We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 336: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

The hotel looks lovely as you arrive but is a little tired inside. The room we had was 'premium' but apart from being large I am not sure what we paid the extra for. A shower room of 1970s decor and oddly the same print on two walls in the bedroom. Food was OK. The staff were friendly and they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie P
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Moira Banks General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Newton Solney hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

The place was once grand, but it's dilapidated and cold. They didn't have the heating on and with single glazing it was freezing in the room. I was offered a noisy fan heater. 4 Star? You're having a laugh. When I tried to speak to the manager, she was enjoying a drink with a customer and according to the staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deliciouslynaughty
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry you had problems when you first checked in. However, it is a pity that you have chosen not to update your review after accepting a complimentary upgrade to one of our suites and staying for 3 nights withour further issues. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager More 

Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

We like the French Mercures. We have been to 3 UK ones and they are all "seedy". This was, possibly, the worst. No point in having a lovely old house if you aren't prepared to spend the money to bring it up to standard. The room (the best) was OK. We went down to breakfast at 8.45 (a 9.30 closure)... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richardxxxxx
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast buffet had not been fully replenished after the early morning rush by the time you had come down for breakfast. I will ensure our Food & Beverage Manager addresses this issue with the team. Thank you again for your feedback. Yours sincerely... More 

Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived by the cheerful, friendly lady at reception. Our room was fine (although many of our fellow guests weren't so luck), Only complaint there was the single very dim light above the mirror in the bathroom. When the shower curtain was closed it was impossible to see anything! However, at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bulwerboy
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had at breakfast. I have asked our Food & Beverage Manager to investigate this and deal with problems. Thank you again for the review. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

Stayed two nights in August for a nearby wedding. All staff were lovely. We had two rooms; both very hot, despite fans. Bathrooms dated and we got either lukewarm or scalding showersm The grounds are small but there are walks nearby. No shops in the village so it's 3 miles to get anything. We didn't have breakfast as it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank FionaMary764
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry you had issues with the water temperature. I have asked our Maintenance Engineer to look into this issue. Thank you again for this review. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding reception at Newton House. We stayed in room 106. A lovely hotel, very clean, and had everything in the room that you need. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that.

Helpful?
Thank Rachael D
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to psot this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will choose to stay with us again if you are in the area again. Kind Regards Moira Banks, General Manager More 

Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Had a really lovely stay at this hotel. We stayed in room 125 which was a twin and in a quiet part of the hotel. Its an old hotel but its well kept and clean and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely too. We rang up for sandwiches in our room and they were absolutely wonderful. Presentation and quality were first... More 

Helpful?
Thank calliann
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure the team hear of your comments as they take great encouragement from them. I hope it won't be long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel. Kind Regards Moira Banks General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#2 of 2 in Newton Solney
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Price Range: $87 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Newton Solney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay