We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Crown Coaching Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Crown Coaching Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in the faringdon room (double)was very impressed with the size of the room and had a goodsize en-suite double shower, room was clean and very warm, Bed and mattress where comfortable, its an old building so expect sqeaky floors I could here every footstep on the floor above which kept on till around 11pm But an old building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael k
Brighouse
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to stay, very helpful and also very friendly too. Will cone back again. I did not eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was delivered delicious. The bar took credit card so no need for claiming expenses back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence D
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here recently and it was ok. Needs a lot of renovation but a nice feel to the place. Food was good and the beer, Doombar, was very reasonably priced. Good roaring fire in the lounge. The staff were good and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArtyOxford
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great meal in the restaurant 12 of us all eating something different. Nothing to much trouble, weren't hurried. Good service form the bar. Friendly staff. Excellent would certainly return. Hotel old dates from 16 hundreds wood burning stove in the old fire place, plenty of history.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smokey741
Reviewed November 27, 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a night and were very surprised at how friendly the landlord and staff were. Nothing was too much for them and they made our stay very comfortable. We were able to eat our dinner sat next to the open fire in the bar on Saturday evening which was very cosy. The menu was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren K
Province of Almeria, Spain
Reviewed November 14, 2016

so, my hubby and i were invited to see family in faringdon, as there would be no room in the house we thought we would book in to the crown, biggest mistake of our lives,i know its an old building but thats no excuse for poor living is there, the bedroom was small, but that was ok ish, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Matthew T, Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this review

Dear Julie B My sincerest apology's for your uncomfortable stay. The room you were staying in is one of our smaller ones but we do have larger rooms available. we were unfortunately having some electrical issues in our restaurant area which was also in connection with the fault to the fan in the room next to you these have all...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

The last tile I stopped here it was a pleasant experience- allowing for the age of the hotel (it's always going to be a bit creaky at night!). This time however the Inn is apparently without a manager- hence no food in the evenings, despite meals being advertised when booking, and indeed menus left in the room. Instead you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owls17
Matthew T, Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this review

Hi Owls17 I am sorry for your bad experience whilst staying at the old crown, My wife and I have now taken over as managers. We can now offer Quality home cooked meals and have addressed some of the issues brought to our attention. I do hope you can return some day so that we can help you regain the...

Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with friends after going to a wedding. It is in the centre of town so expect some noise. I shared a room with 2 friends. The room was warm and the beds were clean and comfortable. While the fittings in the bathroom were new and clean, the walls and woodwork needed a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Starz71
Oxford
Reviewed October 2, 2016

We phoned ahead and said we would be bringing our little dog Sanchez, I met up with my old pal, had a great meal of King Prawns, Greek Salad and Scampi. We went for a walk around Faringdon then went back for coffee later. Bar service and staff were all exceedingly nice and friendly, just what you need after a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MaxPepsi
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2016

This is an Inn built in the 17th century and modernised to include all the mod cons. It is a labyrinth of different types of rooms, and a sympathetic blend of olde and new. This is a great place to stay for tourists from abroad who want some English history. The room had a good television, generous supply of tea,coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Birtabroad
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faringdon
0.0 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 4 in Faringdon
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
280 reviews
9.9 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
454 reviews
12.1 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
234 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Food & drink at the hotel
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
16th century coaching inn arranged around a cobbled courtyard. Rustic bar at the front of the property with open fire and real ales. Courtyard lounge serves breakfast and coffee each morning. Carvery every Sunday lunch time ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Crown Coaching Inn

Address: 25 Market Place, Faringdon SN7 7HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon
Price Range: $79 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Crown Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Old Crown Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Crown Coaching Hotel Faringdon
Old Crown Coaching Inn Faringdon, England - Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Old Crown Coaching Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Crown Coaching Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles juliebD1639XC, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles Birtabroad, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“Not great if you have mobility issues.”
 of 5 bubbles 994peterb, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Car park was full but easily found on road parking. Beware uneven staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles 384fionaa, Jul 18, 2016 | Read review
“Don't go! But if u do avoid the front cos of noise and smokers”
 of 5 bubbles 666Bunty, Jun 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay