We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue Bell Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belford
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Blue Bell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 468: English reviews
Start your review of Blue Bell Hotel
 Click to rate
scotland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We don't have high expectations and we aren't high maintenance but we were booked in for 2 nights. We appreciated the history of the place but we had a meal on the Friday night - steak night. The waiting staff were all very young. Not much experience which is fine. But they didn't know much about the menu or how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PADDYMSCOTLAND
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning. Thank you for your review. Yes, some of our staff are young but have all been with us for some time now and are well aware of the menu - and how to clear a table. We have a great, friendly team at our privately owned, family run hotel - we aren't a large corporate hotel and sometimes...

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We just don't tire of this hotel. No better way to brighten up a miserable February. On arrival a great welcome from Heidi the manager. All staff are so welcoming with nothing to much trouble for them. Joe the chef came out for a chat and a new member of staff Tracy looked after us for breakfast and keeping our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanRWhitleyBay
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Absolute pleasure having you stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you all back soon :)

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bluebell Hotel is an old coaching inn that is full of character. We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in room 12. Staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Our room was spotlessly clean and well equipped with hairdryer, iron and board, tv and tea/ coffee making facilities, good sized ensuite with bath/ shower. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a positive review. We are all over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Whitley Bay United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just come back from a 3 night stay. The quality and quantity of the breakfast and especially the 3 course a-la-carte menu was excellent. The staff were so friendly and nothing was a problem for them. Spotlessly clean. Very good value for money. We shall return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita6668
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 16, 2017

Weekend winter break with a group of silver surfers. D,B&B rate was excellent, considering the quality and quantity of the inclusive 3 courses from the A La Carte. Cheerful and friendly young staff too. Bathrooms tired and not all heating worked, but great value and very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank webbparty
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

We visit the Blue Bell Hotel at least twice a year with friends and family, it's situated in the town of Belford which is an excellent location for walks especially to St Cuthberts Cave.So much history in one little town is ready to be explored. Staff,rooms and food absolutely spot on and the locals are so friendly and welcoming too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 28, 2016

Easy to park. Dog friendly pub and very welcoming staff. We ate in the bar but there is also a restaurant. I did not see the restaurant but food and service in the bar suggested that the restaurant would not disappoint. The customers in the bar were really friendly and made us feel that we were regulars too. The lamb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed December 14, 2016

Stayed in a B & B in the village...relatives live in the village. Decided to treat myself one night (travelling solo) and was told yes, food is good. It was terrible. The cheesecake - I agree with another reviewer - the base was so thick if I tried to break it, cheesecake woulda gone flying across the room, probably landing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mjewitt
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review

hmm this is interesting, we have never, ever made lemon bailey cheesecake, nor honey crunch ice cream. strange. Nor do we even have a dessert chef - moreover 2 chefs who have been with us for over 5 years each.

Carrickfergus
Reviewed December 2, 2016 via mobile

Called in about 8:15 for 4 of us to eat. Had tried calling twice before we called in but no one answered the phone. It went on to answering machine. Now remembering this is an Hotel with a restaurant, a business. We were told they hadn't been busy today so they closed the kitchen early! I am flabbergasted!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KazzaCarrickfergus
Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

We thought we would stop overnight as we have friends in the village. The room was spacious and clean with all you need for a short stay. The bathroom was clean and tidy although the floor sloped a little but in a building that is probably several hundred years old that's not something you mind . There was a sign...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tynesider2011
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely but imperfect hotel :)

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
4.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
877 reviews
2.7 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
352 reviews
7.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
180 reviews
13.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Farmhouse Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Blue Bell Hotel

Address: Market Place, Belford NE70 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Price Range: $25 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Belford, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Blue Bell Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
Amble

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Bell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not one next to the ventilation pipe”
 of 5 bubbles PADDYMSCOTLAND, 5 days ago | Read review
“Avoid the rooms above the bars. The front door of the hotel was constantly slamming until closing time at nights.But OK after 11pm”
 of 5 bubbles , Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“outbuildings are disabled accesible”
 of 5 bubbles sparkyju, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
“Room 15 and Room 1 were the rooms we had this time both lovely 15 had very large bed and 1 a four poster.”
  • A lovely corner in room 15.
 of 5 bubbles VandaM210, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms large with very comfy beds”
 of 5 bubbles T6795TLmargaretm, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question