We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Eight Bells

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Eight Bells
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 63: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I returned to this brilliant B&B for a much longer stay than last year and, if possible, was even more pleased with my stay. Very clean room, good hearty breakfasts and a huge bath to soak my weary muscles whilst on my cricket tour. I expect to write a similar review this time next year.

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

Very nice, clean and comfortable rooms which are well equipped. Have excellent tower fans so not too hot at night if needed. Bathrooms are very nice with roll top bath and double showers. Breakfast is fine maybe could be a bit better. Wifi is hit and miss.

Helpful?
Thank Lee B
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

Stayed overnight following a visit to the Bolney Wine estate. Lovely modern bedroom and a very large bathroom with all the facilities. Very popular local pub which provides a good menu at a reasonable price. Would stay again. A good base for exploring the local area.

Helpful?
Thank David T
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thank you or taking the time to comment on your stay with us recently. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Emma More 

alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

This room did not feel like a B&B as the building houses only three rooms across the street from the pub/restaurant in the charming town of Bolney. We had a very generous and totally renovated room upstairs which included a large bed with two nightstands, small closet, desk with drawers and a stool (we used for luggage), luggage rack, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank erntravels
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We take great pride in trying to provide a comfortable stay for our guests and are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and you found everything you needed in your accommodation and with the meals you took with us. I hope you will... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

Great B&B, loved our room with beautiful ensuite bathroom with freestanding bath (rarely do you get a bathroom this good in a B&B). We stayed in the downstairs room. Good value, lovely pub across the road where we spent the evening. Owners and other staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Food was very nice and we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We are very proud of "Posh Bob" and our team as they make every effort to make guests feel welcome and at ease. We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future. Regards Emma and Waz More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2016 via mobile

What a find!! Great accommodation very reasonably priced. Clean, warm, peaceful and oh so quiet . . Perfect! Great parking facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't ask for more . . Except when it came to breakfast . . This was disappointing! Two of the items from the menu in the cottage were missing from the vegetarian breakfast, one... More 

Helpful?
Thank beaniemum
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Eight Bells and although I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, I am extremely sorry that your breakfast experience was not as I would expect it to be. I apologise unreservedly for this experience, and although no excuse, we had a junior chef that day preparing breakfasts. I can assure... More 

Guildford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

What a great find,it's well deserving of its four star in fact we think it should be five star.The accommodation is superb,the owners have thought of everything.We were visiting family for our wedding Anniversary,which only comes round officially every four years,so it was even more special to stay in this fantastic bed&breakfast and finish the celebration off with a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write this review. Our team are always grateful to receive feedback from our customers especially when it is as positive as yours. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will visit again. We look forward to ensuring your next visit is as memorable. Thank you... More 

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2016

Discovered this hidden gem by accident and then took friends there for the weekend. Had the best weekend for a long time. Staff all very friendly, food excellent and accommodation very, very comfortable. Wish we had a pub like this in our home town. Can't wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank Tony L
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

It was wonderful to receive notification of your review of the Eight Bells. We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us. We look forward to seeing you back in Bolney very soon. More 

Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

Approximately our 6th visit to the Eight Bells. Absolutely love it. Warren and team are great really make you feel welcome. The cottage is lovely and the rooms are immaculate. If you go definitely eat in the restaurant the food is great and just a stroll across the lane so no drinking and driving! As it was December the pub... More 

Helpful?
Thank GetReady
THEEIGHTBELLS, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the B&B and Pub. It was a pleasure to welcome you again - and hope to do so again in the not too distant future. Posh and the rest of the team really appreciate your comments. Waz and Emma More 

Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

Spent one night here whilst visiting family. Great welcome by "Posh Jim". Everything immaculately clean, extremely comfortable bed, good water pressure from shower, large fluffy towels, good selection of tea/coffee making items. Accommodation is across the street from The Eight Bells in a 500 year old cottage and near the Church. There is also a very comfortable sitting area which... More 

Helpful?
Thank eweology
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolney
1.5 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
3.1 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 stars 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Eight Bells is a tudor cottage situated in the lovely quite village of Bolney. The 3 bedrooms all have en suite accommodation with feature baths in two of the rooms. Breakfast and other meals as required are served at the Eight Bells public house situated immediately opposite the cottage.All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and free hi speed wifi internet connection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Eight Bells

Address: The Street | between The Eight Bells Pub and St Mary Magdalene Church, Bolney RH17 5QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bolney
Price Range: $83 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Eight Bells 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Eight Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay