We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Shipston on Stour
Post
Inbox
Search

The George Townhouse

Save
8 High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$82
View Deal
Expedia.com$83
Hotels.com$83
Hotwire.com$83
ZenHotels.com$83
Tripadvisor$82
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (156)
360
Panoramas (54)
Room & Suite (225)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Shipston on Stour
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The George has been around for as long as anyone can remember, but in early 2016 it was been treated to a huge makeover including all 15 en-suite bedrooms. Standing proudly in the centre of Shipston High Street, it still remains as the tallest building on the street at three and a half stories. We describe the look as modern yet sympathetic to it's late 18th century features with a feel of casual elegance about it. All the rooms are decorated to a high standard, offering a comfy place to stay. Their sophisticated simplicity gives them a luxurious feel. They all have en-suite bathrooms and breakfast is always included. The ground floor of the George Townhouse is spacious, and our extensive menu covers all meal times. Call in at the start of the day and enjoy a freshly cooked Full English breakfast in the parlour, or pop into our garden room to sample a sharing board and glass of wine over lunch. In the evening treat yourself to a steak in the pantry, sourced from Todenham Manor Farm just 4 miles away.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
338Reviews1Q+A56Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 216
  • 80
  • 27
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had a perfect, relaxing and tasty Sunday lunch with our family members, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff when we asked. The staff were not overly fussing us, which was good, and did ask us once during & at the end of our meal if every thing was ok, and it was! We were not hurried and everyone cleared their plates with a smile on their faces, clearly still looking forward to choosing a tempting desert - there was still a little bit of room left for more indulgence at The George :) Will definately return...
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Aug 27, 2019
Thank you so much for such an honest, detailed review. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience at The George Townhouse and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Had a really fabulous evening, partaking in the burger night. The cocktails were a delight and the burger and it’s accompanying chips and garnish complimented it beautifully, with the added bonus of live music and very attentive and efficient service this was a really special evening, can not recommend this gem highly enough. Have returned since on a very busy Saturday and had another great experience, it would seem that along with sophisticated decor, great service and food this is definitely the place to go in Shipston.
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Aug 26, 2019
Wow, what a lovely review. We are thoroughly thrilled that you enjoyed both of your visits to us and are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
We visited the George for lunch on Sunday. All members of our group enjoyed our selected roasts. The Sunday lunch had improved since our visit last year. There didn't seem to be many staff. No one asked if our lunch was ok once we started eating. We asked for the already included service charge to be removed on paying our bill as we always feel that this practice is a bit presumptuous. Not sure if we would return.
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Aug 25, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal. I'm sorry to hear that we didn't meet all of your expectations and even more so that you may not return. I would very much like to invite you back so that we can have the opportunity to win you over next time. I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards Matthew Hiscoe General Manager
Read more
Will not go to this hotel again. Room and restaurant good but that is where it ends. First morning breakfast took forever to come. Complaints from guests to no avail. Staff barely visible. No explanations until forced to. Other guests also unhappy. Scene from fawlty towers. Returned from our day sightseeing and definite lack of housekeeping. Bed looked almost as it was left. Not all bins emptied. Breakfast today improved. More dedicated staff. However while talking to other guests it appears they had similar issues with the breakfast on previous day but were unhappy that there room also showed lack of housekeeping. This couple had stayed here before and the decline now will not prompt them to return again. Not a cheap hotel either - poor value for money.
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Aug 17, 2019
Thank you for this review. As great as it is to read positive reviews its also great to read the negative ones and act upon the comments made. In this case however I'd like to reiterate the explanations for the blip in service standards and also apologise once again for the housekeeping errors. Firstly, the unforeseen equipment issues did set us back significantly as I explained to all the guests that morning. We did manage to get this resolved very quickly with an emergency call out from our engineer meaning we could still serve, just slightly later. It did however mean that equipment was not ready when it should have been and breakfasts took longer to come out. I made the call to carry on serving cooked breakfasts just with a longer wait rather than not serving hot food and restricting guests to the continental option only. Unfortunately your experience was also affected as front of house staff were also working hard to assist the kitchen in serving. I do feel your point raised about no explanations until forced to is slightly unfair. I managed that morning to make my way around the majority of the guests to apologise and explain as to why there was a delay. They all seemed very sympathetic with my reasoning. I also waited a number of hours after my rota'd finish time to explain to you in person as to why the delays occurred. Please do not feel at all that I am making excuses I am as frustrated as you as to the breakfast situation. The housekeeping problems however is unacceptable. I will be catching up as a matter of urgency with the full housekeeping team to review their procedures and the standards they should work to. I also since have seen that my colleague has offered you a repeat complimentary stay so that your experience can be one to remember at our usual high standards. Once again my sincere apologies for the poor experience you have had here at The George and can assure you, as you saw on day two's breakfast, the first morning was anomalous and not representative of our service standards as a whole.
Read more
Stayed at the George with family members for a wedding event nearby. All the rooms were beautifully presented, clean and comfortable The breakfast choices, quality and service were excellent. We all had meals from the a la crate menu on one of the evenings and all the food was very good. The staff and organisation of meals, drinks and all aspects of our stay could not have been better Thank you very much
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Aug 1, 2019
What a wonderful review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
george hotel shipston on stour
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsShipston on Stour
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The George Townhouse
Which popular attractions are close to The George Townhouse?
Nearby attractions include The Black Horse Inn (0.2 miles), Thirst Edition (0.1 miles), and Church of St Edmund (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The George Townhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The George Townhouse?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The George Townhouse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The George Townhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Cafe, The Black Horse Inn, and The Bower House.
Is The George Townhouse located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Shipston on Stour.
Are there any historical sites close to The George Townhouse?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kiftsgate Court Gardens (5.7 miles), Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens (9.8 miles), and Hall's Croft (9.4 miles).
Is The George Townhouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.