London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western

London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western

Fish n Chips (Gourmet Style)
Traveler (321)
Room & Suite (125)
Dining (36)

View prices for your travel dates

$48
Get rewarded with One Key
$60
Get rewarded with One Key
$60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#8 of 20 hotels in Croydon
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.8
Value
3.7
Originally built in 1928 to serve the airport, the London Croydon Aerodrome has a well loved heritage in Surrey. Alongside 109 bedrooms, the stunning lobby, stylish lounge bar and the Restaurant offer plenty of places to relax and unwind. For those organizing meetings and events, the London Croydon Aerodrome offers a range of delightful rooms including the stylish Amy Johnson Suite. The function rooms are well equipped and can cater for up to 170 delegates. Relax in your bedroom or indulge in a glass of fine wine and something satisfyingly tasty served in the informal surroundings of the restaurant. Whatever your taste, we're sure to offer something for everyone.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 7 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view

Location

680 Purley Way, Croydon CR9 4LT England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Heathrow Airport
16.6 mi
See all flights
London City Airport
12.2 mi
See all flights
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles1,155 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, part of the Signature Collection by Best Western, garners mixed feedback. While many guests commend the professional and responsive service, opinions vary on value—some appreciate the fair pricing while others are put off by additional costs such as parking. Cleanliness is a strong point, with visitors noting well-kept rooms and public areas, though some spaces could benefit from modernization. The atmosphere and rooms receive contrasting reviews; some guests enjoy the event-ready vibe, while others suggest the rooms, though generally clean, feel cramped and outdated.
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Dated
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,155Review12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 425
  • 288
  • 189
  • 139
  • 114
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Fifthy2015 wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival there was a new girl on Reception (black girl) and she told me that the room I had reserved was room only and I knew I had booked a b&b rate. Although she was very pleasant she said she was new and needed to check with a more experienced receptionist. A white lady came into the reception area and was telling me that the new girl didn't know how to check was was included in the room rate and started showing her - how to check for this while I was there. This white lady (had a foreign accent) was quite abrupt to me and I thought to myself, maybe if you trained the new girl better, she would be able to check these details. The new girl was apologizing, I said to her its not your fault, you need to get trained better in your role. She was a beautiful young girl and very friendly and tried to help as much as she could. The kettle in my room was not working but was replaced quite quickly. I went to get some milk from the trolley and the Housekeeper (Spanish) screamed at me - your are not allowed to touch the trollies and if you need anything, please contact Reception, I said shall I leave it back then and she said - No its OK!. Had to advice Reception if one, needed their room cleaned. Breakfast was nice except the mushrooms they were too hard and difficult to eat. Staff tend to move trollies and talk to each other when guests are around and they use the guest lift as a service lift. They got in the way at times when I was trying to get out of the hotel, they apologized for getting in my way. Majority of staff were friendly, rooms need updating. On my last day, I was getting some tea at breakfast time in the dining area and when I returned a staff member (Small Indian lady) was clearing away my food and I had only went to get a cup of tea and had not finished my breakfast, I told her I was still having my breakfast. I was annoyed as my room card was still on the table but she never noticed this and was clearing it away. They spray and clean empty tables very close to you as you eat your breakfast which is frustrating as the smell of the cleaning liquid is quite strong, It was my first time staying at this hotel, however in the past I have had coffee/tea there but never stayed before. I would rate is as a 3 star Hotel and not a 4 star Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siu Mok, General Manager at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Dear Fifthy2015, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Croydon Aerodrome Hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better again in the future. Kind regards, Siu Mok
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wisewonderer1223 wrote a review Jan 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom489 contributions675 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Looking at other reviews it seems we had a very good room and so our experience was a good one. Also our stay was mid Dec'21 so less Covid staff issues possibly then? Parking was easy and close to the entrance, there is a £5 daily charge but this is how it is at most hotels in London! Lovely lobby/bar/restaurant area and friendly reception staff, we were upgraded so that was a good start. Customer lift. The room was large and very clean with good facilities. Very big bed, good choice of TV channels, good lighting, good bathroom. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of hot and cold to pick and choose from, again the staff very friendly and helpful. There are restaurants with in walking distance, we may have eaten in if there had been information and or a menu in our room like many hotels do? It was not busy as we passed by so chose to dine out for dinner. Our only gripes were that the bathroom fan/air con was on all the time and could not be switched off, it was noisy and disturbed our sleep. Also a window did not quite shut properly and so road noise an issue as well. I would also get rid of the anti slip mat in the bath as on a personal level I hate the germ ridden things! It was optional but yuk.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siu Mok, General Manager at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western
Responded Jan 19, 2022
Dear Wisewonderer1223, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Yours sincerely, Siu Mok
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
AJB wrote a review Aug 2021
12 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a last-minute 2 night stay at a bargain price of £30pp per night including breakfast !! The beds were fresh & clean, the food was tasty, and the bathroom products were good quality. And the best asset was....the friendly & helpful staff !!! Trouble with Wi-Fi, and traffic noise, could be excused... for a weekend of homely and comfy relaxation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane F wrote a review Dec 2023
14 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Christmas Dinner Dance Event .
Wow … big surprise.
From start to finish I felt welcomed and special.
Excellent service , food was tasty and entertainment ( Disco) perfect .
Thank you to all the staff and Management for making our evening enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
feleesh18 wrote a review Jan 2020
11 contributions23 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I'll start off with the positive parts about the hotel. The bedroom I stayed in was decent overall and the hotel is in a good location but that's probably as far as I will go.

Firstly, I'm baffled as to why they expect hotel guests to pay £5 for parking. I understand it may just be £5 to some but it's the principle. You pay to stay at a hotel and should recieve free parking as a result. I have never in my life been charged for parking at a hotel. When confronting the receptionist, she stated it was because people leave their cars there and go to gatwick airport. Like what? Gatwick airport is about an hours travel by public transport from there so that is a ridiculous reason to gives customers as to why they charge. I was then told other hotels nearby do it but I've stayed in quite a few hotels and as I said have never been charged. Furthermore, just because other hotels do it, doesn't mean you have to.

Now onto the bedroom, as I said it is decent overall. The bathroom taps are quite old and could do with modernizing. The curtains were horrific. They weren't properly hooked on and so let light in. I was in room 26, which outside there are quite a few blinding lights that shine into the bedroom. So I had to climb onto the furniture to tuck the curtain behind the mirror near them to block the light.

We also had a hall below us that must have been having a party in there. Wanting to go to bed at 10 was a no go due to the amount of NOISE coming from there. Come 11, it was still loud as anything.

Quite disappointed in my overnight stay and will look to stay elsewhere in future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wilson M, Deputy General Manager at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Dear Feleesh18, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear your feedback.Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Rest be assured, I will investigate this and ensure corrective measures are in place for staff training about car park & maintenance issues you encountered. Please contact me directly should you have a reason to stay again. Kind regards, Wilson
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neocin wrote a review Jun 2021
Winchester, England, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was a solo stay for 3 nights to visit friends living locally. I had a comfy single room and bathroom, all clean and tidy. Came with a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, desk and chair, plenty of storage. No fridge though so don't bring any perishables. The bathroom also came with a bath which was a pleasant surprise that I made great use of after long museum tours in London. It's just a short bus trip from the East Croydon station so you're all linked up for travel.

Breakfast wasn't included with my booking but on the last day I treated myself to the £12 full English breakfast. I'm vegan and there was still plenty of warm food options. Very tasty, just what you'd expect.

The COVID measures were good. I observed a lot of cleaning, hand sanitizer, and staff were all very helpful and friendly. Would definitely book again when I come up to revisit friends.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siu Mok, General Manager at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western
Responded Jun 30, 2021
Dear 438conniet, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Siu Mok
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rae R wrote a review Feb 2020
9 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel looks beautiful, but it isn’t! Booked a double, tried to give us a twin, swapped to a double which was cramped, dingy and grubby. They charged £30 per night for our dogs (no mention of this on booking.com) and refused us breakfast when I had specifically booked bed AND breakfast. They charged me £57 but claimed I had only paid £45 for room only, even when I showed them my email receipt! All fur coat and no knickers, not nice
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vincent Fernandes, Guest Services / Front Office at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western
Responded Apr 1, 2020
Dear Rae R, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on your most recent stay with us at Hallmark Croydon. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. On behalf of our entire team, i would like to apologize for not exceeding you expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience in the future. I also want to confirm we are pet friendly hotel and charge £15 per night extra for pets and this is clearly mentioned on all online websites. We look forward welcoming you in the future. Kind Regards, Vincent Fernandes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark H wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was rather disappointed for what was meant to be a 4star hotel. I stayed for 3 nights. During the day it was empty, they had a reduced menu for lunch with something like 4 items to choose from, this is a 4* right?

The location was decent, the rooms were average. The service was non existent. At night it was cold, we asked for a radiator, the guy on nights took 40minutes to bring it. He apologised and said he was working alone but this is outrageous for a 4*.
I saw the same fella setting up breakfast the next morning, its like a circus where one guy knows all the tricks.

I asked for room service breakfast but was told they are currently not offering any room service breakfast, this was never mentioned on or before arrival.

The shower was only pouring out burning hot water. I was told someone from the maintenance team was going to come look at it but never turned up.

Everytime I wanted to get something from the bar there was either no staff there or the longest queues because one person was serving 20 people at a time.

All in all ridiculously lacking of service all round.

NOT A 4*!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siu Mok, General Manager at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western
Responded Jan 19, 2022
Dear H9951ZSmarkh, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience from your recent stay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We always strive to provide a great service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Yours sincerely, Siu Mok
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul H wrote a review Jun 2022
Ringwood, United Kingdom107 contributions48 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked via booking.com who confirmed free parking and hotel tried to charge for parking - really unreasonable hotel staff who didn’t even believe the email from booking.com - really poor management and reception experience.

Room is pretty tired and dated too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siu Mok, General Manager at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western
Responded Jun 13, 2022
Dear PaulH, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We do appreciate your comments as this helps us to improve the service we offer to our guests. Please rest assured that I have shared your comments with the Management Team to ensure they take action with their own teams to ensure this does not impact on future guests. We do hope that you will come back again to allow us the opportunity to demonstrate our usual high standards. Kind regards, Siu Mok
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carolJohnsonxx wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom140 contributions82 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My sisters and one of each of our children went to Aerodrome Hotel for an afternoon tea purchased from Groupon, My son booked the wrong day and they would not honour it so he had to book it again ( Total £50 ) . it was £25 per couple which is very reasonable.
What a shambles the sandwiches and cakes arrived on a mini wooden garden bench ( no sign of a china plate /cakestand in sight) the sandwiches were hard ( we sent them back ) the cake was a joke , it looked like they had run across the road to Sainsburys and bought a carrot cake and a mederia cake and sliced it up. Oh there was some other kind of cake a bit like Mr kipling almond slices cut into small pieces. There was cream and jam but after 30 mins I had to ask if we were getting any scones as it was a bit confusing.
I have to say the staff were nice but the afternoon tea was awful Save your money and have it at home
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wilson M, Deputy General Manager at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western
Responded Jan 24, 2020
Dear carolJohnson, I am disappointed to hear your experience about afternoon tea. Rest be assured we have our bespoke suppliers and we ensure all our products served for afternoon tea are carefully handpicked. We have received several guest compliments about our wooden garden bench but we can certainly use different equipment should you prefer it as an alternative. Please call me directly upon your next visit and i will ensure your afternoon tea experience is looked after. Best regards, Wilson
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay S asked a question Aug 2018
6 contributions4 helpful votes
Is there A.C. ?
Answer from Manish
6 contributions
Rooms on the second floor were equipped with AC but not on the third floor; they had desk fans. Not sure about the first floor.
Nibbles66 asked a question Jun 2018
Bristol, England7 contributions12 helpful votes
Hi. Are there any in room safes.
Answer from gandalf2014
London, United Kingdom31 contributions18 helpful votes
not in the standard double room we stayed in. you would need to check with the hotel
Answer from JessFletcher73
Portsmouth, United Kingdom37 contributions25 helpful votes
I’m afraid I don’t know. When we checked in for breakfast we were asked our room number as it came with the cost of the room
Paul M asked a question Feb 2017
What is check in time
Answer from Cheshire1977
Cheshire2 contributions1 helpful vote
From 3pm Paul.Any concerns please contact the hotel directly. See you soon.
Paul M asked a question Feb 2017
What is check in time ?
Answer from young1177
Qawra, Malta225 contributions45 helpful votes
Check in is between 2-3pm
Katya B wrote a tip May 9
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just come and feel welcome "
Read full review
Prince O wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The location is great, the staff are very attentive and the breakfast was delicious."
Read full review
Markletts wrote a tip Dec 2023
10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Yeah book another hotel "
Read full review
Juliejustjulie D wrote a tip Nov 2023
United Kingdom100 contributions50 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you ask about room service when you check in"
Read full review
SergioPasqua wrote a tip Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Food menu is quite british and as such rather on the high calorie side but the salmon is just excellent!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Croydon area.
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aerodrome classic hotel croydon, classic hotel croydon, croydon classic hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater LondonCroydon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
109
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LONDON CROYDON AERODROME HOTEL, SIGNATURE COLLECTION BY BEST WESTERN $69 ($̶1̶2̶6̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western
Which popular attractions are close to London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western?
Nearby attractions include Croydon Airport Visitor Centre (0.06 miles), Kidspace Croydon (0.1 miles), and Oxygen Freejumping (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hallmark Hotel, Anujaan Indian Restaurant & Grill, and Imperial Lounge and Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Shirley Windmill (2.8 miles), 2 Willow Road (1.4 miles), and RAF Kenley (2.3 miles).
Is London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Croydon HotelsCroydon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CroydonHotels near London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars