We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

711 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 710: English reviews
Wigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Charlecote Pheasant Hotel from the 15th - 19th August, 2016. This was our second visit - our last visit was in 2011. The Hotel is set in a beautiful rural area in the pretty village of Charlecote. There have been some changes since our last visit. At the rear is the new decking area and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

HI Ian S, thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. It's nice to read you like the improvements since your last visit and especially the Decking and garden Area's. Glad you got the Chance to visit Blenheim Palace, it truly is an amazing place, i shall pass on all your kind commments ot the team and... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from the Charlecote Pheasant Hotel in the beautiful English countryside village of Charlecote, only four miles from Stratford on Avon. Stayed two nights on a bed and breakfast basis, had a room in the cottages in the grounds of the hotel, (all rooms are in blocks, some newer, some older within the immediate vicinity of the hotel's reception,... More 

Helpful?
Thank lorrainepaul60
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank for th review of your short break with us, its nice to read that you enjoyed your stay, the food and your bedroom. it's apity you never tasted the a la carte Menu asIm sure you would have enjoyed it. I shall passon all your comments to the team. Kind regards John More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Charlecote Pheasant is a Coast and Country Hotel situated in the hamlet of Charlecote just a few miles from Stratford on Avon. We had booked for 2 nights on a half board basis, we had booked a superior room rather than a standard but we asked to upgrade again to a premier room on the 2nd day to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank 351Tracy
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review of your 2 night stay, and happy that you enjoyed your upgraded room, sorry that you were disappointed with the buffet breakfast we offer a selection of 6 cereals, prunes, grapefruit, and 4 fruit Juices, as well as Fresh fruit and Yoghurt available on request from your waiter/ess as well as a hot breakfast of... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is my 20th Shearings hotel and I was very impressed with The Pheasant. It is certainly in the top five of their hotels. The usual menu but with improved presentation and a nice dining area. I liked the different accommodation blocks and my stay was made more enjoyable by getting a double room as opposed to the usual tatty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flybywyre
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Flybywre, Many thaks for the review fo your recent stay, its great to read that you had a nice time and enjoyed you Double room. I shall pass on all your kind comments to the team and its even nicer to read we have made it into your Top 5 Kind regards John More 

SWINDON
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I took a 5 day late deal break at this hotel on my own and liked it so much that I stayed for another 3 days. For the first 4 nights I had a very nice single room and moved to a great double room for my last 3 nights because the single had already been allocated to some one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID L
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Hi David L, thanks for the review of your stay, its Great to read that you enjoyed it so much that you stayed for another 3 days. I shall pass on all you kind comments to the Team ,and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards John More 

SouthYorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to many Shearings hotels over the years and particularly enjoy the Coast and Country ones. Until our recent visit to the Charlecote Pheasant we have always had a particular favourite, however this has now changed! Our weekend visit to the Charlecote Pheasant was very enjoyable. The hotel is in a lovely setting in a peaceful village in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Over60Traveller
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Over60 Traveller, Wow what a fantastic review and it's so nice to read that you have visited so many Coast and Country Hotels, and now rate us as your favourite thank you and I shall pass on all your kind comments ot the team. Kind regards John More 

Hoar Cross
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

lovely hotel with very accommodating staff especially the lovely lady on reception Had a lovely birthday will definitely be returning. Room was fabulous and in lovely surroundings. Set in beautiful countryside and ideal for stratford upon avon.

Helpful?
Thank ladymelmee
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ladymelmee, thanks you for the review of your recent stay to celebrate your birthday , we are glad you had a great time and hopefully shall return again. I shall ensure all the team are aware of your kind comments. Regards John More 

prestonian
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed the weekend at the charlecote pheasant, this being a coast and country group hotel everything was up to the usual standards offered by shearings,the outstanding feature of this hotel is its location, set in lovely countryside the layout of the hotel is unusual as the rooms are in separate buildings all set among beautiful grounds.the food is of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank lankiepreston
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Hi LankiePreston, thanks for the nice review of your recent stay at the Charlecote Pheasant, it's great to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and the surrounding area and Our wondeful gardens. I shall pass on all your kind comments to the team Regards John More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very pretty with lovely gardens. We came to this hotel for a four day break at the end of July. We stayed in room 101 and my brother and his wife stayed in room 20 which had a wet room. We were both very pleased with accommodation,rooms were lovely. Breakfast was a buffet so you could pick... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chrsitine L Thank you for the review of your 4 night stay with us, it's great to read, that you enjoyed all the services and Staff of the Hotel, and in particualr your room. I shall pass on all your comments to the team, and look forward to welcoming you back in September. Kind regards John More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sunday Lunch was awful. I would not put the beef on the soles of my shoes. It flattered to deceive. The service compensated to some extent though the damage was done. Having been previously some years before, we were expecting great things; at least for standards to be maintained even if they could not be improved upon.

Helpful?
Thank malcolm p
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Im sorry that you did not enjoy the Carvery ? Our Beef is from a local reputable butcher and we shall pass on your comments. Our Carvery is very popular and very well recieved, and is great Value for Money. I am sorry that on this occasion you did not enjoy your experience, however as I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlecote
2.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
4.0 of 5 stars 2,379 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
7.3 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Price Range: $70 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel Warwickshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay