We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Priceline$35*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The St. James Hotel Grimsby
See the most recent reviews
Showing 398: English reviews
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 28, 2015

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and after reading the other reviews I did not know what to expect. I arrived early and was given a room, which was great. The room I agree was tired however the bed was so comfortable I had a great nights sleep although the room was hot. The room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GedA123
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the St James hotel. I am pleased with your review, it is quite positive which all my team are pleased with. Your comments regarding the staff have been taken on board and our customer service training will be refreshed. We hope you will consider us again should you...

bedfordshire,UK
Reviewed August 25, 2015

Dear, oh, dear . . . . how can one possibly recommend this tired old hotel with it's faded, terrible decor? Our bedroom had one of the worst mattresses we've ever experienced, cigarette burns on the bedside table, a dripping tap, rattling bathroom fan, water-ingress stains on the wallpaper above the exotic car-park view window, and smelled of stale tobacco...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pete-fran
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. In the first instance, please accept my apologies for any disappointment you may have suffered during your stay at the St James. Secondly, thank you for your positive comments. There is no denying that the hotel requires upgrading in many areas,...

Aberdeen
Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

My step dad, brother and me stayed here for the British superbikes. Excellent location but could do with a bit of an upgrade. It's clean and the staff are friendly so that makes up for the well used interior. Never sampled the food but seen some that a guy had at the next table and it looked really nice. Perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iain U
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. All reviews are welcomed and gratefully received. On this occasion I am delighted to note you saw fit to reward us with a positive review. On behalf of all my team - Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back...

Reviewed August 17, 2015

For money its so so, not eager to please but passably clean apart from no toilet brush. If you want food don't go there. The normally below average food can fall below edible especially breakfast - deeply annoying if you are at work all day at sea and relying on a decent breakfast. Immensely disappointing and confusing why normal management...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rupert M
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We are very grateful for all reviews and will always address any issues that arise from them where possible and reasonable. Generally the hotel and its team are consistent in their approach and service standards and very rarely fall short of them....

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

Visited this hotel recently for 2 nights and have got to say I had no complaints. My wife, 5 yr old daughter and I wanted to go to Cleethorpes for a couple of days but couldn't find anywhere available that was dog friendly. Although, this was a little further out of Cleethorpes than we would of preferred, it was pet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robbo1910
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the St James hotel. I am delighted you, your family and pooch all enjoyed your stay. We are all very aware that the hotel requires attention in areas but I am very pleased you saw past these issues and saw the many positives...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 6, 2015

Flippin 'eck! Unfortunately, grim is the most fitting word to describe this hotel. It wasn't horrific, as some reviews described. We booked in desperation, as we were travelling up from Birmingham to see 'The Karen and Kevin Show' (which was amazing beyond belief!!) It was reasonably priced and we weren't pushing the boat out for a romantic break or anything....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouiseLevell
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. All reviews are welcomed, both positive and negative and where possible and reasonable, action is taken to rectify any issues identified. I am delighted you enjoyed your evening's entertainment. The auditorium at Grimsby does put on some fantastic events. I am however a little...

Reviewed August 4, 2015

We was rather disappointed with this hotel. It is very very dated, and for the price we paid we would expect more. We had a very old tired room, not sure where they keep the nice rooms from the pictures they advertise. Our bed was just a double which was lumpy and had a dip so we would both end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rgoddard88
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the St James hotel in Grimsby. In the first instance I would like to offer my apologies on what has obviously been a disappointing stay for you and your family. Our bed stock is currently under review and replacement beds and mattresses are...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 29, 2015

After reading the reviews after booking we were a little apprehensive and was dreading what was to come. As with some negative reviews... take with a pinch of salt! The hotel was nothing like! We stayed in a refurbished room and it was nicer and more comfortable than the travel lodges we often stay in! We stayed two nights and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NifNif86
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the St James, all reviews are gratefully received regardless of wether or not they or negative or positive. I am delighted to note that in this instance it is more than positive - it is very positive! Thank you! We have worked very...

Reviewed July 28, 2015 via mobile

Dated decor, with an atmosphere of a workingman's hostel. The 2 gentlemen drinking special brew in the lift seemed happy enough. I would avoid if possible as plenty of other accommodation at a reasonable price available in local area. Not recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smiler888
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review the St James hotel in Grimsby. All reviews are welcomed, both positive and negative. Where possible and reasonable - action is taken to rectify and improve any issues that are noted. I was very disappointed to read your review about the St James hotel. I agree some areas of the...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 26, 2015

Hotel rooms could do with updating. Rooms clean and comfortable and very convenient for town centre. Staff were very obliging. Our room on first night was overlooking St. James Square and over a local bar with live music.. Bar closed about 11.30 so not a huge issue but noise outside room disturbed us until 4.30 a.m. Asked the next morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue Q
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the St James hotel. In the main your review is very positive which I am delighted about so I hope the few negative aspects of your stay (external noise & dated rooms) did not inconvenience you too much. We are working very hard...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
0.1 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Grimsby Hotel
0.6 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
184 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beeches Hotel
The Beeches Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grimsby
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Price Range: $46 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The St. James Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel
St James Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The St. James Hotel Grimsby staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The St. James Hotel Grimsby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Very close to shopping which is very good so take your credit card”
billscothern, 6 days ago | Read review
“Check you room window, if its raining, lots of guttering problems.”
silver90, Jan 22, 2017 | Read review
“Breakfast buffet well stocked eat as much as you like”
738eddiem, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
“We had rooms 202 and 203 on the second floor and had a great of the church”
philandkim2017, Jan 3, 2017 | Read review
“Don't!!! Just don't stay here - ever!!!”
GSquared2013, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Priceline
$35* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$39
Travelocity$38
Expedia.com$38
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates