We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Yarborough Hotel

Traveler (38)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (1)

About

#1 of 10 hotels in Grimsby
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
This Wetherspoon hotel was purpose-built in the mid 19th century to serve Grimsby's first railway. The hotel took its name from the earl of Yarborough, who was a director of the railway company and lived at nearby Brocklesby. The Yarborough was later owned by another railway company and, eventually, by the LNER. After the Second World War, the British Transport Commission owned it. In 1951, it was bought by a brewery from Hull. In 1960, it was nearly demolished. The hotel, which is a symbol of the town's transition from an 18th-century fishing village into a great Victorian port, is now a listed building. It closed down as a hotel post war but remained a pub and in 1997 it opened as a wWtherspoon pub and restaurant. Most recently in November 2016 Wetherspoon decided to open the hotel again and it has had a major refurbishment into a 36 bedroom hotel. Some of the old features remain including the amazing ballroom which now houses the ladies toilets for the restaurant and bar. Grimsby is known for its lively community, and the town accommodates many bars and night clubs. As The Yarborough Hotel is situated in the town centre, it is occasionally possible to hear music in the hotel from these venues (particularly on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday nights). If you prefer a quieter room, please book with the hotel directly, over the telephone, and we will do our best to accommodate your request.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business

Location

Full view
92Great for walkers
Grade: 92 out of 100
39Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
8Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
325Reviews
62Photos
3Q+A
20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 226
  • 76
  • 13
  • 2
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I loved my one night here. The room was so fresh, lots of natural light. The shower was lush! I stayed for one night with my 4 year old. We loved it. Really was pleasantly surprised. The room had a nice tv/sofa lounge area, fresh white bedding on a queen sized bed. Price was
Read more
Response from TheYarborough, Manager at The Yarborough Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very happy to hear you and your son had an enjoyable stay. We are very proud of our rooms so thank you for the lovely comments. I will also make sure your comments about the ladies on reception are passed on. Its nice to be nice! We hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future. Regards Emma Pub Manager
Read more
Stayed here one night. Bed excellent but wash hand basin too small to fill kettle. Also there were insufficient surfaces to put things like towel and washbag. Wifi seemed flaky. Efficient check-in/out
Read more
Response from TheYarborough, Manager at The Yarborough Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Feedback is very important to us and please be assured all your comments will be taken on board to make improvements for the future. Kind Regards Pearl
Read more
Decent hotel located right next to the station in Grimsby. It's modern and comfortable, located in an old hotel building that has been tastefully restored. The room that I had was larger than your average hotel room and tastefully decorated. Food and beer are just a short
Read more
Response from TheYarborough, Team Leader at The Yarborough Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good evening, thank you for taking the time to leave a kind review. It is lovely to hear you had a comfortable stay and found our rooms tastefully decorated, this is exactly what we like to hear. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future. Kind regards Ellis
Read more
OMG where to begin. A hotel in a town centre right above a nightclub (oh and another one 30 ft over the road). 4/4 time bass until 2 in the morning, a nice noisy taxi rank just outside, drunken revellers shouting and hooting till 4:45 (but hey, at least I was awake for the
Read more
Response from TheYarborough, Manager at The Yarborough Hotel
Responded Apr 8, 2019
Good Evening Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Yarborough Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. Due to our location in the town centre at weekends we do suffer some noise pollution from the neighbouring bars. We appreciate a good nights sleep is very important to our guests and we do try to make guests as aware about the noise as we possibly can on our website and all third party booking sites and do request that guests call us directly to see if we can allocate them a quiet room. Customer feedback is very important to us so thank you again for your comments, please accept our sincere apologies and please don't hesitate to contact us if you would like to discuss your stay further.
Read more
We use this hotel everytime we come and see our daughter and now grandson and never disappoints. The rooms and comfortable with added touches of luxury. Not only tea and coffee but bottles of 2 types of water, hot chocolate as well as 2 flavours of biscuits. The beds are so
Read more
Response from TheYarborough, General Manager at The Yarborough Hotel
Responded Mar 24, 2019
Hi, Karen, Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are pleased that you choose us every time you come and visit your daughter and grandson. We look forward to seeing you again next time. Have a great day. Kind regards, Ben - duty manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$50 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGrimsby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing