We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Running Horses

Save
Share
Running Horses Old London Road Dorking, Mickleham RH5 6DU England
Lowest prices for your stay
$103
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/31/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$103
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams$103
Expedia.com$103
Agoda.com$103
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (89)
Dining (14)
Room & Suite (12)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Running Horses is a perfect country inn at the heart of picturesque Mickleham village in the Surrey hills. Step inside and you’ll discover one of the most charming places to eat and stay in Surrey. Dating back to the 16th century, it was once a coaching house. Back in those days, the inn’s clientele provided rich pickings for highwaymen. Thankfully, things are a little more peaceful these days, but some traditions live on. You’ll still find wonderful home-cooked British food, made with the freshest ingredients, accompanied by a wine list to compare with the top restaurants. The Running Horses has been family owned and run for the last fifteen years. And because we’re not part of a chain, the inn is full of character and individual touches. You’re guaranteed a warm welcome from the moment you enter the cosy bar with its roaring log fire.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Arabic, Romanian
451Reviews8Q+A65Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 239
  • 104
  • 51
  • 32
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Richard C wrote a review Feb 2020
Chepstow, United Kingdom30 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
I did not expect the high standard of room given to me, I was blown away by the standard. Bed was comfortable, the room immaculate, and the bathroom though small was really well done. Also there was no road noise, it was quiet, and the pub downstairs is amazing, two fires on the go, a cracking restaurant, and the hosts extremely friendly. The menu is varied and seasonal, and word of warning the chocolate pudding looks small on the plate but is so packed full of flavour and texture it beat me. I really recommend it as a place to base yourself to explore the area or just a short break to reset.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PauloLuis22, Manager at The Running Horses
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Dear Richard C, Thank you so much for the lovely review, we do our best so that all our guests have a similar experience here at The Running Horses. The menu will be changing soon and keep an eye out for it. We look forward to your return. regards, Paulo Luis.
Read more
jacneil s wrote a review Feb 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
After years of trying to find an atmospheric hotel I have finally found it. The room was idyllic with an uneven floor, uneven walls and a sloping ceiling. The wall lights were just perfect. The old wardrobe built into the the wall wall was perfect, as was the shower room which was immaculate. I spoke to the cleaning lady who had recently come from South Africa, so I congratulated her on the cleanliness and presentation of our room. We had been given a rather smart coffee machine which my husband used- great- and he is a snobbish fuss pot! So the room was superb. The food in the bar was, to be honest, better than a lot I have eaten in the past 25 years. My husband had a burger and loved it. I had cod with Palma ham terrine with truffle oil, Romanesque and pureed cauliflower.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from PauloLuis22, Manager at The Running Horses
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Dear Jacniel S, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely thoughtful review, The Running Horses is truly a magical place. We are ever so glad you could experience it during your stay. We constantly aim to deliver the best service and food quality. I have passed on your lovely comments to the whole team. We look forward to your return. regards, Paulo Luis
Read more
Alex F wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
We stayed here for a night for my partner's birthday and we can't recommend it enough. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. Dinner was excellent, we shared a baked camembert to start, then had risotto and chicken kiev for main, all delicious. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, including making us a packed lunch to take on our walk the following day. And the location for walking in the Surrey Downs could not be better.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from PauloLuis22, General Manager at The Running Horses
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Dear f2993qlalexf, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was an absolute pleasure having you guys stay and we are ever so pleased your partner enjoyed their birthday. We accommodate for all needs and will do all we can to make it the best experience possible. We look forward to your return. regards, Paulo Luis.
Read more
Jenny J wrote a review Jan 2020
Truro, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Excellent meal on the evening of our arrival. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom door would not shut. Inside handle was broken and locking bar permanently out. Pointed out and the lock was replaced within 2 hours. Later found the sink plug had no chain so could not be pulled out. Bathroom excepted the pub was very pleasant
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from PauloLuis22, Manager at The Running Horses
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Hi Jenny J, Firstly, we are glad that you had a great stay with us here at The Running Horses. We have identified those issues found and action has been taken to replace the door handle and bathroom plug. We look forward to your return. regards,
Read more
Emma222 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom62 contributions16 helpful votes
We were lucky enough to stay at the running horses on Sunday night it was all great. The staff went out of there way to accommodate us and were so friendly and lovely. Dinner was excellent and they took the trouble to ask us to preorder so they hadn’t run out of what we wanted. Our room Kempton was clean recently refurbished lovely big comfy bed and a huge walk in shower. Minuty the house rose what a treat will be back friendly fun and fabulous thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from PauloLuis22, Manager at The Running Horses
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Dear Emma, its pleasing to read you had such a lovely time here at the Runners. We aim to deliver on all levels with all our guests and shall continue to do so always. We look forward to your return, plenty of things still to try ! Many thanks
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the running horses hotel mickleham, running horses mickleham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyMickleham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing