We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2016

We went here for tea after a family funeral. Sadly despite being assured there would be sandwiches, cake, biscuits as well as tea and coffee. Sadly although the welcome was nice there were no sandwiches. I did not realize until I spoke to various guests after the event they had only been offered various cakes or biscuits. An expensive and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica S
Halfmoonhotel, Manager at Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

This client sent e mail as follows: "Having spoken to some of the other guest I was somewhat surprised to find that no sandwiches were supplied. When I booked I was told their would be sandwiches, cake and biscuits for the £ 5 per head. I would be grateful if you could let me know what happened. I replied I...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 9, 2016

We had an evening meal here last weekend on a Sunday evening. We had never been here before & were made to feel very welcome. Unfortunately, the vegetables were very overcooked & I couldn't actually eat them & for the price of the meal, this was not good. I was also very disappointed with the choice of 'wine by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenis P
Halfmoonhotel, Front Office Manager at Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

We were aware of the vegetable problem that evening and it has been resolved. We cannot understand the issue with the house wine. We offer a Merlot, a Chardonnay, A Pinot Grigio and a rose by the glass.

Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

The price of the room suddenly increased by £25 on paying at departure. Room was spacious and comfortable but not worth the increased price, and breakfast took an hour to arrive after ordering and was not fully cooked. Poor service in general.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clare A
Halfmoonhotel, Owner at Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

There were no hidden charge. Guest booked double room for single occupancy @ £ 65.00, then telephoned to change booking for two people. The rate was changed accordingly to £ 90.00 which is the rate in all our literature and website for a double room.

Brandon, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 8, 2016

My wife and I,along with our small dog stopped here for two nights,and can only congratulate those that run it. We explored the area and sampled the food,met some of the local people and generally had a nice time. In my opinion if your looking for accommodation in this area,do make a reservation. I don't think your be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank derekgregory1961
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Just got home from a really nice overnight stay at The Half Moon Hotel. It looks rather dated from the outside but it's so full of character inside. It's like a labyrinth inside. So many rooms a large bar area and lovely restaurant. We had a double room which had plenty of space,tea and coffee in room a nice size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2016

We went in for a meal, all of us enjoyed it so much. The food was lovely, chips need to cook slightly more but overall it was so nice. This hotel was very clean, the services was very quick. It was very quiet in this room only few people was there. A good value for me for a simple bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacquiday
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2016

We called in on our way home to Melton Mowbray (we had been to Sutton on Sea for the day) and everywhere was shut except for Jills Tea Room. We ordered tea for two and a piece of carrot cake each. Tea and cake and service were fine and the setting was lovely but the bill was £14.45!!! Scandalous price,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnhanson27
Reviewed August 27, 2016

We went to this resteraunt after paying our final farewell to a friend. 15 of us sat down at 13.00 for a pre booked lunch.The the first meal came to the table over an hour after the orders were placed and subsequent orders were brought to the table in ones and two's until the final guest received his meal at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David W
uk
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here last week. Everyone very friendly. Room was pleasantly furnished and clean. The food was lovely. We had hunters chicken and we were very impressed with the size and quality of the meal. Beer prices were quite reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyg9053
belton,tx
Reviewed June 26, 2016

Spent 4 nights here visiting family.Initially the room was pleasant but the bathroom would reek of cigarette smoke on occasion and no explanation as to why .Breakfast was hit and miss - one morning no brown toast,one morning eggs were hard, no juice and had to ask for more coffee to be made. Bar staff was helpful especially on last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berdiep
Halfmoonhotel, Owner at Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

I apologise for the problems you experienced. So that I can investigate the cigarette smoke smell, particularly as all our rooms are non smoking, I need to know the room number you occupied. Please call me so that I can properly deal wiith the issues you have raised. Bob

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
0.1 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alford
41 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
317 reviews
12.0 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kenwick Park Hotel
12.6 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
7.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#15 of 26 in Skegness
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 25-28 West Street, Alford LN13 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Alford
Price Range: $110 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Hotel And Restaurant Alford, Lincolnshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms seemed ok ours was No 6.”
 of 5 bubbles mandyh2015, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay at the hotel, just went for meal”
 of 5 bubbles ColRit, Mar 18, 2015 | Read review
“We were in room 4 which overlooked the main road and the traffic started at 5.30am with lorries tractors etc, so ask for a room at the back if you are not an early riser”
 of 5 bubbles Paulcambs, Oct 31, 2014 | Read review
“Ask for the best”
 of 5 bubbles Evo196, Aug 16, 2014 | Read review
“I always pay a little extra for a doulble room with single ocupancy”
 of 5 bubbles CosbyPaul, Jun 30, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay