We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grail Court Hotel

164b Station Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1BN England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (54)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (3)


#11 of 11 hotels in Burton upon Trent
The Grail Court Hotel is situated in the town centre of Burton upon Trent, located in the heart of the midlands. This town centre hotel and restaurant is a grade II listed building dressed in Arthurian décor, making it the most historic hotel in Burton. We have spacious centrally heated hotel rooms with colour television and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite rooms are available at very competitive prices. All room rates are on a Bed & Breakfast basis, and free car parking is available. In addition, there is free WiFi throughout the hotel. Within the 16th century walls of the hotel is a bar serving alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and a selection of freshly cooked food. Breakfast is complimentary and is served in our Restaurant each morning. The hotel is near to many attractions, Alton Towers is a 40 minute journey in the car, Conkers is a 20 minute journey in the car and we are a 5 minutes walk from The National Brewery Centre
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
DVD / CD player
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
100Reviews3Q+A29Room tips


Earn 100 points towards your next badge level for every review you write
Traveler rating
  • 19
  • 26
  • 17
  • 16
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Luke H wrote a review Oct 2019
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
Not bad for the money at all and with a free breakfast in the morning what more could you ask . We were just stopping by for the night as we were heading to Drayton mannor the next morning - Cheap and cheerful and perfect for what we needed . Plenty of parking as well which is handy Many thanks for having us !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from PremKalra, Owner at The Grail Court Hotel
Responded Oct 24, 2019
Good Evening Luke, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We were delighted to see that you and your family had a lovely stay with ourselves. We would love to have to come back and stay again if you get the opportunity. Kind Regards Mr PP Kalra
Read more
HotelregularUk wrote a review Sep 2019
16 contributions3 helpful votes
Adequate for a short stay, nothing flash but clean and friendly. Breakfast was top drawer, freshly cooked as per requirements, excellent poached eggs!!! Needs a refurb,very dated decor etc but if you want cheap & cheerful this is the place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Response from PremKalra, Owner at The Grail Court Hotel
Responded Oct 14, 2019
Good Morning @Hotelregularuser, I would like to begin by thanking you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback given, both positive and constructive, as it allows to continuous improve and grow as a business. My chef was very pleased to read your review and works very hard in order to get food perfect for the guests, so when it is appreciated he feels appreciated. In terms of the hotel decor, we are looking into trying to refurbish or modernize the premises, so guest can enjoy their stay a lot more. We do hope you come back in the future so you can see the improvements. Kind Regards Mr PP Kalra Hotel Director
Read more
cariad132018 wrote a review Aug 2019
Llanybydder, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
I'm staying here tonight as I'm competing at britains strongest woman tomorow. Have just complained.to whoever is on reception regarding a fire alarm bleeping due to low battery.to be told that someone is coming to fix it tomorrow and I'll just have to put up with it tonight!! The room stinks of stale cigarettes and I don't think it has been cleaned in a long time. Would rather sleep in my car than in this dump!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Response from PremKalra, Owner at The Grail Court Hotel
Responded Sep 10, 2019
Good Evening @Cariad132018, I would like to begin by apologising for the service you received at my hotel during your stay. Our priority is to make sure that all our guests are treated with the upmost respect and to be given a high level of customer service. I would like to address the issue you raised regarding the fire alarm; as you quite rightly said, the alarm was making noise due to the batteries being low. Unfortunately, as the staff are not trained to deal with the fire alarms, we would have been required to contact our alarm company to have the matter dealt with. Due to the time of the complaint made it was too late for my staff to call the company and have the matter sorted. However, I would have certainly moved you into another room had my staff let me know the situation. Rest assured that that I will look into this matter with the member of staff on shift at the time. In addition, we do not tolerate smoking in our rooms and follow a very strict no-smoking policy. Should we have found any evidence of someone smoking in the rooms we would ask them to leave. Thank you for all your comments. I hope I have been able to clarify a few things and I hope you will give the Grail Court Hotel another try. Warmest Regards, Prem Kalra Hotel Owner
Read more
Elaine F wrote a review Jul 2019
Upper Hutt, New Zealand5 contributions
This last weekend at Grail Court Hotel Burton on Trent UK was disappointing to say the least. Having had trouble with the booking process on line eventually we were sure we had booked a double en suite room with breakfast included for 2 people for 3 nights. On checking in on Friday we were told we had only booked the room for 1 person and it would be another £30 for a second person! Not a good start. The room was very basic but it was clean. Going down to breakfast on the second morning we were told it was the Chef’s day off. The Receptionist was doubling as the Chef. When asked for poached eggs on toast she answered I can only do ‘ordinary’ eggs. ‘Ordinary’ being fried. The third morning, same scenario, Chef’s day off, Receptionist cooking. When asked for mushrooms and bacon she answered OK but I don’t have any mushrooms because Chef forgot to buy some yesterday. ???I thought yesterday and today were Chef’s day off. She also told me to ‘cook’ my own toast !! When I went to do this there were 2 loaves of sliced bread, each in a plastic bag. There were no tongs to get a slice out, meaning anyone in that dining room who wanted bread out of those bags were putting bare hands in and handling the bread!!! Off putting would you say??? When the Receptionist asked if we wanted hot food she did so in a tone that indicated she was hoping we were going to say No. All in all it was a very unsatisfactory stay and I am struggling to award even 1 star. Elaine Franklin
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from PremKalra, Owner at The Grail Court Hotel
Responded Sep 10, 2019
Good Evening Elaine, I would like to begin by thanking you for taking the time to review our hotel, we find both positive and constructive reviews helpful in improving our hotel. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would like to address some of the issues you have raised with ourselves; Arrival experience - as you had made the booking on a third party website, the staff could only go on what they had received. Therefore, would have had to charge you the correct amount for your booking. We had also printed off the confirmation for you, so you would not feel as if you were being overcharged. Breakfast - As it was manager on breakfast, and she had informed me that you had only asked for a full English breakfast with no tomatoes and did not specify on what type of eggs. It was actually another couple who had asked. Staff Customer Service - lastly, we would like to address the issue regarding the tone in which you felt the receptionist gave you. We expect all our guests staying at the hotel to receive the upmost respect and be given a high level of customer service. Therefore, we will be looking into and address the matter with the staff on shift. In addition, I would like to thank you for your suggestion regarding the bread. Thank you once again for all your comments. I hope I was able to clarify a few things and I also hope you will visit us again. Kind Regards P Kalra, Hotel Owner
Read more
Neale Anthony M wrote a review Jun 2019
8 contributions
Basic and a bit old fashioned but had a comfortable and peaceful stay. Nice breakfast, polite staff, great location (20 min drive to Download and Bloodstock festivals) and you are at the centre of Burton which has all the big retailers. The car park is safe and secure, even if it is a bellyache to get in. Needs a bit of a revamp but not a bad stay. Nice new shower, the toilet was placed awkwardly between the wall and shower but whatever. included a desk, tea making facilities, TV and storage. You may see on google it says this place is haunted but I did not notice any ghouls. There was that weird man in fancy dress as a Tudor royal but he went when I turned the lights on. Silly man (disclaimer: that is a joke). I feel even at a reduced rate it cost more than it was worth but not bad at all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: find alternative parking, as the hotel one can get full
See more room tips
Response from PremKalra, Owner at The Grail Court Hotel
Responded Sep 17, 2019
Good Morning Neale, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our hotel. I hope the Tudor Royal did not annoy you too much. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves and hope that next time you come back we will provide you even better customer service. Kind Regards Prem Kalra Hotel Owner
Read more
$61 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
grail court hotel
United KingdomEnglandStaffordshireBurton upon Trent
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Grail Court Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Grail Court Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The National Brewery Centre (0.3 miles), Brews of the World (0.02 miles), and The Dog Inn (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grail Court Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Grail Court Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Grail Court Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grail Court Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grail Court Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Langan's Tea Rooms, Favourite Thai, and Helen's Bake House and Tearoom.
Is The Grail Court Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Burton upon Trent.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Grail Court Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grail Court Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Claymills Victorian Pumping Station (2.1 miles), Tutbury Castle (4.4 miles), and Priory Church of Saint Mary the Virgin (4.4 miles).
Does The Grail Court Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.