We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Frome

The Place To Stay

375 reviews
Save
Traveler (151)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good16%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“knoll hill farm”(37 reviews)
“local pub”(31 reviews)
“b b”(80 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed
Pool
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (375)Write a Review
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
257
62
25
21
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
257
62
25
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknoll hill farmlocal pubb bbodhi treewhite hartmy partnerview roomthe main housebreakfast roomhot waterfresh milkfull englisheggs benedictwooden beamsbath and showerlongleat safari parkguest house
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Last year we visited Longleat Safari Park and the Festival of Lights - Knoll Hill Farm was conveniently a 15 minute drive away and our stay last year was perfect; we couldn’t fault the accommodation and the owner Sam could not have been more helpful/friendly....More

1  Thank awrj123
Response from Sam G, General Manager at The Place To StayResponded 1 week ago

We thank you for coming to stay with us again and we are very sorry you feel your stay with us was badly affected by the malfunction of the remote system to close the blind on the skylight window. Sadly, as you rightly pointed out...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly welcome, we were only staying one night, so probably didn't get to use all of the facilities..... but the room was lovely and the breakfast room and extra early breakfast (as we were off out) was gorgeous I think we had the one dog...More

Thank Roodeberglodge
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed overnight four adults and one four year old, staying in two separate rooms, whilst we visited longleat for the festival of light, rooms spacious and comfortable and good facilities, slight problem with hot water but got a hot bath in the end, breakfast...More

1  Thank apandt2017
Response from Sam G, Front Office Manager at The Place To StayResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. It was helpful that you let us know about the hot water problem immediately and we were able to sort it our straight away. Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night. Very welcoming and it is more like staying in someone's house rather than a hotel. The place is a bit quirky with some odd remarks "the wifi is not in the room as we want to have peace and quiet",...More

Thank jonbrowne1968
Response from Sam G, General Manager at The Place To StayResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing The Place To Stay and for mentioning that it is like staying in someone's house, as it is our home. We are not a hotel but a guest house. Again we clearly tell all our guests that there is no wifi...More

Reviewed December 9, 2017

Recently we visited this establishment with some friends who had stayed there approx 5 years ago. Having parked our cars we eventually found the front door (not easy in the dark as they only had very poor solar lighting) Our friends soon realised that it...More

Thank lynneytuck
Response from Sam G, General Manager at The Place To StayResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry you felt your stay with us was not what you had expected. We do realise the lighting is not sufficient to the reception and have amended that already. We cannot cater for everyone's style of guesthouse. We have never had a complaint...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345675
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
$105 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$105 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (151)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (9)
Hotel & Grounds (119)
Bathroom (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
retired0209
August 9, 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sam G | Property representative |
No we do not have a dog,
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We had the willow room, the one pictured with the roll top bath, had a separate lounge/conservatory and..."
Read review
"Rooms in the converted barn are spacious and very well equipped."
Read review
"Room 6 is worth the extra for a romantic getaway"
Read review
"Best view s"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite