We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

YHA Sherwood Forest

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Sherwood Forest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic half term (Oct) stay with our 3 Grandchildren. Loads to do in the area. The staff at YHA were very friendly & helpful. The kitchen was well equipped for self catering & the restaurant offered value for money with their meals. Would recommend YHA to others. This is our second stay with YHA our first being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janegary2016
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 1, 2016

All in all, this was a good hostel to stay in. It wasn't easy to find, as it was off a side road. Sign postsing was good, once you got to within 100 metres of the place. This was the first YHA we stayed in 10 years ago, and hasnt changed much. Staff where friendly and helpful. Didnt help that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
Alan K, Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hostel. Great to see that you enjoyed our breakfasts and evening meals. I will pass on your comments to our catering manager in regards to offering a larger selection of gluten free food. I hope to welcome you back to YHA Sherwood Forest in the future.

Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

This accommodation is good value for money, with a restaurant and free wi-fi. Everyone we spoke to was kind and well-mannered. We were shown to our quiet room and drinks were brought to us. There was plenty to do in the area. What more could a small family ask for?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nottinghamblogger
Alan K, Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

I'm glad you had a good stay, and all our staff are very appreciative of were kind words. We try hard to make the hostel a family freidnly place, and are happy when it pays off. Thank you

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2016

We stay here for 4 nights what a fantastic place the staff were great, The rooms are clean and tidy and the kitchens are the same. There is also a restaurant also where meals are good and very reasonable. Lounge area lots of games, books with tv and plenty of outside tables and sitting area, also parking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Herbert532
Alan K, Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for positive review, We're glad that you had a good time, and hope to see you again soon.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Lovely setting and friendly staff who were very helpful. The en-suite room was clean and functional. The pre-ordered breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. The self catering kitchen was well stocked and clean. My only criticism is the poor sound insulation and banging doors - the door closure mechanism needs adjusting and that would be the problem solved! Very close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bexy101
Alan K, Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review, We're really glad you had a good holiday with us, and we look forward to having you back!

Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

As July can be an expensive time for short breaks with families you must explore all the opportunities a modern day YHA can offer. We booked a family room which was adequate with bedding provided and towel hire at £2 if needed. Wet room ensuite with additional toilets and shower close by for the morning rush! Would recommend the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael F
Alan K, General Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Fantastic review, very pleased to hear that we have converted you to the joys of staying with YHA. We are sure you will enjoy exploring our amazing locations across England & Wales and we look forward to welcoming you back to YHA Sherwood Forest.

aAt my desk
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

Great setting and well looked after by Nigel the warden. Edwinstowe a lovely wee place to visit. Short walk to Sherwood Forest visitors centre and the Major Oak. We had a family room with en suite. Great vfm as was breakfast. If we holiday in this area again it would be our first choice for accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank windyatmydesk
Alan K, General Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. I will pass on your kind comments to Nigel and we do hope you will stay with us again the next time you are visiting Sherwood Forest.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Staff were Amazing, really helpful & friendly. Rooms were spacious & clean. Bedding was clean & fresh. Some of the doors could do with having the spring closure mechanism repaired as slamming/banging doors....wakes people up!! The shared kitchen is ideal for late night snacks too!!, The food & drinks were perfect.....the whole place is Brilliant & we recommend it for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bexappeal
Alan K, General Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a trip advisor review to highlight your great stay with us. We really enjoyed having you here for your special weekend (Nigel had great fun judging the fancy dress competition :) and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2016

We cycled up to the YHA from Melton Mowbray along Sustrans cycle routes, this was for our second visit this year having been up to a conference organised in Edwinstowe during April. Excellent facilities, locked bike room, a choice of self catering or chef cooked meals, we opted for the latter, excellent. Our private on-suite room was clean and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikeP_Mawsley
Alan K, Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are really glad you enjoyed another stay with us. We look forward to having back again. Alan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 5, 2016

This was our first stay at a YHA. We were visiting to celebrate my son's 8th birthday. As soon as we arrived we received a warm and friendly welcome. The room was basic as expected but spotlessly clean and comfortable. My son loved the bunk beds. Breakfast and dinner were served with a 'kids eat free' policy. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Davis S
Alan K, Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Hello, I'm so happy you had a good stay at Sherwood Hostel, and really glad you'll be coming to the YHA! Thank you for taking the time to give such a positive review, we hope to have you back at the hostel again soon. Alan

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edwinstowe
4.9 mi away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
1,037 reviews
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
7.6 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukeries Lodge
Dukeries Lodge
#4 of 6 in Edwinstowe
164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sherwood Castle Holiday Forest
Sherwood Castle Holiday Forest
#1 of 4 in Newark-on-Trent
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Eastbourne
YHA Eastbourne
#4 of 9 in Eastbourne
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Sherwood Forest

Address: Forest Corner, Edwinstowe NG21 9RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Edwinstowe
Price Range: $36 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Sherwood Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your YHA Sherwood Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Sherwood Forest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Some family rooms have a private terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles Bexy101, Jul 24, 2016 | Read review
“no in room wi-fi, however strong signal in communal areas”
 of 5 bubbles MikeP_Mawsley, Jun 21, 2016 | Read review
“family ensuite rooms over look car park and have a small patio outside - allowed for personal entrance, useful with small children”
 of 5 bubbles 751SarahR, Jun 2, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are quite noisy if there are kids running around upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles janeg149, May 2, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a patio as that way you can sit just there at night and relax whilst the kids play.”
 of 5 bubbles jennifersW9740AX, Aug 29, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay