We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Porlock Caravan and Camping Park

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
04/09/2017 04/10/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Porlock Caravan and Camping Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Start your review of Porlock Caravan and Camping Park
 Click to rate
Reviewed November 4, 2016

We were looking for a caravan site on Exmoor for an autumn break and found this site online.As we have a large twin axle caravan I initially rang to see if they could accommodate a van of this size as I was aware the site is quite small.Sue the owner was very helpful and allocated us a pitch where we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew S
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, you feedback is appreciated and important to us - it's so nice to know our hard work is enjoyed. We have a great team and make sure they all share your comments. You were a delight to host and we look forward to seeing you all again next...

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Great courteous welcome escorted to pitch Most importantly the facilities were 10/10 Clean and every thing you could want for a pleasant stay. 3 minuets to the village although some of the places we are going to visit were closed So we will be BACK

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Henry B
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, high praise indeed! We are delighted that you wish to return, there is a lot to see here in Exmoor and any reason to return is a good one. We look forward to seeing you again.

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Spent 7 days here. Warm welcome. Very friendly. Couldn't fault the site. Facilities were Spotless and site well kept. Static as well as touring pitches. Definitely recommend if you are looking for somewhere to unwind. Perfect for couples.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teresa W
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 30, 2016

we stayed here recently and we were delighted by what we found, a really friendly helpful reception and an immaculate pitch, albeit hard standing, for the awning we had a ground sheet so it didn't matter. Good dog walking straight from the site and a lovely pub with great food and very dog friendly within walking distance of the site,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hana D
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we do hope everything was OK when you returned home, we are sorry your trip was cut short. We hope that you are able to return soon and enjoy the beauty and friendliness of Porlock.

Reviewed August 21, 2016

Of course it all depends on what you want - and if what you want is swimming pools, entertainment, loud noisy bars - don't come here. If - like us - what you want is a quiet, clean, friendly and well positioned site, you will not find anything better. The facilities are the cleanest by a country mile that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your helpful and complimentary review. We are always thrilled when our guests let us know how much they have enjoyed their stay with us and the area around us. Porlock and Exmoor have so much to offer. We hope to see you again.

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Just pot luck we found this site on the Internet and what a find, it is probably the best managed, cleanest, most cared for site we have ever been on. The wardens running the park are smashing people and are obviously very proud of their park. The washrooms have to be seen to be believed so does the washing up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jem A
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review

We are so glad you found us! Thank you for your comments, your feedback is very important to us. We do love our park and we have a truly great team working together for the results you so enjoyed. We will make sure they all see your review and a big thank you from us all.

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2016

Stay here regularly in one of the holiday homes and also in our campervan. It is a fantastic site, very friendly owners and staff. The facilities are far superior to other sites we have stayed at. We can't wait to go back again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrslettuce2016
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Luttuce! Thank you so much for your review, we are thrilled that you enjoy your visits to us and liked our new holiday home. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Just got back from wier festival and stayed at Porlock caravan and camping site. Have to say it was a lovely and clean site. The owner was very polite and showed us to our pitch next to our friends. The views are stunning. It is right next to the main village high street. Will definitely be going back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paul m
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - the weekend was a lot of fun and the weather stayed dry! We look forward to seeing you again.

Cardiff
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

We couldn't get to our pre booked and deposit paid for one of a two night stay. Had a terrible day , with awful experience . Last thing I thought of was the camp site because far more important issues needed addressing. Phone call from the lady , very patronising and really not welcome after such a bad day. Yes,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CardiffRocks
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review

We called this person at 7.45pm to politely enquire if she still required her pitch since she was due to arrive at 12 noon according to her online booking. We immediately received a long aggressive rant about what a bad day she had had and that we were the last people on her mind and she did not think to...

Ilfracombe
Reviewed June 5, 2016

We have stayed at many campsites in our motorhome but can honestly say that this is the best by far. The site is easy to find. 5 min walk from the Village and so quiet it's Sunday every day. The toilets/ showers are spoilt less and the owners very friendly. To coin a phrase. we will be back. Well done...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DairyJune
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review

Hi June, it was a pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted you enjoyed your well earned break. We look forward to seeing you again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/09/2017 04/10/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 20 in Porlock
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 20 in Porlock
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 20 in Porlock
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#7 of 20 in Porlock
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 20 in Porlock
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Porlock Caravan Park is a pretty, quiet family run, 5 star site, within the quaint old enchanting village of Porlock with its characteristic pubs, shops and restaurants. Local amenities include a tourist information centre, recreation ground and pony trekking. An ideal location for those wanting a relaxing break in a rural village setting. The park offers award winning amenities and a warm and friendly welcome to all. Tents, tourers and motorhomes catered for with spotless facilities including free hot showers, baby changing facilities, laundry room with drying area. Level grass and hardstanding pitches available. Separate field for rallies. Luxury, central heated holiday homes also available for hire. Our unique David Bellamy garden has an abundance of wild flowers, birds and wildlife with ample seating to sit and enjoy a glass of wine while watching the stunning sunsets over the Bristol Channel and Porlock Bay.Porlock Bay is in the heart of the Exmoor National Park surrounded by spectacular coastal scenery, breathtaking moors and wooded valleys where you can see the Exmoor ponies and red deer. Dunster, the medieval market town, Lynmouth and Lynton with its vehicular railway are some of many local attractions certainly worth a visit or just leave your car behind and explore this walker’s paradise.Privately owned static caravans for sale. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Porlock Caravan and Camping Park

Address: High Bank, Exmoor National Park, Porlock, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Price Range: $6 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Porlock Caravan and Camping Park 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Porlock Caravan And Camping Park England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Porlock Caravan and Camping Park staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Porlock Caravan and Camping Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a hard standing.”
 of 5 bubbles johnpL9464FP, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“The questions above are for a hotel stay so many questions were left unanswered”
 of 5 bubbles DozyCow, Jul 12, 2015 | Read review
“this is a camp site,not hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles pedrodunstano, Jul 7, 2015 | Read review
“if you want a hardstanding pitch best book ahead.”
 of 5 bubbles tinadevon, Jun 29, 2015 | Read review
“Caravans are all in lovely positions. We camped on D3 pitch, on a bit of a slope but a lot of the pitches are not. Close to the toilet and shower block, and the washing up room. And the big field at the bottom of camp site is open at certain times of the year.”
 of 5 bubbles CatharineH209, Jun 9, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question