We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2nd Ave | Centrum 100 Business Park, Burton upon Trent DE14 2WF, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were after a hotel that was relatively cheap to stay before a visit to Nottingham Uni, this location seemed convenient and the rate was good. The room was comfortable enough, with double be and sofa bed, reasonable sized TV and a kettle, the en-suite bathroom had a shower (no bath). The was some noise from the corridor late at... More 

Helpful?
Thank SAW68
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is extremely clean and fit for purpose. We came up for a wedding for the weekend, and the staff were extremely accommodating... of particular note was Bill, the night porter - who when we came in provided us with coffee and croissants, despite there not being 24 hour room service. That sort of above and beyond completely makes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsten J
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed with my wife and found it too small for a couple. Would suggest OK for your basic business stay of 1 or 2 nights max. Reasonable breakfast included in the rate and hotel supported by very friendly staff for who nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Limited dining options so the Flaming Grill next door must do a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce_H_Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here sat 23rd January as we walked towards reception desk there were 2 small dogs running around with a family not on leads. We stayed in room 1 on the ground floor the room felt basic and very unloved. The shower door was broken there was the most awful smell coming up the sink plughole. I would say... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam 1
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Dear Sam 1, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests, and we appreciate your nice feedback on our helpful staff. However, please accept our sincerest... More 

Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

2 nights with hardly any sleep due to such a tiny bed, £145 for 2 nights, breakfast was not what hubbie was expecting, deep fried sausages, powdery scrambled eggs, baked beans and diy toast was the extent of the cooked breakfast, i was happy with museli . Room was clean, towels changed on the first day, all the staff on... More 

Helpful?
Thank allangi101
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Dear allangi101 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent. When I read your comments I was naturally quite disappointed. I would like to point out the bed in your room was a standard double and I'm sorry that this was not to your liking. As we move into... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a night just after Chrsitmas visiting family, the hotel is very new and clean. We stayed on the ground floor which was remarkably quite being as it is situation next to an A road and the car park. Room was well equipped although a bit dark. We only paid £50 for the night, me and my partner... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine P
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here after a family wedding so arrived late. The man on check in was really helpful and made us feel really welcome. The room was adequate and we had a really good night's sleep. It was quiet. Breakfast was good too and they even had soya milk for my dairy allergy.

Helpful?
Thank Louise S
Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

For the price, this Holiday Inn is definitely value for money. Parking only £3, rooms reasonable and complimentary breakfast was fine and fairly uncrowded early on. What I cannot understand is how the rooms backing onto the dual carriageway are not triple glazed as the constant roar of vehicles going by will disturb even the deepest sleeper -best to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank dragons1964
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Dear dragons1964 , Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am happy that you were satisfied with the level of cleanliness and the level of service provided. However, I am truly sorry that your stay was inconvenienced due to insufficient soundproofing of the rooms. The feedback we receive from... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

Easy booking, easy check in, helpful staff and a very good room. Normally stay at other hotels but will more than likely choose holiday inns in future. More than happy with our stay. The breakfast was good too. Not sure why the parking charge isn't included in the room charge.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paradroid
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

Ideally booked this hotel because hotels in nearby Derby were virtually full. The hotel is located opposite a retail park and is really easy to find straight off the A38. The hotel itself was quiet when I arrived and remained that way pretty much throughout the night. I didn't eat at the hotel as there was a Flaming Grill just... More 

Helpful?
Thank ryanninetytwo
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#10 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay