We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 344: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Hotel is overall very good, presently being updated. Room was very clean, bed was very comfortable and while it was situated at the front of the hotel was reasonably quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful and in particular the young dark haired lady on reception who most kindly printed our return plane tickets. The Hotel is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat M
Newbold Verdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

the dinning room has been refurbed since we last stayed , it is very very nice , Rooms nice and clean with good decor. Two things about the breakfast , first i have never had such fresh bread in a chain hotel , it was lovely , marmalade sandwiches , not the usual toast to cover up the hardness. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon b
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we are very grateful. I'm delighted you enjoyed your marmalade sandwiches! I'm very pleased that you felt we deserved a 5* review, on behalf of all the team, thank you. Craig Healey General Manager More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for three nights, in Grimsby to visit friends. The hotel is in a great location, close to the centre of Grimsby, so not far to the shops and pubs/ restaurants. Parking is free, another bonus. Our room was spacious and clean, no complaints there. We didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the food but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank anniepanni
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you so much for such a positive review, we are very grateful! I am delighted you felt we offered such good value for money. Warm regards, Craig Healey General Manager More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my partner chose to stay at the st james hotel as we were visiting friends for a christening and the price of the room was far cheaper than any other hotels in the area. Upon arrival we had a warm and lovley welcome we actually arrived at 13:00 an hour before check in time but this wasnt a... More 

Helpful?
Thank kee_bee1994
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, What a fabulous review, on behalf of all the team at the hotel - thank you! The team have worked very hard recently improving our food presentation and it's great to read that what they have implemented is working and being noticed. Kindest regards, Craig Healey General Manager More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here a few times now while visiting my partner. The hotel is situated in the city centre, at the end of a pedestrian street and just behind St. James church, now called Grimsby Minster. I've always stayed on a Friday night and never had problems with noise. I had to cancel one booking on the day due to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Whittles_Hull
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback which i'm delighted to note is very positive. Please accept my sincere thanks for choosing the St James hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Warmest regards, Craig Healey General Manager More 

Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 2nd visit, we stayed for 3 nights. I had asked for a minster view room and this was allocated to us. You can hear people outside at night so this may be a problem for light sleepers, but it did not affect either of us. And the view is much better than looking out onto the carpark.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lesleyy
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your great feedback, it is very much appreciated and i'm delighted to note that you will be staying again. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Grimsby. Warm regards, Craig Healey General Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed a few year back and the place was poor, looked at the pictures and a few of the reviews and decided to give it a go. The staff were very helpful and can't fault that. The front of desk areas give you the feeling it's not a bad place? Booked in and decide not to use the lift and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BMorriss
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, all reviews are welcomed both positive and negative and help us to improve our service and customer experience. Your feedback is very helpful and allows us to focus our efforts on both good and bad aspects of your stay. Thank you for this and we look forward to... More 

Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked four rooms for a group of us going to a concert at yardbirds, spot on location, taxi rank just round the corner next to wetherspoons, rooms are dated but so what, they were clean and have everything you need, good value for money stay and will book again the next time were doing yardbirds. p.s. the late bar is... More 

Helpful?
Thank davestiger955i
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay and I'm delighted to note that you were happy with the hotel and its facilities and felt that you had received value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kindest regards, Craig Healey General Manager More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at The St James on several occasions now and are still getting good service. Staff are friendly, we always get a good welcome and nothing is too much trouble. A lot of the rooms have had an upgrade and are looking very smart now. Looking forward to returning in just over two weeks time.

Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your lovely review for which myself and the team are very grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back very shortly. Kindest regards, Craig Healey General Manager More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms where nothing like how photo appears, no disabled amenities apart from disabled bays for cars. Very noisy hotel and see staff that where rude to guests behind there backs eg : calling somebody a w*****r with an hand gesture. I also had room service during the night which was appalling I only had a sandwich and chips, where burnt... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sandra22h
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay. All reviews are welcomed both positive and negative and allow us to identify and improve any shortfall in standards. A full investigation took place with regards to the comments noted and action where necessary was taken to improve and rectify the issues stated. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Grimsby hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
1.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Grimsby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
0.5 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#6 of 9 in Grimsby
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Price Range: $46 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The St. James Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel
St James Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay