We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

615 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 608: English reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was my mother was recommended stopping here for lunch on the long drive from Scotland to home. We order a smoked salmon salad for me and a parma ham salad for my wife. The capers on my salad we chewy and tasted old. But the real vileness was the green/brown parma ham that was clearly off. When I tried... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Slightly different to the usual holiday inn. The interior is quite sumptuous and luxurious. The rooms are spacious and well presented with everything you could want . The swimming pool is wonderful but can be quite popular. The food is lovely , truly lovely, some of the nicest meals I have eaten beautifully prepared. It's a great hotel, I would... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Thedawntreader
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, good food and great staff. Just a little noisy at the front at night. Rooms are roomy and clean. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. There are some roadworks going on at the moment but it doesn't affect access or egress

Helpful?
1 Thank AV60EZK
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel well in advance and paid £99 for B&B in an Executive Suite for one night and used as a stopping off point on journey from Scotland to Buckinghamshire. Check in was very smooth, largest hotel room I have ever stayed in, tastefully decorated with complimentary water, orange juice and kit-kat, also a well stocked fridge, crisps,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa H
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I arrived after having driven for almost 5 hours, through heavy traffic, desperately hungry & thirsty! I was given a wonderfully warm welcome and a very quick & efficient check in. I stayed in an Executive room which was generously sized, modern & perfectly clean with plenty of toiletries, drinks and even a much needed, complimentary Kit-Kat! I ordered a... More 

Helpful?
Thank belldoodles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for one week and every day i enjoyed a different great meal. As i was there for business only i had no chance to get to know the late night hours at the bar, but it seemed like there is quite a lot going on also.... i would recommend it (at least as i didnt have to pay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this hotel on 8th and 9th July to attend a wedding in the area. Apart from the dreadful roadworks on the A1 the whole experience was a fantastic one. Check in was fast and painless with very friendly and helpful receptionists. Our room on the first floor was very spacious and had everything we could have wanted, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank BevnPhil
ruthin
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros huge car park and a bit further from the road than some of the other motels so a bit quieter . A health complex and swimming pool on site which you can use. Reasonable size rooms , good bed hard enough for me but too hard for my husband . Phones in room , good bath and shower although... More 

Helpful?
Thank daffyhedgehog
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a tour with Newmarket staying for 3 nights. When we were told our room it was on the ground floor which was good. Unfortunately the 'double bed' seemed to be a 3/4 bed. We were both sleeping right on the edge of the bed it was so small. When we arrived for our evening meal no matter... More 

Helpful?
Thank chaddy1980
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Dear chaddy1980, Thank you for leaving a candid review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is with utter regret to know that your experience was not as pleasant as it should have been. I am sorry for not being able to provide a good dining experience. I also apologize for the disappointments you had with the bed and regret the... More 

Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's the little things that count. The tap in the sink in my room was very loose to almost falling into the sink. The breakfast team cannot do poached eggs on toast. They will.poach the ages but you have to make the toast with the challenge of getting them both ready and hot at the same time, seemingly chef can't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham_Crieff
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Dear Graham_Crieff, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during breakfast. Let us assure you that we want nothing more than to ensure your satisfaction from the time you arrive, up until you leave our property. So we truly appreciate that you have shared... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (60)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.1 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#2 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Price Range: $68 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay