We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Townhouse

Save
8 High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$82
View Deal
Expedia.com$82
Hotels.com$82
Hotwire.com$82
ZenHotels.com$82
Tripadvisor$82
Nustay.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (156)
360
Panoramas (54)
Room & Suite (225)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Shipston on Stour
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The George has been around for as long as anyone can remember, but in early 2016 it was been treated to a huge makeover including all 15 en-suite bedrooms. Standing proudly in the centre of Shipston High Street, it still remains as the tallest building on the street at three and a half stories. We describe the look as modern yet sympathetic to it's late 18th century features with a feel of casual elegance about it. All the rooms are decorated to a high standard, offering a comfy place to stay. Their sophisticated simplicity gives them a luxurious feel. They all have en-suite bathrooms and breakfast is always included. The ground floor of the George Townhouse is spacious, and our extensive menu covers all meal times. Call in at the start of the day and enjoy a freshly cooked Full English breakfast in the parlour, or pop into our garden room to sample a sharing board and glass of wine over lunch. In the evening treat yourself to a steak in the pantry, sourced from Todenham Manor Farm just 4 miles away.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
338Reviews1Q+A56Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 216
  • 80
  • 27
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Exhausted from hosting family over Christmas, I sneaked my mother out for a relaxed lunch in what is fast becoming one of our favourite local places. Once again The George lived up to expectation: the food was as always exceptionally well-prepared, tasty and fresh! The staff are so friendly - today Billy could not have looked after us better, a real star - thank you! We throughly enjoyed a completely relaxing couple of hours in The Garden Room which was warm and had wonderful music playing. I cannot recommend highly enough and we look forward to returning again very soon.
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Thank you for such a lovely review. Billy is a valued member of our team who I am proud to have on board with us and I'm sure he will appreciate your feedback. I will also relay the review to the kitchen as I am sure that they would be thrilled to know that you enjoyed your meal so much. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
I booked this Hotel as an overnight stop ,as I was attending a family party locally . I only needed a basic room for this purpose , but was hit by the most awful smell when entering the room . Luckily I was taken to the room and the young man who had checked me in , acknowledged the smell , before I even said anything . He moved me to another room at the front of the building - this apparently was an upgrade , which he pointed out he would not make an additional charge ( I was surprised that this would even be considered !) The room was much larger than my needs , but smelt a lot better than the first room - UNTIL I went in to the bathroom . There was a milder but still unpleasant drain smell . I was running late and not impressed about the smell , but didn't have time to
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Dec 31, 2019
Thank you for your honest review. We truly do appreciate feedback whether it is negative or positive as it allows us to grow. I'm really sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Firstly I would like to say that I am pleased that when you were checked in, you were moved rooms the instant that we found the problem with your first room, and without your needing to ask. I'm also sorry that you found your room too noisy when you decided to leave, albeit quite early in the evening of a busy Friday in December. I am however pleased that the team once again attempted to resolve the situation. Further more, I am sorry that you are of the belief that we do not care about feedback, or respond to our guests. I can see that your original feedback was responded to on our system, therefore I can only think that perhaps it could be sitting in your junk folder in your emails? It is truly disappointing and unusual to have feedback such as this. In my time at the George, I cannot ever remember a guest deciding to leave early due to noise. If you would like to return to us in the future, please could you contact me directly on: gm@thegeorgeshipston.co.uk so that I can make sure that we look after you and that your next experience with us is better than your last. Kind Regards Matthew Hiscoe General Manager
Read more
It was a treat.....we were treated by an old friend....and the George is a treat! We hadn’t been before but first impressions are so important. Friendly staff throughout. Fairly quick service on a busy lunchtime. Beautiful food served hot and attractive. Excellent choice. Good ambience with a selection of various side rooms suitable for family occasions. And,although I wasn’t paying(!!) ,the prices seemed to be very fair for the quality . If around again,it’s a great place to eat. Well done,George!!
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Dec 31, 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
We had to pre-order our lunch but this was not a problem as there was something for everyone. Sea Bass/Turkey?Lamb all proved to be popular and did not disappoint. The price was also reasonable for this time of the year and also the service was very good.
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Dec 19, 2019
Thank you Carol for your review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed the food and service that you received at the George. Pre-ordering during December for large groups is a tool that we use to ensure that service runs smoothly for you on the day. Clearly from your review, this was the case, however I am sorry if this procedure meant that your experience was only 4/5 overall. We very much hope to see you again soon and next time earn a 5/5 score. Kind regards Matthew Hiscoe General Manager
Read more
I stay here about once a month and am here at the moment. The rooms are beautiful the staff very friendly and the food amazing. The manager remembered my name the second time I stayed and is always very welcoming. The value for money is second to none. I keep coming back and wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Shipston-on-Stour. If there was a George in every town life would be perfect.
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Dec 18, 2019
Wow, what a great review! Thank you so much for this, it is reviews like yours that really make all of our hard work worth while! We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
george hotel shipston on stour
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsShipston on Stour
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The George Townhouse
Which popular attractions are close to The George Townhouse?
Nearby attractions include The Black Horse Inn (0.2 miles), Thirst Edition (0.1 miles), and Church of St Edmund (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The George Townhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The George Townhouse?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The George Townhouse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The George Townhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Cafe, The Black Horse Inn, and The Bower House.
Is The George Townhouse located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Shipston on Stour.
Are there any historical sites close to The George Townhouse?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kiftsgate Court Gardens (5.7 miles), Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens (9.8 miles), and Hall's Croft (9.4 miles).
Is The George Townhouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.