We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Smugglers with Boathouse Rooms

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Smugglers with Boathouse Rooms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Wife and I had a lovely few days at Robin Hoods Bay staying in the appartment above the Smugglers Restaurant. Very clean, beautifully and comfortably furnished, well equipped and uber convenient. You couldn't ask for more. Add to that an excellent meal in the restaurant itself at a very reasonable price and you have one of the best places... More 

Helpful?
Thank peterrf
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the fantastic self catered apartment above the Smugglers restaurant. We couldn't have asked for a better location in the heart of Robin Hood's Bay. It was clean and staff were efficient and welcoming. We would highly recommend a meal in the restaurant too. Great food in a cosy, candle lit atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank JonnyAins32
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are very old and because of that look very sleazy. Not to mention that they were all painted red like a ********. Our room was a bit dirty, especially the bathroom. The service is impatient and the breakfast was just OK, but by far the smallest we had in Britain. It all feels like they are doing their... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank maayanmorag
South Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the last night after completing our coast to coast walk. I have to say that it was tainted by very unwelcoming service from the staff at both the Smuggles restaurant and the boathouse rooms (it is the same place - restaurant downstairs, rooms upstairs). We arrived at the hotel for dinner at 18h20 - 20 minutes delayed for... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank AmsterdamTulips44
Congleton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The decor was very shabby, dust and cobwebs everywhere. There was no shower gel in the dispenser and the shower cubicle was black with mould. While we appreciate that the building is very old and like the quirkiness of some aspects of the room, we found that the room felt very damp and uncomfortable. We tried to air the bed... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Dianne G
smugglesrrhb, Owner at Smugglers with Boathouse Rooms, responded to this review

Am struggling with this review some what?? Today is 5th August this guest states they stayed in August yet I know they didn't. I know each of the guests that have stayed over three of those days the others have been self catering so no breakfasts served? W I also need to mention there are no heaters in the rooms... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed 1 night, part way through our Cleveland Way walk. We had a superb seafood pasta in the Smugglers Bistro,in fact the best I have ever eaten, and the chocolate brownies you gave us for our walk, were delicious, thanks Chef. They also served us a lovely breakfast in the morning, with a very friendly service.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
smugglesrrhb, Owner at Smugglers with Boathouse Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments I will pass them on. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We ate at the restaurant twice and the food was delicious, we were also treated to prosecco when they found out it was our anniversary. The room was very clean and we can't wait to return to see what it's like after the forthcoming refurbishment.

Helpful?
Thank Angela J
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

This was a gem of a spot for an overnight stay with friends. Excellent seafood menu with locally caught produce. The attic room, although fairly small was nicely decorated and very clean. Atmospheric four hundred year old building at the end of steep pedestrian lane down to the old harbour at robin hoods bay. Go for the enormous full English... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geraldine L
smugglesrrhb, Owner at Smugglers with Boathouse Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you your comments are kind More 

stafford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a week but was very dissappointed with the appartment. Its very tired looking and needs some money and TLC spending on it. Its over a Bistro, which isnt too bad. But every other morning the Binmen wake you up at 7am. Then the rooms above the app't , the floor boards creek terrible. Silly things like dirty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank refueller
smugglesrrhb, Owner at Smugglers with Boathouse Rooms, responded to this review

Sorry you say you didn't enjoy your stay. You booked through gorgeous cottages who have redesigned the Apartment in Farrel and Ball decor. All newly painted.It also has brand new carpets and bed etc?? As you told us , when we let you in it was not your choice of colour. We can't please everyone. Pots and pans are brand... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

I have one good thing to say about this place - the young waitress (who I believe was called Mary) was friendly, polite and helpful at all times. But everything else was unpleasant. The welcome was poor, the room was tiny and unclean, the bathroom was a disgrace, the breakfast was inedible and the room furnishings poor quality and in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PixW
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.0 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rounton House
Rounton House
#19 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Smugglers with Boathouse Rooms is situated in the old village approx 20yds from the beach. Smugglers is a very popular Bistro serving homemade fresh top quality foods in a rustic candle lit environment. All our meats are supplied by award-winning local butcher "Radfords." We offer a range of fine wines and bottled beers. It caters for our guests of the Boathouse rooms and the public. We also are a wedding reception venue for Bay Weddings and breakfast venue for the Boathouse B&B guests. Some of the Boathouse Rooms have sea views, all of the are not overlooked. All rooms are en-suite, heated and have TVs, hair dryers, tea, coffee & biscuits are also provided. As the building is approx 400 yrs old, the rooms are quite cosy, if you want to be amongst the fishing boats and atmosphere of the old village then we are here for you. Our breakfasts are famous and we try our best to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We also have an apartment in Boathouse which can be self catering or with breakfast. Don't forget to pre-book a table at Smugglers on your arrival to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smugglers with Boathouse Rooms

Address: The Dock, Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park YO22 4SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range: $86 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Smugglers With Boathouse Rooms Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing