We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (34)
Dining (17)
Room & Suite (2)
Certificate of Excellence


#2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barton under Needwood
Certificate of Excellence
Good to know
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms


Full view
47Car recommended
Grade: 47 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
2 Station Road, Barton under Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8DR England
Getting there
East Midlands Airport17 mi
Birmingham Intl Airport21 mi
See all nearby hotels
14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 48
  • 31
  • 10
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Went to a birthday party here last night and the food was excellent. Really tasty, fresh and hot and was attractively presented and served as “2 bite” canapés. A lovely way to eat as it kept coming. Would recommend to anyone.
Read more
I was looking for somewhere to stay handy for the Arboretum and the 3 Horseshoes caught my eye. Having booked I emailed the Owner regarding food as we were travelling a fair distance and wanted to make sure food was available as we would be close to their last orders on arrival.
Read more
We visited today for Sunday lunch. Normally, I’m not a fan of roasts in a pub as the meat is often cooked too much for my liking and roasties are often soft with the veg being over cooked. This couldn’t have been more different. The beef was beautifully cooked, roast potatoes
Read more
Just returned from a stay at the 3 Horseshoes and really disappointed with the accommodation. The pub itself looks somewhat tatty on the outside, however inside it is very nice. We were welcomed by Simon , he was very friendly and helpful which was much appreciated. We had a
Read more
Response from David R, Owner at The 3 Horseshoes
Responded Oct 23, 2018
Thank you for your comments and we take them on board as I agree they are valid, the carpets are due to be refitted in the January during the quiet spell and the outside of the pub decorated in spring. I am pleased to hear your positive comments on the staff, food and interior of the pub.
Read more
Went with friends, the bottle of red wine was very cold. We commented about this, then the barman came over and said that he had googled what the temperature of red wine should be and it’s fine... (so we are obviously wrong that he had to google it and didn’t believe us). Duck
Read more
Response from David R, Owner at The 3 Horseshoes
Responded Oct 23, 2018
Firstly I find it extremely insulting that you imply that we are serving "gone off" meat, not only is this unethical but also would be a serious breach of Health and Safety, so to make a comment like that is quite a serious accusation. I'm sorry to hear about your experience, especially as you have perservered with us for so long. Unfortunately every time you've been in, there has been one issue or another that has resulted in us having to discount your bill or give you something for free. As we explained on this last occasion, we obviously will never meet your high expectations after trying to do so for the last few years and you may prefer to look elsewhere in future (to be honest we struggle to financially sustain your visits). As they say "You can't please all the people all the time" and it's probably best for us to cut our losses now. I would like to say that you've been a pleasure to serve, but usually you have been quite rude, so for the first time in 24 years in this trade I'm actually pleased when a customer says they won't be returning.
Read more
$87 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomEnglandBurton upon TrentBarton under Needwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing