We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 257: English reviews
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here with other family members as we were visiting Alton Towers. Rooms were clean and air conditioned and we slept really well. Cooked breakfast is limited (eggs, sausage and beans) but plenty of other stuff to choose from e.g fruit, cereals etc. Staff were really friendly. They also had a selection of snacks available to purchase at reception. Only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicki H
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed here for weekend family gathering! My son and is shared a room with twin beds! He's 6'4 his bed was far too short for him! I complained about the hot water as it was quite scolding which could be very dangerous for a child! The ironing board cover could've done with a clean! The breakfast was ok but after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Foxyloxi
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

After staying with quite a few of the other groups over the last few months it was nice to return to Holiday Inns again and realise what good value they are. The price at the Express includes a limited cooked breakfast with a range of cereals, breads, fruit and yogurts. The rooms are nearly always the same layout clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of the hotel. I was pleased to read that you were happy with your stay, and less than £60 for 2 people is certainly a great rate to pay! We hope to see you when you are next in the area. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager More 

Ballinacurra, midleton, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed in this hotel four times and it is just great. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable, the food is very good for the hotel type and with breakfast included it is a must. I stayed in premier inn once while in burton and it was a terrible hotel, went straight back... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamesMcGuinness1979
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I was pleased to read that we consistently meet and exceed your expectations!! We look forward to welcoming you back on your 5th visit to the hotel. Kind regards Alan Northern General Manager More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for one night while visiting Burton on Trent. Easy check in, nice room. Excellent, helpful staff. Good breakfast. Only slight criticism is we had a lot of traffic noise from the road throughout the night, although I'm sure we could have moved if we had asked. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mav2008
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that on the whole you were happy with your experience. However, I was sorry to learn that the noise from the nearby road, did disrupt your sleep somewhat. I do hope that this experience does not deter you from using... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Short visit to Burton on Trent Holiday inn express, one night, it's the same brand hotel, but functional and clean, breakfast basic but fair, staff very polite and helpful. We are IHG members so points bonus as part of booking is recommended if you are with IHG rewards. Free drink was a bit mean only one of us in party.

Helpful?
Thank Ali W
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments following your stay with us, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the complimentary drink on arrival, this is a benefit for Gold & Platinum Elite IHG Rewards Club members, and as per the terms and conditions, this benefit is applicable to the Rewards Club member... More 

dundee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped off here on the way home from Somerset. Big mistake. The handle on the window was broken so we could not close it and with this hotel being on a very very busy main road it was really noisy therefore we hardly slept because of traffic noise. If you stay at this hotel ask for a room on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank annesmith0211
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel following your recent stay with us. I was sorry to learn that your sleep was disturbed due to the broken window latch. I will certainly get my maintenance department to look into this once I have determined the room number. With regards to the bedroom size, we are a Holiday inn Express... More 

MAnchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spot on room and spot on staff could not ask for more. I usually stay in premier Inn hotels but if all the holiday express hotels are like this one then on will definitely choose this chain too. The only downside to this hotel is the £3 car park charge

Helpful?
Thank MrPhilG
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments following your stay at the hotel. I was pleased to hear that on the whole you were very happy with the hotel. We look forward to seeing you return when you are next in the area. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A clean, spacious family room with double and sofa bed for 2 adults, 2 children. The en-suite was a good size and again, clean. Breakfast was as advertised a few hot items but mainly continental with a wide selection of cold items. Coffee was nice too. Overall, a good budget hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Butlerfamily4107
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. I was pleased to read that everything was to your satisfaction for yourself and your family. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Alton Towers!! Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here whilst attending my cousins wedding at Branston golf club, we had a lovely room with a king size bed, the room was nice and it was clean and the bed was comfy. We had tea & coffee facilities in the room, my only complaint was the coffee wasn't branded and it was horrible. There was tea, coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stews_Girl
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel following your stay with us. I was pleased to hear that on the whole you were happy with your stay and that you would return in the future. With regards to breakfast, as we are a Holiday Inn Express we offer a more limited breakfast range of items as it is a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Express by Holiday Inn Burton-upon-Trent is situated on the A38, just south of Derby and the A50 spine road. Located in Centrum 100 business park, we are easily accessible from all major destinations. Surrounding cities include Derby, Nottingham, Stoke-on-Trent & Birmingham for the NEC.Alton Towers, Donnington Park Race Curcuit, Uttoxeter Racecourse, Drayton Manor Park & Zoo, Historic Lichfield and The Potteries are all only a maximum 30 minute drive away. As one of the closest hotels, we offer great value accommodation for families.In the heart of Burton lies the Coors (Bass) Brewery. As it is only minutes away, you can visit the UK's premier brewing Museum, which traces its local history dating back as far as 1850. There are plenty of places to stop off along the way to sample some of the local brew!Being at the gateway to the National Peak District, the hotel is an ideal starting point to enjoy walking in the Peaks or visiting one of the many underground caverns such as the Blue John Mines and Speedwell Cavern. Whether your stay in Burton-upon-Trent is to see family & friends, visit local attractions or business, the Express By Holiday Inn can provide you with quality accommodations to suit your needs and your budget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent

Address: 2nd Ave | Centrum 100 Business Park, Burton upon Trent DE14 2WF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $72 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burton-Upon-Trent Hotel Burton Upon Trent
Holiday Inn Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay