We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Windmill Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Windmill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is a family run business and is really nice. The rooms are really clean with tea and coffee making facilities. Downstairs there is an Indian restaurant that doubles up as the breakfast room. The Indian food is so tasty as well. There is also a bar with jukebox and pool table. The bar prices are not bad. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin L
Oldbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at The Windmill Hotel for one night whilst we were in the area for a wedding. The room was really comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again 😀.

Helpful?
Thank kemarsh
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank these guests wholeheartedly, for their kind and positive review. It was a pleasure accommodating them and we invite them to come and stay again. More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a weekend in skegness/mablethorpe. Pet friendly hotel so that gets it some points but other than that it's a very dated room for a steep price. The breakfast is standard but with no juice or cereal on offer just jam. We had some disturbance at closing time but that's not their fault it's a pub ! The Indian... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick G
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We thank these guests for their honest review and comments. The hotel is 18th century and grade 2 listed which limits our options for refurbishment etc. However, whilst we accept that the rooms are in need of some tlc, something we will do once the summer rush is over, we firmly believe that our prices are extremely competitive when compared... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

staff are friendly carrying your bags up to our room couldn't do enough for us.offered a drink as we came downstairs which was lovely animal friendly as we had our dog with us he loved all the attention from there 2 girls which was very well behaved and chatty .rooms were very clean no bad smells as commented in last... More 

Helpful?
Thank sammy684
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

These guests were a pleasure to accommodate and we wish to thank them wholeheartedly for their very kind and positive review. It is extremely gratifying when guests enjoy staying with us as it makes all the hard work worthwhile. Should these guests visit us again they will be greeted with open arms. More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with friends for one night as we were at a wedding a few miles from this lovely little village. Cheap and cheerful, & as we didn't really spend much time in the hotel I can't say much other than it was clean and the staff were lovely. I actually lost my sunglasses, the manager found them at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tlg8
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We thank this guest for the kind and honest review. It is our policy to always return items left anywhere in the hotel, providing we have contact details or are contacted by guests/patrons. We thoroughly enjoyed looking after all the guests who stayed with us and attended the wedding. The two little girls had beaming smiles all over their faces... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

I stayed in the Windmill when in the area for work, I was greeted in by friendly staff who worked the bar and offered a free beer and asked if i wanted any food from the Indian restaurant, which i accepted, i thought this was all going to be ok. When i arrived in my room i was hit with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iain S
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy his stay with us, despite his positive views regarding the Indian cuisine. However, some comments we accept but there are some we take issue with. He states that his room smelt of a dead animal, something we refute as no evidence of this has been found either by ourselves, or guests... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

We booked a family room last minute online after finding a lot of local places full. I travelled from Birmingham with my family and hadn't been to the area before. It was easy to find and has its own parking. The room was a good size with a double bed single bed and sofa bed. There was a 40 in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pezza_24
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate this guests positive review as it makes all the work improving our facilities totally worthwhile. Unfortunately, the age of the building, and the fact that it is grade 2 listed, is a problem as far as exterior improvements are concerned. However, we would like to extend our invitation to visit us again in the future and sample... More 

Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is dirty, tatty and not fit to stay in. I paid £125 in full and in advance and in good faith for a 'cosy and recently refurbished' room. On our arrival in the 'reception' area we were shocked at the state of the filthy stained carpets, shabby dirty furniture and the mess everywhere. A pile of dirty plates... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janice S
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We apologise unreservedly if we did not meet with this guest’s expectations. The rooms have been redecorated and refurbished as stated however, this family were inadvertently shown to Room 204 which at the time was closed for maintenance. They should have been placed in Room 203, which is our second family room. Obviously Room 204 was not ready for occupation,... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2016

Stayed here for just one night, if it would have been more i would have found somewhere else to stay. i stayed here about 10 years ago and it was a lovely family run business. unfortunately now i get the feeling it is run by inexperienced staff. i am usually against writing a bad review on a hotel, but after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spamlata2157
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for not meeting this guests expectations. However, there are certain points raised which we feel need responding to. Over the last 10 years a lot has happened and has been run by at least 4 different companies, not including ourselves. In fact we have only been here 1 year and... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

4 of us were staying in this hotel, in two double rooms. We ended up in the four-poster room (as the owner kept calling it, "the bridal suite"), above the karaoke. The owner kept saying "It's only until midnight!" as he showed us to our rooms - the music actually finished at around 2am, and then we had the joy... More 

Helpful?
Thank LittleMissBea
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, we thank the guests for their kind comments about the food and apologise unreservedly if the rooms etc. did not meet their high standards, however we must refute some of the comments made in their review. It is true that the Bridal Suite is above the bar and we do open until 2am at weekends, but we do not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
0.1 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
The Grange & Links Hotel
The Grange & Links Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kenwick Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
9.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
11.1 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#11 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is an 18th-century coaching house located in the historic market town of Alford, Lincolnshire, England. If you are planning a trip to the Lincolnshire coast, whether it be a one night stop over to a full week, the Windmill will endeavour to accommodate your needs. All of our rooms are en-suite and offer value for money. We have a well stocked bar offering a wide range of beers, wines and spirits. In addition our Indian restaurant offers top quality cuisine. We are also a pet friendly hotel. You will always find a warm and pleasant atmosphere awaiting you from the staff at the Windmill Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Windmill Hotel

Address: 10 Market Place, Alford LN13 9EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Alford
Price Range: $71 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windmill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Windmill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windmill Hotel Alford, Lincolnshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay