We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holly Lodge

Priceline$127*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/07/2017 06/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Holly Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holly Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 261: English reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

Quiet b&b near the centre of Alnwick. We stayed in downstairs room which was small but comfy. Breakfast ordered the night before, which we didn't mind and was freshly cooked as we had asked for. The only downside was the wet room shower. We would have preferred an enclosed shower or better still a bath. Quite conscious of not spraying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph A
London
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Good location, host George welcoming & helpful, didn't see much of Jacky. Stayed in ground floor disabled access room - good bed - but shower spray flow was limited due to poor waste drainage. - Notices on the wall not to alter settings or risk flooding. Good breakfast but required to choose items the previous night and early 10.00 check-out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FYILondon
george s, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this review

For the record there are NO issues with the shower room whatsoever! The reason a notice is in the shower is because we have extremely high water pressure - up to 8 bar of pressure when fully turned up - most households have around 1.5 bar of pressure. The shower drains away perfectly quickly as I have tested it myself...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

We visited holly lodge for the second time as the first time we stayed it was such a nice stay with welcoming owners Jackie and George, the breakfast was cooked to perfection literally how we had asked it to be. We will definitely be returning for a third time in months to come. Thank you very much again George and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jen r
Southampton
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Enjoyable stay here. Good choice of breakfast provided and room was comfortable and well equipped. Large car park means plenty of off street parking available. It would have been good to have access to lounge later as found it shut and locked by 9pm (especially as our room was fairly small) so leaving that open would be better plan. Otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBarbers
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

Lovely comfortable room. George and Jackie really looked after us providing so much information on the locality. Great breakfast and will definitely return at some time in the not far distant future..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 31, 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights (wish it had been more). Excellent position for going into the town and getting about Northumberland. The hosts were absolutely brilliant and really helpful. The breakfast was excellent and other staff delightful. We had the smallest room which was OK but lacked a bit of privacy as window on ground floor into courtyard area. Next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 898Annie
Reviewed August 23, 2016

This is a small exclusive B&B with all the trimmings The beds are very large and very comfortable The food is specially prepared to order which makes it very fresh and delicious. Yes, they do serve local kippers. Nothing is too much trouble for the proprietors . Being very close to the town centre it is ideal for visiting Alnwick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
Durham
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay at the Holly Lodge really don't understand the last negative review!! It is so clean and comfortable certainly not like Fawlty Towers. The owners could not have been more helpful having local information available. There is also a lovely decked area in the garden and comfortably lounge for the use of the guests, not often available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DurhamAlibali
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 20, 2016

We've just returned from our 6th stay at Holly Lodge and it keeps getting better. You will not find a more welcoming couple than George and Jackie who simply cannot do enough to make your stay special. You will be treated to the best breakfast in Northumberland before you can walk to the Alnwick Castle and Gardens, it is so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Having always wanted to sample Northumberland, after a few hours of research I chose Alnwick & Holly Lodge as a base for a 2 night stay as part of my Boyfriend's birthday present. Holly Lodge didn't disappoint. A modern B&B in the heart of Alnwick, with all Alnwick has to offer just a very short walk away. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouiseBanks
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
06/07/2017 06/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
992 reviews
7.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,185 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 66 in Alnwick
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#7 of 66 in Alnwick
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Acre House
West Acre House
#1 of 66 in Alnwick
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star Gold Award, Visit Britain Kellogg's Breakfast Award. Location: Situated up a very quiet cul-de-sac, The Avenue off Prudhoe Street next to Police Station, a three minute walk to centre, restaurants and Alnwick Garden and Castle. A very peaceful place for an undisturbed great night's sleep, perfect base for Alnwick and district. Bedrooms: Six en-suite travertine tiled shower wet rooms, 1 room has sunken bathroom and bath /shower. 1 room has been modified to include ground floor disabled facilities. Five of these rooms have super king sized double beds, which can be split into comfortable single beds. Three rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a child. All rooms have flat screen TV with freeview package, Sky TV and free Wi Fi. Tea /coffee making, hairdryer and ironing facility. Car Park: Large secure car park for up to 10 cars, C.C.T.V protected, in grounds. Lounge: Guest lounge with 42" flat screen TV with freeSAT and Sky package. Breakfast Room: Individual tables in modern style breakfast room. Reception: Private secure guest entrance with Reception facilities, and fridge with complimentary bottled chilled mineral water and ice making machine. Drying Room: Drying room available along with bike storage room. Decking Area: Private rear decking area and gardens with seats and two fish ponds with waterfall feature available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holly Lodge

Address: Holly Lodge The Avenue, Alnwick NE66 1UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Price Range: $113 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holly Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Lodge Alnwick, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holly Lodge staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Reading, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holly Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try upper floor.”
Bright Fame, 2 days ago | Read review
“Room 1 suitable for disabled people. Rooms 4 and 5 very spacious.”
P1651JMchristiner, 6 days ago | Read review
“Upstairs room”
cjc46tm, 1 week ago | Read review
“Book upstairs if you want privacy”
PCA50, Nov 17, 2016 | Read review
“Get an upstairs room if possible.”
898Annie, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Priceline
$127* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates