We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawthorn House

Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witney
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hawthorn House
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Alison gave us a warm welcome. The room was huge and very clean. The bed was comfortable, the garden is beautiful and breakfast was delicious with sausages from the local butcher and all freshly cooked. A good location for exploring the Cotswolds and an easy drive to the park and ride in Oxford. We ate evening meals at the nearby... More 

Helpful?
Thank merlin118
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Alison More 

Guernsey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here last weekend and were so impressed with the standard of the accommodation and cleanliness. This coupled with lovely hosts made for a very pleasant stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending Hawthorn House as a place to stay in Witney. We used to go to the Premier Inn in Witney, but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Perky1959
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to seeing you again sometime. Many thanks, Alison More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Cant really fault Hawthorn House too much as it had everything you need, nice host, decent room, tea/coffee etc, good shower, good breakfast but nothing outstanding and there in lies the problem it was only OK. Would i stay again? I wouldn't say no but I would look at other places first. And anti-bacterial hand wash at breakfast - weird!

Helpful?
Thank Neal T
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . As you stated Hawthorn House has everything you require and for the price of £60 incl breakfast, with en-suite and lovely views of the valley I think it is good value for money. I do not purport to be 5* as that is not the market I aim for. Handwashing before eating is not... More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

Stopped here on my own for a couple of nights whilst attending a course nearby. The owner, Alison, is very friendly and the room was great for me. Room 4, a twin, tastefully decorated, with en suite bathroom with a tub. Tasty breakfast with quality ingredients. Plenty of parking. Close enough to walk into Witney centre where there are lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank BBackhouse
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again if you are in the area. I am afraid all the beds are a little different, those 2 beds were new at the end of last year, but I am sorry if they weren't quite to... More 

Atherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

Such a beautiful B&B in the middle of the Oxfordshire countryside, excellent breakfast made by Alison the owner, always friendly, helpful & accommodating, bedrooms are very tastefully done, spotless & in keeping with the beautiful countryside, stunning views, well located as its close to Witney, Burford, Blenheim, Woodstock & the Cotswolds ... Comes highly recommended & will be returning with... More 

Helpful?
Thank xxflissxx
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely comments and I very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future . Best regards Alison More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

Excellent room (room 1, back of the house) with lovely decor and furniture inc big comfy 4 poster bed. Great bathroom with bath to soak in which was exactly what we needed after a day of wet cycling. All rounded off by a great full English, with eggs from the hens at the bottom of the garden

Helpful?
Thank Selina H
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and I hope to see you both again sometime in the future. Alison More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

We went to Hawthorn House as we were attending a wedding on the Saturday near by. Our stay was two nights - Friday and Saturday. We arrived late-ish on the Friday night to a very warm welcome by Alison. We were told the pub was still serving food over the road and decided to give it a go. The food... More 

Helpful?
Thank rowtimmsenglish
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future. Take care Alison More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

We chose Hawthorne House to stay at for a four night stay on the 29 June. My husband, my mum and myself thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this friendly, homely bed and breakfast. Its superb location is central to Witney centre, Old Minster, Burford and Brize Norton, along with other attractions to visit. The pretty, cosy bedrooms are ideal and... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephen g
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and I look forward to welcoming you again. Many thanks Alison More 

Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

A lovely B & B. Alison the owner was very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable could not fault it. The choice for breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay there again. Only stayed for 1 night on 27th June for a wedding in the area but would stay longer.

Helpful?
Thank HelenGodden
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you very much Helen for your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you again sometime in the future More 

West Country
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

Another 'Girlie Weekend ' took us this time to Hawthorn House in Witney. On arrival on the Friday evening after a rather frought journey we were greeted by the owner... Alison. We were shown to our rooms which were all tastefully decorated. Situated at the front of the house our room was probably the noisiest as the A4095 was just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lu2018
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Hawthorn House. We are not a star rated B&B and I hope that you could find everything you required in our home. We do not stock individually wrapped toiletries etc as I find such items not very environmentally friendly, where soaps are thrown away after 1 use and he plastic bottles and paper... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Witney hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
1.2 mi away
Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel
0.8 mi away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Boar Witney
Blue Boar Witney
#6 of 7 in Witney
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
3.3 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: 79 Burford Road, Witney OX28 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing