We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Spread Eagle Hotel

Hotels.com$116*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$116*
$118*
$116*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Spread Eagle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Spread Eagle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 522: English reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is desperate. It's dirty and has some realy serious issues. Undersize pane of glass in the bathroom with a gap above. Missing tiles replaced with pieces of timber. Doors which don't close or stick. Our room was on the high street and extremely noisy. Restaurant food was average but on the plus side the staff were very good....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank petet247
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear petet247 Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the room you stayed in. We will do our best to address the points you raised as soon as we can and hopefully welcome you back again.

Reviewed February 2, 2017 via mobile

For £119 per night this was the worst value hotel ever. The hotel is dirty, tired and smelly. The windows didn't open so the room was so hot that I couldn't sleep. The bathroom looked like someone who was 5 years old had decorated it and had broken tiles everywhere. I definitely will never stay here again. I would rather...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bigliz1
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bigliz1 Thank you for your review. You mush have stayed one of our aged bedrooms and I am sorry for your disappointment. I am sure we can provide you a better room in the future if you revisit us.

Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 1, 2017

Sadly, only got to spend one night at The Spead Eagle Hotel. Very cosy little place with splendid rooms and very clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Bar staff were gracious enough to stay and serve us in the bar until 2am. Would recommend for couples as well as a larger party. Would stay at The Spead Eagle again for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janiswalton
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janiswalton, Thank you very much for your recent review and kind comments. We appreciate the objective and fair feedback as it always helps us to improve our product and services. We look forward to seeing you back at The Spread Eagle soon.. Thanks again

Reviewed January 31, 2017 via mobile

Quirky rooms, some within the building and others within an extension called garden rooms. We have stayed on a previous occasion and enjoyed the garden rooms in the extension which had been refurbished, however the creaky bed springs the noisy bathroom we assumed were intentional. The main hotel rooms are not soundproofed and you can here everything which can be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NANCY H
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nancy H Thank you very much for your review and kind comments, it is a pleasure to share them with my team. I am sorry for the people who were not quiet while going into their bedrooms. This is a common problem and unfortunately some are more considerate than others. Thank you for your praises about the food and...

Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile

I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Staff polite and efficient. Location in the middle of Thame. The spread eagle is also a star of the tv series Midsomer Murders Food and service excellent. Comfortable large room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth E
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth E Many thanks for your review. You are always welcome..

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 23, 2017

very nice stay staff very pleasant and helpful bar prices a bit pricey,rooms nice and big,extra fire in the wardrobe which we needed as it was minus 4 We had a groupon deal and it was well worth it the extra supplament at dinner was only £3 well worth it, the prawn cocktail was a meal alone would go again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lloyd878
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lloyd878, Thank you very much for staying with us, Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you here again.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

Came for lunch and amazed at the decor. Beautiful restaurant and the food was amazing. Had the steak pie. Thoroughly recommend. 10 out of 10. The staff were very friendly too . I will definitely be back whether it's a celebration or impromptu lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyzebra67
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Happy Zebra67, Many thanks.. You are always welcome.

Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel in the early evening and its set in a gorgeous town, the outside looks welcoming and i had good hopes for the night ahead. The lady at reception was very pleasant and helpful when we checked in. The room at first glance was very homely and warm, which was amazing after the travel and cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhowden62395
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mhowden6295 Thank you for taking time and reviewing us in great detail. We much appreciate your points and I shared your comments with the rest of the team. I am glad you had a nice time here. You are always welcome.

Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic two night stay at The Spread Eagle, fabulous room with great facilities Absolutely first class staff throughout, well done everyone! We couldn't of wished for better service, we shall definitely visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slmd07
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simd07, Thank you very much. You are always welcome..

Thame, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 11, 2017

We have just attended the steak night with six friends at the Spread Eagle Hotel in Thame, the service was good the food was good and it was very reasonable. Would highly recommend it, this is the fourth time we have been, and each time with different friends and have never been disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillycumthame
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jillycumthame, Thank you very much for your visit and the review. We are looking forward to your fifth visit. Thanks again..

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

187 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thame
51 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
600 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
657 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Address: 16-17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Price Range: $135 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spread Eagle Hotel Thame, Oxfordshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Spread Eagle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If your not fussed about the smaller things then this maybe for you”
paulagC9884VC, 1 week ago | Read review
“We had a room at the front - Room 19”
Essexdeb1, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“If you want a quiet room, especially Friday or Saturday don't take room 26”
jrapeter, Apr 20, 2017 | Read review
“Saw much better rooms on internet before we booked .ask for a renovated room”
KathyM683, Apr 11, 2017 | Read review
“Talk to the very helpful staff - they will make every effort to accommodate your wishes.”
evaneek, Mar 26, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$116* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$118
TripAdvisor$116
Booking.com$116
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates