We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Keepers Cottage Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton upon Trent
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Keepers Cottage Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have been staying at the keepers lodge for over a year on and off during my travels, I have found that they also make you feel welcome and the rooms are clean and tidy. I am always changing my mind for morning breakfast and this is never to much trouble for the owners. I also on many occasions change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markhanton
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a positive post about your stays with us. Guest's plans can alter and change in a phone call, it's not a problem I totally understand. Your choice of breakfast too is not a issue, you always keep me guessing!! Nice people are no problem to look after, we are glad you are happy here.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

I arranged Mums funeral and everything went perfectly. The staff were excellent and the food was excellent. Although it was a sad occasion, being with friends and relatives in this nice environment made it a happier occasion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a nice post after your recent visit for your Mum's funeral. It's good to know that everything went well for you here, and that you and your guests were able to relax and chat. I am certain that this does help make a very sad occasion easier. Thank you again.

Watton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 7, 2016

We travelled from Norfolk for the funeral of my husbands Granny, I have a very difficult diet to cater for, and they catered for me very well , and they had even bought in desserts that were suitable me to. It made it so much easier as we were away from home, knowing I wouldn't go hungry , thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katepurple
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for leaving your post after visiting us for a family funeral. I am very glad to hear that the alternative food provided was both suitable for your needs and that you were not left hungry by not being able to eat the buffet. If I am aware before the day that there are guests needing something different,...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2016

I have stayed hear most weeks since July 2016 I work away from home all year around and when in burton on trent keepers cottage is perfect for myself great room large car park and great breakfast and the host are great would highly recommend..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morgan60
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

I am very pleased to learn that you - as a long term resident, are happy with both the facilities and service provided here. It's nice to know that we are doing something right and that's why we are still here after 26 years. Nice guests make my job so much easier, and you are in that group. Thank you.

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Due to a family bereavement, we had the unfortunate experience of another visit to this establishment for refreshments. Following a previous time spent here under the same circumstances, we had hoped not to visit again. But thinking our previous visit may have been a 'one off', we hoped perhaps this time things may have improved. Oh dear, on this occasion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

I refer to your recent visit and post after a family funeral. I note that on this occasion you are not my client and that this is the second time that you have left a negative review. I would just like to mention prior to replying, that no complaint has been received from the client either via the Funeral Director...

Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Pro's - nice big clean room. Con's - breakfast not a good standard, cheap sausages. We were travelling down to a wedding, I politely asked to borrow an iron to which I was told "no we don't own an iron" I find that hard to believe. I don't think the manager could be bothered to walk back over to her...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Valleyday
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

I am not surprised to find that you left a review about your stay. I was awaiting your negative comments. Firstly had you checked our web site you would have seen that we do not provide irons. Not that I need to explain to you but all of the laundry (and that includes mine) goes off site to be done....

North West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2016

We have used this venue for 3 family funeral wakes-including one today. The staff are welcoming and sensitive to the needs of family and friends on what is a difficult day. Plenty of tables. The coffee and tea which you are welcomed with is very good. The food buffet is varied and sufficient for a wake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to offer my sympathies to both you and your family for your recent loss. I am so sorry to learn that this is the third time that you have had the need to use our service. But what I am pleased to know is that the "tea with sympathy" that we offer helped on this day....

Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

2nd visit to this lovely b&b. Very welcoming and friendly. Rooms very comfortable. Had a great night sleep. Breakfast delicious again. Will definitely be coming back for a 3rd time and more. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janethallam
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Nice to hear that your second visit was a happy one and that there are more scheduled. You are a friendly group of people to look after, which always makes my job so much easier. See you again and thank you for your kind comments.

Burton-on-Trent staffordshire
Reviewed June 24, 2016

A big thank you to Melanie, Peter and Louise on the occasion of Joyce Davis funeral buffet.We were greeted with a warm welcome the food was of a very high standard . Thank you for making the day special for Joyce's family and friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dukieboyi
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

How kind of you to take the time to thank us after your recent visit. We always welcome all of our families in the same way, and hope that the service we offer helps at such a sad time. Your family group and guests were very pleasant and friendly, which always makes our job so much easier to do. By...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 13, 2016

on arrival no waiting about, we were shown to our rooms which were excellent very clean and comfortable. the service was faultless the food again faultless you were made to feel welcome, well run business this is now going to be my place to stay every time i am in the area i give keepers cottage 11 out of 10

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjackson2016
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. I am so very pleased to know that your recent stay with us ticked all the boxes. You and your family were all very friendly and so easy to look after. We look forward to seeing you again in July. As always we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. Kind regards to you all .

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
210 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
283 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
408 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
84 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the main A511, east of Burton upon Trent, Keepers Cottage Lodge is a small family run Bed and Breakfast. All of our six bedrooms are en suite, with large walk in shower enclosures, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV's and hairdryers. Wi Fi is available free of charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Keepers Cottage Lodge

Address: The Lodge Bretby Park | Bretby, Burton upon Trent DE15 0QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Keepers Cottage Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Easy to get a good nights sleep. always plenty for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles markhanton, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“the double room i stayed in - i slept with the window open all night very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles bjackson2016, Jun 13, 2016 | Read review
“double bed room”
 of 5 bubbles frankandvickyr, Feb 28, 2016 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles tonyk1962, Apr 23, 2015 | Read review
“all rooms are nice”
 of 5 bubbles maureen805, Mar 22, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question