We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Board Inn

Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/14/21
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (36)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 08/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Travelers' Choice
We are a traditional, family run pub located in Hawes in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. We offer a relaxed service that will make you feel like part of the family while you unwind and explore the local area. Don't worry, we understand that dogs are part of many families too. Our comfortable accommodation is designed to suit everyone's needs. You don't need to take our word for it; there are pictures of all rooms on this site. While you're with us it's worth taking the time to enjoy one of our Cask Marque ales or a meal, freshly prepared from the best ingredients Wensleydale has to offer.
Read more


Full view
80Somewhat walkable
Grade: 80 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 miles
0Attractionswithin 0 miles
Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD England
Getting there
Durham Tees Valley Airport35 miSee all flights
Leeds-Bradford Airport38 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
327Reviews4Q+A42Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 158
  • 103
  • 35
  • 15
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Erasedcitizen wrote a review Aug 2021
Lowestoft, United Kingdom55 contributions13 helpful votes
The two young ladies behind the bar were welcoming and they served me the best pint of Timothy Taylor Landlord I’ve ever had. A nice old-fashioned feeling pub with a bit of character. Thankfully we still have a few days of holiday left, so unlike one of the most recent obnoxious reviews; we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Robinia56 wrote a review Aug 2021
Derby, United Kingdom190 contributions57 helpful votes
We were really looking forward to our first visit to Hawes and trying local beers. Whilst being drinking for a few years and my presentation it reflective of CAMRA and I like a beer flat no head no froth. Bit like how people like steak, well done to rare, and those who are vegetarians. I went in to The Board Inn and was greeted by a very nice an engaging lady behind the bar, I asked for a pint of flat Landlord, whilst she was surprised served it as I confirmed that was my preference. At that point and arrogant person sitting said fairly loudly ‘she’s the only one who will serve it like that’. I explained personal choice as above. I gathered he was the landlord, and having read previous posts, gather its not the first time he was rude, arrogant. I went for a second pint to be told by the lady he had instructed her to not serve me. First time I have ever been refused to be served in a pub. I think our landlord Colin is past he sell by date, understanding Service - Are you selling me what you sell or what I want to buy! His name is Colin, and for football fans they know a ‘Colin’. Interesting he couldn’t serve tomato juice as they hadn’t got any!! I’m not going to do an Arnold Schwarzenegger "I'll be back" because I wont be back
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Room Tip: my review is based on the Pub
See more room tips
Response from Ann Taylor, Owner at The Board Inn
Responded Aug 12, 2021
I see you’ve carried out your threat to put a bad review on Trip Advisor so I’m glad to have the chance to reply. You say you were looking forward to trying local beers - well why on earth wouldn’t you want to try them at their best? Our Timothy Taylor Landlord is, according to many, the best pint for miles. Even our Timothy Taylor Brewery rep has heard this from other pubs he’s visited! We put a lot of effort into keeping our beers correctly which is why we have held the cask mark for the past six years and recently achieved 100% when the Cask Mark Inspector called to re-assess us a few weeks ago. We are rightly very proud of the quality of our beers, just think what it would look like to other customers seeing you there with a sub-standard pint? Colin, who is not the Landlord, but is partly responsible for our excellent ales along with Ann the Landlady, (we don’t appreciate your sexist attitude). He did not refuse to serve you – he refused to serve a bad pint! A very different matter. No, we didn’t have any tomato juice because we haven’t been asked for it for about 20 years. You’re obviously past your ‘sell by date’ if you aren’t open to trying something different. I bet you were brought upon Watney’s Red Barrel. I am glad to hear you’re never coming back as you obviously have no appreciation of quality, and we still wouldn’t serve you flat beer!
Read more
Adele B wrote a review Aug 2021
Whitby, United Kingdom9 contributions8 helpful votes
We have stayed here before & yet again everything was fantastic. So friendly & helpful. Very clean rooms...Covid safe Everything you would need for a short stay. Breakfast was delicious. Local produce & cooked perfectly. Food in the bar is very tasty & plentiful. Good choice as-well. Thank you again for a memorable stay. See you soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Jennifer H wrote a review Aug 2021
14 contributions4 helpful votes
Popped in for quick bite to eat while visiting Hawes Service was really good, everyone super friendly Ordered at the bar, prices were reasonable Really didn’t wait long at all Food was awesome Hubby had steak pie and chips, I had farmers platter Will definitely go back next time we visit
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
wayne b wrote a review Aug 2021
hull8 contributions11 helpful votes
Arrived for a well earned short break and could not fault anything about the Board Inn. Everyone was so friendly and all the current rules regarding Covid were explained when we arrived. The room was spotless with enough of everything for our stay. Breakfast was delicious with a very good choice for all tastes. Will definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Gods own county.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYorkshire Dales National ParkHawes
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Board Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Board Inn?
Nearby attractions include Dales Countryside Museum (0.3 miles), Hawes Ropemakers (0.3 miles), and The Mulberry Bush (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Board Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at The Board Inn?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Board Inn?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Board Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The White Hart Inn, Hawes, Caffe Curva, and The Chippie.
Is The Board Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the center of Hawes.
Are there any historical sites close to The Board Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St Ostwalds Church (4.9 miles).