We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent location for the town and river. Nice welcoming staff and lovely cosy decor to bar area. Our room was nice with beams and a lovely sleigh bed. The restaurant was set out beautifully but the evening meal was a bit disappointing. Breakfast though was excellent. All the staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you, house keeping... More 

Helpful?
Thank janet b
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked as a short break, could not have been better, fantastic friendly hotel,full of old charm, immaculately clean and up to date room and on suite, we made great use of the pool and spa facilities during our stay which were all included in the price and the majority of the time it was like having a personal pool to... More 

Helpful?
Thank tony p
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good location, good parking, rooms offer what you need without going overboard on style. Gym and pool good too, also Wifi. Not so keen on the food - cook needs to understand how to chose quality ingredients, enhance them judicious seasonings, and not ruin them in the cooking process. But there are excellent eateries nearby - 'Carriages' 2 minutes walk... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights with family. Room Spacious and well situated near rear of hotel. Quiet and warm. Towels changed daily. Very large and comfortable bed. Meals Breakfast was cooked to order and local ingredients were delicious. Good range of choice. Coffee was excellent. Ate in the hotel first evening we arrived. Good selection and well cooked. Reasonably priced too.... More 

Helpful?
Thank UkMindy
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booking was for 12pm - seated at 12.25pm. Table: Nicely laid out, including crackers and complimentary glasses of some fizzy alcoholic yellow liquid. Starters: Salmon Roulade: Tasted fine, presentation poor - had the appearance of ‘chopped-off fingers’. Goats cheese and beetroot tart: Luke warm (was it meant to be served hot or cold - no one could tell), way too... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Arthur M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here end of January for my partners birthday, we booked a large double room which was fantastic and as stated LARGE very pleased this soon change when we realised the bed was two singles pushed together so as you can imagine there was a gap in the middle of the bed. did not expect to pay for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank csdynamics
Laughton
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was recommended to this hotel, really glad of the referral. Arrived to a friendly welcome, in a warm and hospital environment. Room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The bar, lounge and restaurant have beautiful log burners churning out heat and a delightful country feel. Hotels in this part of the world are notoriously expensive and often without parking.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LaughtonFamily
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The approach and building are impressive. I stayed in a single room which perhaps did not have the attention to detail of double rooms. The shower in my en-suite did not work and I had to have a bath which was rather inconvenient. It was too late to ask for repair. The room was comfortable and I had a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank SMB2821
Jonathan S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologise for the inconvenience regarding the shower and I thank you for bringing it to my attention. I will ensure that maintenance look into this issue as soon as possible. I am pleased that you had a good night sleep. Please do return and see us all again soon. Best wishes,... More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got this deal through booking.com and paid £54 for one nights bed and breakfast. For that price the hotel was superb however I'm not sure we would have been as pleased had we paid the full price. The room was a decent size as was the bathroom. The bathroom was slightly dated and the pressure of the water was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bubblybabe22
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay away a lot so it was a pleasure to find this hotel. Was very looked after and staff all very friendly and helpful. Perhaps my room wasnt the most up to date in decor and lay out the best was very comfortable and I had a good night sleep. The spa/gym facilities where all included with the hotel... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ida D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 stars 3,689 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 33 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 stars 1,806 reviews
3.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 33 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#17 of 33 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay