We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Shipston on Stour
Post
Inbox
Search

The George Townhouse

Save
8 High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$82
View Deal
Expedia.com$83
Hotels.com$83
Priceline$82
Agoda.com$83
Hotwire.com$83
ZenHotels.com$83
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (156)
360
Panoramas (54)
Room & Suite (225)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Shipston on Stour
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The George has been around for as long as anyone can remember, but in early 2016 it was been treated to a huge makeover including all 15 en-suite bedrooms. Standing proudly in the centre of Shipston High Street, it still remains as the tallest building on the street at three and a half stories. We describe the look as modern yet sympathetic to it's late 18th century features with a feel of casual elegance about it. All the rooms are decorated to a high standard, offering a comfy place to stay. Their sophisticated simplicity gives them a luxurious feel. They all have en-suite bathrooms and breakfast is always included. The ground floor of the George Townhouse is spacious, and our extensive menu covers all meal times. Call in at the start of the day and enjoy a freshly cooked Full English breakfast in the parlour, or pop into our garden room to sample a sharing board and glass of wine over lunch. In the evening treat yourself to a steak in the pantry, sourced from Todenham Manor Farm just 4 miles away.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
338Reviews1Q+A56Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 216
  • 80
  • 27
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Room 9 - Windows - awful weather, unfortunately it followed us inside via either the outside guttering or window lintels - pouring inside above the windows - spent most of the night emptying plastic containers capturing the constant water ingress - no sleep at all. This is not a new fault, the damp on the walls bear testimony. Lots of apologies and promises of refund but these types of building failures could be remedied sooner and no one should have to spend the night protecting the carpets and flooring on behalf of the owners - avoid Room 9 unless assurances given. The staff were friendly and very apologetic but it didn't compensate for our terrible night at The George Town House.
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Nov 13, 2019
I'm really sorry that the heavy rain downpoor spoilt your experience with us. This unfortunately was an unexpected occurrence and beyond our control during your visit. I'm also sorry that you feel that we could have done more whilst you were with us. We did offer to pay for you to stay in another hotel which you declined. We also offered you drinks at the bar on the house which you refused and we refunded you your entire evening meal and drinks which totaled more than the cost of your stay. Please rest assured that we have resolved the issue caused by the extremely heavy rain experienced during your stay. We have also had further heavy rain since you stayed with us and this has not caused any further problems since the repairs have been made. Kind regards Matthew Hiscoe
Read more
2nd visit and the pub is great. I had fish and chips and my wife had the sandwich. Perfect pint and lovely in front of the fire. Good staff too. Very dog friendly! Lots of different areas to find your spot.
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Nov 10, 2019
Thank you very much for a great review! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
My friends and I often eat here when we are in Shipston on stour. You have a brilliant choice of meals from sandwiches s to proper meals, and all at very reasonable prices. Add to this a great selection of drinks from the bar, and what more could you wish for. Friendly service and comfy seats.
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Nov 6, 2019
Thank you for a great review! Its great to receive reviews with such detail so we can really see what we are doing well! I would love to get this up 1 more star to 5 so please come and visit us again soon!
Read more
Stayed in October 2019. The George Townhouse is excellent with a lovely pub/restaurant downstairs and well appointed rooms on 2 further floors. The room had a very comfortable bed, with great tea making facilities and a fantastic shower room, there is also a period bath in bedroom. Breakfast was outstanding, with a great selection. Very good value for money, I would like to thank the team for accommodating my wife and myself at short notice, due to our original booking at a pub less than 50 yards away was totally unacceptable. Highly recommended
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Oct 25, 2019
Its so great to read reviews like your's! Thank you so much! We love to hear that all of our hard work and attention to detail is recognised. I will be sharing this review with the team to let them know just how well they looked after you!
Read more
Great hotel with a bar and restaurant underneath. The rooms are spacious and well kitted out and cosy. The bed was comfortable and it’s a lovely place to stay. On the night we stayed there were issues with the area out the back where a drunk family (on a Monday night) decided to have a row at 11pm for three hours. Quite frustrating as the hotel had kept the garden lights on so the family could sit down. Not the hotels fault and they did address it several times but to no real avail but keeping the lights on was not a great move. However, the argument was not the hotels fault but worth noting that the rear could be nosy, particularly in the summer if people are drinking. Breakfast was good with good variety and nice food.
Read more
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Oct 25, 2019
Thank you for a great 4* review! I'm glad to hear that you loved our property and the breakfast in the morning! I'd like to apologise for the disruption from other guests late at night. As we don't have a night porter the guests have their own key and can let themselves in/out at anytime. Unfortunately no staff would of been working past 11pm on a Monday night otherwise we would of asked them to have moved back into there rooms. We do hope you will return in the future!
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
george hotel shipston on stour
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsShipston on Stour
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The George Townhouse
Which popular attractions are close to The George Townhouse?
Nearby attractions include The Black Horse Inn (0.2 miles), Thirst Edition (0.1 miles), and Church of St Edmund (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The George Townhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The George Townhouse?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The George Townhouse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The George Townhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Cafe, The Black Horse Inn, and The Bower House.
Is The George Townhouse located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Shipston on Stour.
Are there any historical sites close to The George Townhouse?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kiftsgate Court Gardens (5.7 miles), Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens (9.8 miles), and Hall's Croft (9.4 miles).
Is The George Townhouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.