We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Townhouse

Save
8 High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$82
View Deal
Hotels.com
$83
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Tripadvisor$83
Agoda.com
Priceline$82
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (156)
360
Panoramas (54)
Room & Suite (225)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Shipston on Stour
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The George has been around for as long as anyone can remember, but in early 2016 it was been treated to a huge makeover including all 15 en-suite bedrooms. Standing proudly in the centre of Shipston High Street, it still remains as the tallest building on the street at three and a half stories. We describe the look as modern yet sympathetic to it's late 18th century features with a feel of casual elegance about it. All the rooms are decorated to a high standard, offering a comfy place to stay. Their sophisticated simplicity gives them a luxurious feel. They all have en-suite bathrooms and breakfast is always included. The ground floor of the George Townhouse is spacious, and our extensive menu covers all meal times. Call in at the start of the day and enjoy a freshly cooked Full English breakfast in the parlour, or pop into our garden room to sample a sharing board and glass of wine over lunch. In the evening treat yourself to a steak in the pantry, sourced from Todenham Manor Farm just 4 miles away.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
338Reviews1Q+A56Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 216
  • 80
  • 27
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Spent a lovely night here in September. Room was large with a bay window overlooking the high street. The bed was so comfortable like a giant marshmallow! Had a meal in the restaurant in the evening and it was really good, and the bar had a nice vibe to it. Breakfast was also excellent. Would definitely return if we are in the area again.
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Oct 16, 2019
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and grateful that you took the time to write us a review. Thank you so much from all of the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This hotel is a very Friendly stay hotel. A great location to visit lots of the local areas and the distillery which is what we did. £10 taxi each way to distillery. Our room was very comfortable and decorated very nice. Great night sleep. Staff were excellent and extremeley friendly. Food is amazing and large portions. Complimentary water, Tea and coffee in room with added extras. We had a brilliant stay..
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Oct 11, 2019
Thank you very much for such a great, honest, 5* review! We hope you will come back and visit us again very soon!
Read more
Seems to be echoing a lot of similar reviews here... Food: The food in the evening was pretty bad. We both had the same meal, burgers. Mine was pink in the middle and very bland and my husbands was overdone, the chips were very greasy. One member of staff seemed very concerned and offered us a dessert but we were meeting friends and didn't fancy it. All other staff members we came into contact with either ignored us completely or were uninterested in what we were saying to them. Breakfast was really good, we weren't expecting it to be from the experience of the night before but were pleasantly surprised.. Room: Neat and fairly clean but some built up mold in the bathroom and the windows had smeared dirty water around the frames. Coat hooks were hanging out of the wall and we
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Oct 9, 2019
Thank you for your honest feedback, it is genuinely appreciated. I'm really sorry that we failed in the areas that you have outlined in your review. I will be working hard throughout our business to improve our standards. I have already addressed the issues raised with your evening meal with our chefs, both on the night and then following up afterwards. We would have happily replaced your meal either with a new burger or something else. I am truly sorry that your experience with some of our team was a poor one. It's something that I'm not used to hearing. We will also be addressing both the maintenance and cleanliness issues that you have raised in regards to your room. I very much would like for you to return to us and give us a second chance to wow you. Please could I ask that you contact me via email on gm@thegeorgeshipston.co.uk so that I can discuss this further with you? Kind Regards Matthew Hiscoe General Manager
Read more
We went for dinner last night to celebrate my wife’s birthday. Ordered baked camembert to start. Don’t know where it was baked but it wasn’t in an oven. Told the waiter, he didn’t apologise. The replacement came and my wife said to him, wait while I try it, and he said no he was too busy. He didn’t come back to check it was ok. Main course arrived but without the sauce and onion rings we’d ordered. As it turned out we shouldn’t have bothered waiting. The pepper sauce was tasteless and the onion rings tasted purely of fat. My chips were solid. I told the waiter and his response was they are triple cooked that’s how they are. They were inedible. He offered us a free desert in compensation but when we didn’t fancy anything we told him to knock something off the bill instead. He
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Oct 6, 2019
Dear Robert Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am shocked to have read a review that shows such a poor visit for you and your wife. It is not a description of how I would want any of our guests to experience their time with us, nor is it the kind of review that I am used to having to respond to. It truly saddens me to hear that a member of staff who is no longer in our employment treated you in such a manner. In your review you have said that you won't be coming again but I would very much like to request that you return as my guest. We want all of our guests to leave us happier than when they arrived. Clearly this was not the case on this occasion. I very much hope that you will take me up on my offer and give us a chance to right this wrong. Please contact me on: gm@thegeorgeshipston.co.uk I sincerely hope to hear from you soon. Matthew Hiscoe General Manager
Read more
Stayed here for 2 nights whilst in the area visiting relatives and what a good choice we made. Our room number 3 was enormous with a large bow window that overlooked the square and also with a large en-suite bathroom with a roll top bath and a fabulous walk in shower. All amenities were provided including tea and coffee making facilities and the gift of a bag of local fudge was much appreciated! We did experience some early morning noise (7.15am) when the dustbin men arrived but that is no fault of the hotel and it only lasted a few minutes. I expect the noise level is a bit higher when the"Mop Fair" is on so check your dates. The breakfast was first class with a either a full English or a continental along with cereals, fruit etc etc. The cooked breakfast is prepared to order
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Sep 26, 2019
Wow what a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to feed back to us how much you enjoyed your stay. We're truly thrilled that we made you welcome and that you left us happier than when you arrived. We truly look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
george hotel shipston on stour
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsShipston on Stour
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The George Townhouse
Which popular attractions are close to The George Townhouse?
Nearby attractions include The Black Horse Inn (0.2 miles), Thirst Edition (0.1 miles), and Church of St Edmund (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The George Townhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The George Townhouse?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The George Townhouse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The George Townhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Cafe, The Black Horse Inn, and The Bower House.
Is The George Townhouse located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Shipston on Stour.
Are there any historical sites close to The George Townhouse?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kiftsgate Court Gardens (5.7 miles), Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens (9.8 miles), and Hall's Croft (9.4 miles).
Is The George Townhouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.