We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Talbot Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Much Wenlock
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Talbot Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ventured to this local Inn and encountered a warm welcome from local people. Good warm food at sensible prices. Splendid atmosphere. Fast service along with hearty helpings. Locals were happy to chat which is a bonus when your on business and travelling alone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Having been to this pub several times when I've visited Much Wenlock camping I was looking forward to our visit and meal. We booked up for a Saturday night knowing that previously how busy it gets. When we arrived it wasn't it usual bustling atmosphere and didn't seem as busy as on previous occasions. A young waiter attended to us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hatty64
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 15, 2016

On our way back home from our holiday we were passing through Much Wenlock and decided to stop. So glad we did, after a quick look round (as it was passed lunchtime) we didn't think anywhere would be still serving food BUT there was The Talbot Inn with a very delicious menu! Inside is very quirky, but cosy and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeni P
Reviewed October 3, 2016

my wife had the salmon excellent! I had the sirloin steak absolutely. Awful . Cooked as I asked for Medium rare but full of inedible gristle . One to avoid in the future. A 10 oz steak 4 oz inedible. So sorry! I really was looking forward to the food having read the reviews.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Sarah B, Owner at The Talbot Inn, responded to this review

First I would like to apologize for your steak you ordered,after reading your review we checked our remaining steaks and found they wasn't up to our normal high standards.we then stopped using that particular batch.We at the Talbot would love you to come back to see us and have another meal on the house to apologize.

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

They accommodated 18 of our cycling club nicely . A varied menu from a £17-50 fillet steak to traditional fish & chips , a nice selection of starters and desserts . A lovely out door seating area if the weather is good . Service was very good and the food came out all together and piping hot . Would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 8, 2016

An unpretentious pub, with a good atmosphere where we were made welcome and given tasty, well cooked meals within the time constraints which we had mentioned when pre- booking the table. Would revisit if again in Much Wenlock and needing a full meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cretelovers
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 29, 2016

I have just returned from a two night stay at The Talbot Inn, Much Wenlock. It was extremely comfortable in the Malt House. I stayed in a double room, en suite with breakfast for £50 per night. The staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating particularly the lady who served me breakfast each morning. Thoroughly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
Adeje, Spain
Reviewed June 21, 2016

We both loved staying there , very friendly staff , the Sunday lunch, was great just like mum used to make, we went for breakfast the next morning there was every thing there that we loved plus a full English breakfast served by Paul & Sarah , excellent , we are looking for would to go again,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Visited Much Wenlock with family Saturday afternoon popped in to the pub for a brew, staff were really friendly, we asked the lady behind the bar if it would be possible to reserve our table while we popped out for half hour, she kindly did so and kept our tab open, when we returned we had food wine & beer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stainey123
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic little place. Highly recommended. What a wonderful welcome we had from Paul & Sarah. Excellent service from friendly & helpful staff. Outstanding evening meal in the restaurant, clean rooms & lovely breakfast. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. I'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ceri E
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Much Wenlock hotels
0.0 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#1 of 9 in Much Wenlock
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wenlock Studios
Wenlock Studios
#1 of 5 in Much Wenlock
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Plume of Feathers
The Plume of Feathers
#4 of 9 in Much Wenlock
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Little country inn run built in 1361. We have 6 en-suite rooms all with tv and tea and coffee making facilities. A private car park on back. Quite surroundings and peaceful breaks for everyone. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Talbot Inn

Address: High Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Price Range: $47 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Talbot Inn Much Wenlock, Shropshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Talbot Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We only ate here, but we are definitely going back to stay there”
 of 5 bubbles JeniP31, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“this is a very quite hotel , it is a listed building ,beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles sheilac949, Jun 21, 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 very quiet away from the public bar”
 of 5 bubbles huguenotrtory, Apr 22, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms perfectly adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles christ046, Apr 20, 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay but kept coming back to eat”
 of 5 bubbles pat75125, Jul 7, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question