We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The New Sussex Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The New Sussex Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for two nights early September. The room had not been cleared of rubbish in all bins in the room and bathroom. There was dust on a small table and the carpet was dirty. Guest shower and shampoo bottles used by previous guests had not been cleared. A fire alarm woke me up at 4:00 AM... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry you had this experience, we did try and rectify it as soon as possible. It was not up to our usual standard, it was a late check out that day and the cleaning lady was late to her childcare and failed to handover, and as it was a late check out it did not checked. We have since... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

Great atmosphere on arrival with a busy bustling pub Room was a pleasant surprise with smart decor and comfortable bed Ate at the hotel in the evening had a wonderful steak in good surroundings Will definitely come back

Helpful?
Thank flavia1243
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

During our stay at the hotel there was a big barbecue event for local charities. It proved to be a fun filled ( some alcohol fueled event) helped by the sun of course. There was fantastic entertainment by DJ Rocky the resident DJ who was fab. The hotel room we had was of modern but tasteful decor and the bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Situated near both Brighton and Worthing it's a very convenient place to stay. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and offered everything one would expect from a modern day hotel. With a bar and restaurant downstairs it was everything I could have asked and hoped for. I fully recommend the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Dave P
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

From the moment you walk into the door everything is perfect for your stay. Accommodation, Food, Staff and of Course the Bar where worth every penny. Would 100% recommend to anyone and definitely will be staying again. Close but also far enough away from Brighton.

Helpful?
Thank HollywoodNo7
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review ...really does make a impact thanks : ) More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

Visited the new Sussex on Friday the 8th. The pub had a live singer, Charisse, absolutely fantastic. She gets the whole pub young and old moving. Great atmosphere, she should appear here more often! Highly recommend. Great night!

Helpful?
Thank Gary C
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Gary, Glad you had a good evening, we love Charrise too : ) More 

pallasgreen, co limerick.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

This property should not be advertised as a hotel. It is a pub with rooms to rent on b&b over the pub. There is music at night which will keep you awake. It is over rated & very expensive 322euro for 2 nts in a double room breakfast included.

Helpful?
Thank landlady77
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Landlady, We dont usually ever have complaints over the standard of our rooms or our offering. The nights you stayed we did have music, which that room does get to hear, but we had put you on a lower floor at the last moment due to your other request. I did check in with your husband to apologise the... More 

Askrigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Just stayed one night for work Welcoming couple run this pub and hotel with nice local real ale, kept well, and a lovely room with a great sea view. Breakfast was good quality, the landlady and landlord great hosts.

Helpful?
1 Thank Asa G
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Asa G, Thank you for taking time to write a review .. we look forward to you coming back soon : ) kind regards, Fiona & Andy More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

Popped in here for lunch on Saturday where we were greeted by a lovely lady working behind the bar. We were given the choice of lunch in the restaurant or in the bar, we chose the very inviting sofas in the bar. The food arrived quickly, my goats cheese sandwich was delicious but I was still very envious of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LPavey123
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you for your review. We hope you get time to pop in again soon : ) Fiona More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

A venue that hides its charms ! The bedrooms are great and the Restaurant is a hidden delight , the food is plentiful and of high quality. the beer garden isn't bad either on a sunny evening. All round a quality venue well worth visiting either as a tourist or as a business traveller.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarkH1604
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you very much for your review. Most kind. Hope you come back to our garden soon, extremely pleasant out there today : ) Fiona More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancing
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
4.3 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
4.8 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The New Sussex Hotel

Address: 182 South Street, Lancing BN15 8AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Lancing
Price Range: $163 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The New Sussex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Sussex Hotel West Sussex/Lancing
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay