $200 per night I expect at least basic standards. The bathroom was overrun with tiny bugs in the morning, even all over the towels and our toothbrushes. The water pressure in the shower was non existant; a mere trickle. The room was dirty, filthy old curtains. Breakfast was inedible: grey, undercooked sausage, burnt bacon and tasteless everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwicurls
Tony P, Owner at Norwood Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were so unhappy with your stay. Can we respond to each of your issues in turn? The reason that insects got into the bathroom is that you left the unscreened window open and the light on all night. Blackheath has low water pressure so we have a booster pump that cuts in on demand. Sometimes...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed October 28, 2016

I must start by saying how lovely the hosts were, chatty and made you feel very at home. They work extremely hard to run the lodge along with the restaurant in the evening. However, the room was just not to our liking, we expected the room to be small and basic but it was so dark and dingy, the only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam82trip
Katoomba, Australia
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

The Nepalese food is delicious and a real treat. The fish curry was so good I want more! Beautiful town and the owners are awesome and so friendly. Tony is so knowledgeable about the Isle of Man TT we always have great conversations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ravensoak
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed July 7, 2016

We stayed at Norwood overnight. We were welcomed with tea next to the fireplace on our arrival. Our hosts were friendly and thoughtful, making us feel more like friends than guests. The room was spotless, the hot water excellent and the building heated ovrenight. Our breakfast was generous and sustaining. This is an accommodation for the serious tea drinkers with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
North Nowra
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Booked here with a bunch of friends as we had stayed here previously. Tony and Dolma made us very welcome and were very helpful and gracious hosts, even snow for our Christmas in June! The rooms are comfortable with everything that you could want. The lounge room with huge wood burner kept us very cosy before having a wonderful meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 857cathyh
Newcastle
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Stayed here for one night during June. The room was clean and comfortable and its really cosy and warm (which is what you want on the Blue Mountains in June), definitely can't complain about the room. Its not too far from the train station which we found handy visiting the Winter Festival at Katoomba and although its along the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan l
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed June 22, 2016

I stayed one night in Norwood and wish it had been longer. The owners are so friendly and welcoming, beautiful people. The units have all your basic needs and I found the bed and pillows really very comfortable. The place is really clean. There was a cooked breakfast included in the room price which was lovely. I would have liked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed May 29, 2016

We stayed here overnight for a weekend away and could not have been more comfortable. The hosts, Tony and Dolma were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Tony graciously allowed us into our rooms several hours early so we could leave our bags and freshen up before a lunch date we had. Nothing was too much trouble and in the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison G
Reviewed May 13, 2016 via mobile

Excellent food. Lovely surrounding. Needed background music. Highly recommended specially for their nepalese menu and setting. It" s also a guest house . Located in Blackheath it makes it a must to visit for a relaxing dinner atmosphere after a walk down Evans lookout.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine G
Perth, Australia
Reviewed May 10, 2016

Positives: 1. Breakfast was included in the room price (continental as well as hot breakfast, cooked on request). 2. Owners were very friendly and helpful. 3. Free WiFi (good speed). 4. Room was clean. 5. Kettle, tea and cofee were provided. 6. Nepalese restaurant on the premises. Negatives: 1. Our double room was very small - it was difficult to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pralinka10
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.6 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
791 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackheath Motor Inn
Blackheath Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Blackheath
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now under new management. A family run guest house offering B&B accommodation in a heritage building dating back to 1888. Conveniently located on the Great Western Highway at Blackheath in the upper Blue Mountains close to many of the World Heritage scenic sites to be found in the region. The attached restaurant serves the only authentic Nepalese food to be found in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Norwood Mountain Lodge

Address: 209 Great Western Hwy, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Price Range: $93 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norwood Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Norwood Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Mountain Lodge Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Norwood Mountain Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Norwood Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms awful.”
 of 5 bubbles kiwicurls, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms on the right hand side have a private entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles 725BonnieM, Apr 13, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room towards the back of the property. Free wifi available in the lounge area.”
 of 5 bubbles Nana422, Feb 27, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles janetV1257RX, Oct 26, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles eddyquan, Oct 5, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay