We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,645 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,642: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our afternoon tea experience was amazing. Outlook - beautiful. Staff helpful and friendly. Sandwiches plentiful, a fabulous assortment (smoked salmon & cucumber, ham and mustard, cheese and chutney on very fresh brown & white bread). Delicious scones & jam & clotted cream. Macarons, opera gateau raspberry mousse cake and strawberry trifle. We were offered refil of tea. A delicious &... More 

Helpful?
Thank amsmith2016
Denis F, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, I can not thank you enough for your incredibly kind comments. Please be assured that they are extremely appreciated. The whole team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Linden Hall and we will all be looking forward to welcoming you again very soon. Kind regards Denis Frucot General Manager More 

Alnwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our favourite hotel, but not anymore! Not made clear when booking, that the Dobson Restaurant is closed Mon - Fri,! Whole reason we booked was to celebrate our wedding anniversary with fine dining and stay over. "Dinner" was in the Linden Tree Pub, with poor service, very warm rose wine and no Table d'hote or special 3 course... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 345Linda2014
Denis F, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. I am extremely sorry that your experience did not seem to live up to your usual expectations as well as your previous experiences of Linden Hall. May I assure you that I take your comments very seriously and that they will be discussed at length with my management team to... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A very enjoyable stay at Linden Hall. Love countryside ocation and ease of access to some bedrooms on ground floor mean getting luggage in and out is first class. Also good for visitors to Alnwick Gardens in Alnwick

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank edward b
Denis F, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to learn we have succeeded in living up to your needs. Please do visit us again very soon. Kind regards Denis Frucot General Masnager More 

aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

For money paid service could be improved .communication regarding Morgan's drinks. In Scotland Morgan's and Coke is spiced Morgan's. Bar man stated you got what you asked for dark rum you will have to drink it and pay for it or l could get you something else but you will have to pay for both. Surely it could have been... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CHAPEL123
Denis F, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. First of all, please accept my most sincere apologies if you felt the level of service was not to your expectations. I have discussed your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager and I wan tot assure you that training will be delivered as a result. I sincerely hope you... More 

Sunderland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for one evening as part of a Wedding Party, room was small, carpet dirty, stuffy, wardrobe doors were dangerously loose, no slippers or bath robe provided, breakfast was poor (looked reheated) and the bar staff were lethargic, not what you would expect for £161 a night. On this experience I could not recommended this hotel. We did not... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamD
Denis F, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not feel the experience lived up to your expectations. I have made notes on your comments and where we can make immediate improvements, rest assured that these will be implemented immediately. I sincerely hope that you will return to Linden Hall in the future and that we... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent service and stay. Had the spa weekend with treatment included. Had a lovely stay. Food was of a high standard and worth the value. Highly recommend to couples, friends and anyone of any age.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marie o
Denis F, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking time to post a review. I am pleased that you impressed with our staff and standard of food in our restaurant. Be assured that your comments have been shared around our team.. We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Denis Frucot General Manager More 

Edinburgh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

had 18 on our party setting very good everything you need for a great outing lovely accommodation bit limited on the evening meal menu but overall good value excellent service staff work hard to please

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Russell G
Denis F, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review, It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Macdonald Linden Hall and found it so satisfying. It is also pleasing to hear all staff you encountered during your stay were very good and polite. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Denis Frucot General Manager More 

Tranent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Tired Hotel outdated spa £250 for feature room DBB got a suite with small bedroom and pointless seating area. Room had no mini bar no a/c and no fruit bowl as advertised Room walls were part painted to cover previous damage. Overall extremely disappointed as this was a special night and the Hotel was not up to other Macdonald Hotels... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny10harvey
Denis F, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for giving us your feedback. Please first accept my most sincere apologies if you felt the standards of accommodation did not live up to your expectations. We try very hard to provide our guests with the best standards of amenities we can but at time, we simply can not. I have made note of all your... More 

Shotts, Lanarkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Golf course need more care and attention. Room and grounds were lovely and the pub area was great for sitting outside to have a few drinks. Breakfast was disappointing especially when they made you select either beans or black pudding, for £19.50 you would expect more!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aliare1
Denis F, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us at Linden Hall. I am not certain why you were asked to choose between black pudding and beans as it is not a policy of ours? Be assured that I will be following it up with my restaurant team. Please... More 

Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Would recommend Macdonald Linden Hall, to have good food, comfortable room, in beautiful grounds, in beautiful Northumberland. and the golf was great. Who could ask for more. Hope to do it again next year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank florencer792
Denis F, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review, It’s great to hear you enjoyed your break with us at Linden Hall. It is also fantastic to hear guest say such wonderful things about our beloved Linden. Also good to hear you found our golf course great. we have recently invested heavily in making sure the course is in perfect condition. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

512 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (214)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Coquet Room (19)
Viewed
Elizas Room (16)
Viewed
Linden Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Room (14)
Viewed
Second Room (15)
Viewed
Sophie's Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
17.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
17.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
10.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
3.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The impressive Macdonald Linden Hall Golf and Country Club was built by merchant and banker Charles William Bigge in 1812. Today, it nestles in 450 acres of private grounds: the perfect country house hotel. Boasting several versatile function rooms and an 18-hole golf course, it's the perfect venue for business events. Our stunning Northumberland countryside location and award-winning food and drink are ideal for weddings too. If you want a relaxing break in the country with extensive health club and spa facilities, not to mention luxurious accommodation, come to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Price Range: $129 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay