We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill Hotel

Save
Share
10 Market Place, Alford LN13 9EB England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$75
$69
View deal
SAVE $6
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$75
$69
View deal
SAVE $6
Hotels.com$69
Priceline$69
Trip.com$75
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (19)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 05/18/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Windmill Hotel
Updated 05/18/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Alford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel is an 18th-century coaching house located in the historic market town of Alford, Lincolnshire, England. If you are planning a trip to the Lincolnshire coast, whether it be a one night stop over to a full week, the Windmill will endeavour to accommodate your needs. All of our rooms are en-suite and offer value for money. We have a well stocked bar offering a wide range of beers, wines and spirits. In addition our Indian restaurant offers top quality authentic cuisine. Please beware at present we do not accept pets, although this will be reviewed once the COVID-19 pandemic is over. You will always find a warm and pleasant atmosphere awaiting you from the staff at the Windmill Hotel. Please be aware that our car park, whilst being free to use, is covered by ANPR cameras, so all guests using this facility will need to register their vehicle in reception.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Darts
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
86Reviews0Q+A18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 30
  • 20
  • 11
  • 10
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tina l wrote a review Sep 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom36 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed here with husband 7th (sunday) September. Room was unclean , toilet was dirty husband had to clean with toilet brush !! We looked elsewhere if we had not been going to tattersall lakes the following day we would have gone home ! Outdated and unclean !! We stayed here as it was a present with buyagift.com will not return or reccomend.... Will say the restaurant inconjunction with the hotel was excellent and the lady who served us was lovely!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Hewson, Owner at The Windmill Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2020
These guests stayed for £30.00 per night on an activity voucher. The room had been thoroughly cleaned that day, including the bathroom and toilet. We always take photos before guests arrive, so their claims can be refuted. However, had they mentioned the issues they claim, whilst staying with us, we would have investigated them. Because of this review we will not be accepting voucher stays anymore. All in all we were pleased when they left.
Read more
AlDC4 wrote a review Aug 2020
Wellingborough, United Kingdom52 contributions11 helpful votes
We picked this hotel as we wanted somewhere close to but not at the coast. This is just 8 miles from Mablethorpe. The hotel is a listed building and has no lift for that reason; if you're OK with stairs its not a problem. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel has an Indian Restaurant attached to it; the food was excellent and very good value for money. We did not notice any "smell of curry" as some other reviews have mentioned. The public car park outside was not busy or noisy. The hotel has it's own car park (monitored using ANPR). If you don't want to eat at the hotel there are other pubs within walking distance and a very nice fish and chip shop on the other side of the car park. A special mention should go to the staff who have coped valiantly with the requirements of Covid19 and who were very chatty and were always willing to speak and offer advice where necessary.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Lower floors are easier to get to due to the lack of a lift
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Hewson, Owner at The Windmill Hotel
Responded Aug 20, 2020
We are extremely grateful for the positive review and comments. Reviews like this make all the hard work performed by our staff totally worth the effort. We strive to offer clean and comfortable accommodation, at a budget price. These guests were an absolute pleasure to serve and our staff thoroughly enjoyed conversing with them. We hope they will visit us again in the future.
Read more
Dawn M wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Spent four nights at the windmill had a very enjoyable break room fine and clean staff very friendly food in restaurant was very good close to both Mablethorpe and Skegness and fishing close by would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Hewson, Owner at The Windmill Hotel
Responded Aug 20, 2020
A big thank you to these guests for their kind review and comments. We trust they will visit us again soon.
Read more
ree74 wrote a review Dec 2019
Redditch, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed for one night 30/11/19 with son whilst away working. Sons room, the door would not lock when we reported it was told it was not their problem they eventually moved him rooms after a fuss. Shower was minging with black mould all around the base, as this was after a work day we had no choice but to use, thank god we had our flip flops I dread to think what we would have caught, felt dirt after using the shower. The hotel was smelly fine if you like curry but as I do not it was awful, there was no hot water and the heating was not turned on. When told about this they said they were not expecting anyone, we had booked the day before the stay so they knew we were coming. The staff had a really bad attitude and did not take kindly to our complaints we were told we could leave if we wanted. If this was more local to another hotel we would have moved but with a four hour drive to get home this was not an option. It was that cold that both my son and I actually slept in our clothes just to keep warm. Would never use again and was glad to leave. Use at your own peril!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Avoid if at all porssible
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel
Responded Dec 2, 2019
We apologise for any shortcomings on our behalf. However, most of the complaints could have been rectified during their stay had they made us aware of them. The door locks inside the rooms have been changed to bolts to conform with fire regulations.The shower does not ming and is not mouldy, merely discoloured.We feel the guests have exaggerated the state of it. We are open about the Indian cuisine and if these guests had bothered to read the write-up, they would have been aware of this Due to no-shows the heating is only turned on at arrival. There was plenty of hot water so this complaint is disregarded. Our staff are usually happy and helpful, however these guests were very disrespectful to them. They could have left at any time but chose not to. Hoteliers be warned about accepting these guests!!
Read more
funcheer wrote a review Oct 2019
8 contributions4 helpful votes
We were visiting family in the area and having seen this advertised thought we would give it a go. When we arrived there was a young gentleman sitting on his phone on reception who said hi and went back to his phone. Then another man came through who said hi and also went off to what he was doing. My husband said to the man playing on his phone. Do we need to call someone or something? To which there was a huge sigh. The man got up and a went and found someone. We were asked for our names, asked if we had a car and told to put details in on screen. Absolutely no pleasantries whatsoever. The reception area was messy and dirty and I straight away thought we had done the wrong thing in booking here. So we made it up to our room which was so hot it was unbearable. The room was ok. Very dated which we expected. The bathroom however was not what we expected. The shower was mouldy with rotting rubber seals. And I am a size 10 and struggled to fit in the space for the toilet. The smell from the restaurant downstairs permeates everything which is great if you like curry but I dont! We went out locally to meet family and I asked what time we needed to be back for to which I was told midnight. We came back at 11.15 to find all the doors locked. It took me a good 10 minutes to get someone's attention but we did finally get in. The tv wouldn't turn on when we got back and the kettle also didnt work initially and then all of a sudden randomly 10 minutes after putting it on suddenly worked. The bed was uncomfortable and the duvet was so tiny my husband who isnt massively tall couldn't get covered properly. We decided against breakfast as the place was so dirty and unkempt. We also didnt dare shower due to the state of the bathroom so had to go and eat and shower elsewhere. Given the choice I would next time sleep in my car! Definitely not a recommendation and with the bright lights outside and no blackout curtains after a night of no sleep kind of a pointless experience!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel
Responded Oct 28, 2019
We had problems with this guest from their arrival. If staff are busy dealing with other guests or issues, there can be delays in checking in. As we have ANPR cameras in our car park guests are requested to log their vehicle registrations to avoid being fined. At no time did they complain about anything during their stay, had they done so we would have done our utmost to rectify any issues they had. The shower is NOT mouldy but merely discoloured due to constant useage. However, I have asked our housekeepers to deep clean all of our bathrooms. As for being late back the guests had a front door key so they could have let themselves in. We are completely open regarding the Indian cuisine and the smell does not 'permeate everywhere' . Indeed once on the first floor there is no smell whatsoever. This raises the question of why the booked if they had an aversion to Indian food! As for the room complaints, we should have been given the opportunity to rectify them whilst they were staying with us, instead of leaving reviews and comments in this manner. Finally, we trust they will never bother us again!!!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$49 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLincolnshireAlford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Windmill Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Windmill Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Alford Manor House (0.07 miles), Alford Craft Market Centre (0.03 miles), and Lee's Music Store (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Windmill Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Windmill Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Windmill Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Windmill Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Windmill Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe on the Cobbles, The Jolly Friar, and The Alford Deli.
Is The Windmill Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Alford.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Windmill Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Windmill Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alford Manor House (0.07 miles), Ruins of St Andrews Church (3.4 miles), and Alford Five Sailed Windmill & Tea Room (0.3 miles).