We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 705: English reviews
Sunderland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Me and friend visited the spa as we had a voucher from Groupon. I had already looked up for reviews before going so I knew what to expect. We arrived and was advised by staff what would happen and where things where. The changing area is nice but could do with a area where you can change without being in... More 

Helpful?
Thank lyndsey_safc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Can not thank enough the staff here at George Washington for the most amazing wedding day! From booking our wedding all the way through to the day they were there to help and to ease off the stress as much as possible. Venue is gorgeous we had our ceremony in the Washington suite which is an ideal size with plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephie H
Martin H, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent wedding celebrations, held here at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this wonderful feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Couldn't recommend this enough. The service was fantastic..always cheerful and helpful especially Jessica and her sister. Food portions were man v food quality you got that much. Comfy beds and rooms were spacious. Would not hesitate to book again!

Helpful?
Thank tandy1316
Martin H, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your golfing weekend stay. I am very pleased you enjoyed our new restaurant, Carter & Fitch, for both service and food. Thank you also for the special mention with regards to Jessica and Caitlin, this is much appreciated. It is also good to... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely Hotel (once you can find it)...decided to go for a drive to Newcastle and coming back unfortunately GPS (on cellphone) wouldn't work as phone had gone flat....took three hours to find this lovely place and only then because we found a taxi driver and asked for directions - he would not give as said we would get lost...offered to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 727cheryle
Martin H, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel and the surrounding area. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you book a double room you expect either two singles zipped together or a double bed right? Wrong. What I got here was two completely different mattresses put next to each other unable to be zipped as they weren't a pair. This quite possibly was the worst nights sleep I've ever had. Check in at the hotel was quick... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dunfermline82
Martin H, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. However, I am pleased you enjoyed our new... More 

Travelers are raving about these Washington hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No waffle on this one. Good value, good food, good service and a good sleep. Staff effort very evident and this helped make our brief stay very enjoyable. Happy to recommend. Plenty to do round about and easily accessed from major roads. Well done to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank AVoiceofExperience
Martin H, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked to stay two nights for the Great North Run, couldn't of been better. On arrival the reception staff were lovely and helpful, they had all the information for public transport for the run printed out, and they gave us a welcome bag. The room was very spacious with very comfy beds, the bathroom was lovely with the deepest bath,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank callcalsoon
Martin H, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every... More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful lunch .... Good service .. Lovely setting .. Good price , and of course the food was lush and plenty of it ...... Great access Brilliant facilities and a great choice of ales... Defo calling again ....

Helpful?
Thank Karl D
Martin H, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your Sunday Lunch here at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent meal and enjoyed your visit to our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with both our service and food quality, as it... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is another lush hotel to stay in. Was not over impressed by evening meal but the Buffet Breakfast was really good. The rooms are a good size and the beds were comfy.Very quiet and slept really well. The rooms are also well equiped with the usual things and extras like a fridge.

Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
Martin H, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay here at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa. I am delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As the title says, this is a nice Hotel, the staff were great, the room was spacious, it was clean, tidy, welcoming & airy. You can't blame the hotel for some of their other guests, but ultimately on the first of our two nights stay, I had the worst nights sleep I've had in many years. From 3am I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave P
Martin H, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#3 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sunderland
3.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
6.3 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Abraham Lincoln Brasserie
Cuisines: British, French
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Address: Stone Cellar Road | High Usworth, Washington NE37 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Price Range: $85 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay