We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

As always the travelodge was excellent value again. Yes the post code for the sat nav is wrong but the web site covers this and gives excellent instructions. Although bear in mind there is not a lot near this place. You will have to travel for food and drink etc.

Helpful?
Thank Andre B
Cornwall
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To be honest, I had given up on staying in Travelodges a while back (got fed up with the awful state of them), but due to a last minute arrangement I needed to find accommodation quickly. Booked through LateRooms, I paid £37 for one night. The place is easy to find although you could miss it as they're doing road-works... More 

Helpful?
Thank KAJCornwall
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The website details say this is a short walk from food and drink outlets but there is absolutely nothing within a 10 minute drive! and the roadworks on the motorway at the moment make it quite unpleasant. We hardly saw any reception staff at any point and the one poor lady we did say was a cleaner who couldn't really... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 709mareef
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service you have received during your stay, where you felt the hotel did not deliver consistent customer care due to staffing levels. We would be more than happy to receive further feedback from you via the contact... More 

Travelers are raving about these Burton upon Trent hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights arrived on Bank Holiday Monday (31st August) cost me £106 for a family room. Arrived early evening, after taking a de tour as the postcode on the web site is wrong and take you to the road behind the hotel. Easy fixed, just take the motorway up to to next junction and come backs to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jessicaphillips2501
West Sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In this 21st century world of sat navs, it amazes that people complain about not getting to the correct Travelodge. The clue is very clearly in the name - Southbound. If you are heading north on the A38 you will almost certainly be checking in at the wrong hotel. DE13 8EH gets you happily to the Southbound Travelodge. Travelodge also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Webster3664
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall very good. Look for the gardening services postcode and skip the turn to gardening services and go for the next left turn. My navigator took me to the northbound Travelodge where an employee gave me proper directions. Clean hotel and got august discount.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Abey T
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Wow what a gem reception staff friendly a great nights sleep in the most comfy bed. Some local pubs nearby for food. Room spacious shower nice and hot and a TV with 17 channels. All in all a perfect pit stop and cheap to. Wi fi is available at a cost of £3.00 for 24 hours for 2 devices. Although... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and in those 3 nights I had the total of about 9 hours sleep!!! We were on the ground floor and I don't know who was above us, but it sounded like a herd of elephants!! First night, all we heard was bass music until 2am! Second night was a tv and people just constantly... More 

Helpful?
Thank bec0106
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to learn that your stay was affected due to internal noise as we aim to provide a comfortable stay to all of our guests. We will make the most of customer feedback such as yours to help improve the service we offer. Please note that you... More 

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

Room had everything we needed for an overnight stay. Staff seemed diligent to keep reception and stairs clean. However could do with a freshen up in rooms. Could not fault value for money and cleanliness of room.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank morgansreds64
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016

Ignore postcode on booking form as it takes you to wrong hotel resulting in long detour to get to right one! Expect rudeness when you go to wrong hotel first. Check beds before you get in as they are economising by not using sheets! No good for disabled as disabled room still has shower over bath, no emergency chord and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Burton A38 Southbound Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
#1 of 1 in Barton under Needwood
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound

Address: A38 Southbound Lichfield Road | Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $39 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Burton a38 Southbound Hotel Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Travelodge
Burton Upon Trent Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Burton Upon Trent
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay