We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cobbled Yard Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Cobbled Yard Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Scotland, uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was with a coach party of 19. We stopped here for a pre-booked lunch. Food was very nice but half of us had soup but no BREAD ! We asked the waitress for bread+ butter and we were told we would be charged extra - we were. One waitress was very rude and tried to imply that one party... More 

Helpful?
Thank lulu_04Scotland_uk
Alicelyn, Manager at The Cobbled Yard Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didnt enjoy your visit, but can I just point out that due to the cheap cost of the daily special bread and butter is not included in the price. I doubt anywhere would not have charged in the same circumstance. The lady was asked about her tea - Cup of Tea ! - which incidentally hasnt... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

My parents and I have just stayed at the cobbled yard and have had a wonderful time. The hotel is small and cosy the staff are all very friendly. Lynda and Fred have a team of staff whom cannot do enough for you. We were staying as a member of my family had a christening to attend on the Sunday.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Went to berwick for a wedding reception have been before and ended a very long way out of the centre this hotel is in a central location with a nice little car park at the side hotel staff very helpful and friendly

Helpful?
1 Thank hunney2015
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

We only ate dinner here. Basic pub food that filled a whole at dinner time. We chose this place to eat because it was convenient to where we were staying. It was a mid-week night and there was only one other couple eating in the restaurant, but the food was adequate (although the salad that came with my scampi was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VM94
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

the hotel was clean and tidy, staff very pleasant and helpful, the room was very spacious and clean with en-suit bathroom and good easy to use shower. good breakfast and a nice evening meal would definitely stay there again but for longer as two nights was not long enough. the hotel was close to the town and railway station.

Helpful?
1 Thank gizpritchard
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

good location for town and free parking Disapointed with room as tatty towels and no soap ( dispenser empty ) Felt room price was high for standard of room, would have stayed elsewhere if there had been availability Breakfast was average but only offered decaf instant coffee

Helpful?
1 Thank LUCINDA D
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

Lovely little guest house in the centre of Berwick-Upon-Tweed. Parking is provided by the hotel but we preferred to park in the FREE all day car park on Conxons Lane which was adjacent to the hotel as the guest house parking was very tight. The room was very clean and with all the amenities you need for a short break.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kellywA3095YL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

Rooms were clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for Lynda and Fred. Tea and coffee in room and free WiFi upstairs and downstairs. After a full day exploring the area we decided to eat in and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. It also has its own bar. Will visit again when in this area. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

This is a small hotel right off the main street in Berwick Upon Tweed, which means that we could walk to the local cinema and see a movie without having to worry about parking. The hotel itself is in a traditional building and all the rooms are upstairs. The restaurant is wheelchair accessible but if you can't manage stairs then... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma O
Manchester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015 via mobile

This hotel provides basic rooms with an acceptable breakfast. The bed was comfy The shaver was hot but not very powerful. The Bathroom light decided if it wanted to work or not! Spoke to the staff who said they'd tried to fix it but couldn't.... The extract fan didn't work either. Breakfast was 0K, small portions

Helpful?
Thank ManchesterGlen
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
0.2 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#19 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#18 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#8 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansergh House
Mansergh House
#29 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Cobbled Yard Hotel

Address: 40 Walkergate, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range: $96 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cobbled Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay