We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Redesdale Arms

Save
Share
Traveler (40)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (13)
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“the pub”(21 reviews)
“fish pie”(9 reviews)
“haggis”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair access
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
211
68
22
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
211
68
22
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish piehaggishome cookedwarm welcomeovernight stopate herefull english breakfastowners and staffreal alescottish bordersmy partnerdark skiesgood sizelovely mealstunning viewskielder forest
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

We enjoyed a pleasant-enough stay at the Redesdale Arms, but nothing to rave about. We had a standard twin room with functional en-suite. Breakfast was good, served in tastefully furnished dining room. I would come again, but can't understand how other TripAdvisor people have rated...More

Thank TWellsOnTour
Response from CarrolatNland, Owner at The Redesdale ArmsResponded 5 days ago

Dear TWellsOnTour, Thank you for taking the time to review the Redesdale Arms. I’m glad you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed breakfast. I’m very happy to hear that you would return, despite finding your experience to be average. We are honest about who we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in a magnificent location with fabulous views across the National Park. Our room was at the front and had a great view. The room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. As the country is in the middle of a heatwave, we were...More

Thank julieanddavidmccoy
Response from CarrolatNland, Owner at The Redesdale ArmsResponded 6 days ago

Dear Julie & David, Thank you for your kind review of the Redesdale Arms. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and managed to stay cool. We use good quality local produce for our breakfasts, so it's good to know its appreciated!. Thank you also for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely lunch on Sunday both having differant off the menu, a little more of vegetables we think we're needed ,but that was us, the service was god as we were sitting out side with our dogs .Nothing was a problem. Home made...More

Thank 433deva
Response from CarrolatNland, Owner at The Redesdale ArmsResponded 1 week ago

Dear 433deva, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Redesdale Arms, your feedback is much appreciated. Regards Carrol

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Redesdale Arms. We stayed there as it was central to all the places we wanted to visit on our motorbikes. The room was delightful, clean and just right. The breakfast was...More

1  Thank Claire M
Response from CarrolatNland, Owner at The Redesdale ArmsResponded 1 week ago

Dear Claire & Terry, Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in future. Regards Carrol & Mark

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night. The room was fine no complaint there apart from it being a very windy night. Had to put some card in a gap to stop window rattling in the middle of the night. Food o.k. Think they could work on their...More

Thank Susan K
Response from CarrolatNland, Owner at The Redesdale ArmsResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Susan K, I'm glad you found the room to be comfortable but I'm so sorry you left feeling that we weren't interested - of course we are, as you can see from other great reviews about our staff. Regards Carrol

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Wheelchair access
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$110 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$110 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (40)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (13)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mcsWM
May 23, 2017|
Answer
Response from RoryKeene | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure, as I don't work there. I guess phone them up
0
Votes
Oscarsmum2013
September 27, 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from blue01York | Reviewed this property |
Never saw a dog when we were there and to be honest it looked the sort of place that would say no, though the staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. Sorry can't be more help.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Best views at the front, quietest at the back."
Read review
"great views from the front of the inn, but the odd vehicle goes past at night. Fantastic night skies...very..."
Read review
"We were in room 2 which is on the side of the hotel and this minimises any road noise"
Read review
"Good views from front facing rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing