We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill Hotel

Traveler (16)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (1)

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Alford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel is an 18th-century coaching house located in the historic market town of Alford, Lincolnshire, England. If you are planning a trip to the Lincolnshire coast, whether it be a one night stop over to a full week, the Windmill will endeavour to accommodate your needs. All of our rooms are en-suite and offer value for money. We have a well stocked bar offering a wide range of beers, wines and spirits. In addition our Indian restaurant offers top quality cuisine. Although we are pet friendly there is an additional charge for them. You will always find a warm and pleasant atmosphere awaiting you from the staff at the Windmill Hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
68Somewhat walkable
Grade: 68 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
9Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
76Reviews
0Q+A
14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 18
  • 10
  • 8
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Good food,, the high climb on stairs is due to no lift ,,old fashioned period furniture ,,carpets hoovered but worn-out ,,pet friendly ,,short on staff ,,internet free ,,,was early season no guests around ,,,locals in bar all in all 6/10 I'd go again if I had to but unlikely
Read more
Response from Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Hotel
Responded May 15, 2019
We thank this guest for their frank and honest review. We are unable to install a lift due to lack of space and grade 2 listing building regulations. The hotel is due to be upgraded and fittings etc. changed once the summer season is over. However, the furniture is in keeping with the age of the building and we consider this to be part of the charm of the hotel. Most of our staff work late shifts as this is when the restaurant opens and the bar gets busier, we do take on extra staff during peak seasons. Finally, we are sorry that this guest would be unlikely to return, but ask that he considers our reply before making any rash decisions.
Read more
Have just come back from a 2 night stay at The Windmill Hotel, myself my husband and our dog stayed. We were greeted and checked in easily. Our dog was welcomed and when we got to our room there was a dog bowl and bed waiting for her, which was a nice touch. Tea and coffee making facilities, TV, double bed and single bed in the room. En suite shower room was adequate for our needs, although the shower wasn’t that powerful, but it did the job. It does surprise me that some people complain about creaky floorboards and rattling windows - this is a grade II listed building and I don’t know what people expect, but I think it adds to the quirkiness of the place. It is ideal for what you need it for. If you want a 5* experience then book one. As for the Indian restaurant, well what can I say, it was great. The food was really good and the nan bread was to die for. I had read reviews before we went that people complained that the hotel stank of Indian food, but we didn’t find this. Yes the reception area did have the aroma when the restaurant was open, but didn’t find this upstairs. The hotel is located to make it easy to visit places and if we are up that way again, we would definitely return.
Read more
Response from Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel
Responded May 3, 2019
We are extremely grateful for the positive review and comments left by this guest. We always strive to provide comfortable accommodation at budget prices. Our kitchen staff are delighted that the cuisine on offer was so well received and we do try our best to restrict the food aroma. Should these guests return they will be welcomed with open arms.
Read more
We booked this while we were racing at Cadwell Park for the 3rd time. It looks like it has had a bit of tidy up since last year. Again the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 202 and to be a bit fussy I personally found the bed quite hard but it was clean and tidy with every thing we needed....towels, tea/coffee and hair drier. It isn't the most modern hotel and is a locals pub but again they were friendly enough. It is also a curry house and the food is fresh, hot and delicious. Just booked it again for end of next month so cant be bad at all
Read more
Response from Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Hotel
Responded May 3, 2019
This guest was a pleasure to accommodate and we look forward to her return. We thank her wholeheartedly for her review and kind comments and apologise for the bed being on the hard size. However, it is impossible to stock a variety of mattresses due cost and storage space.
Read more
Located right in the middle of the town with private car parking. I would rate this as excellent value for money. The front desk welcomed me on arrival and gave me my key. My room on the second floor had a nice view, was clean and well apportioned. Good TV, Wi-Fi access and a working area. There was tea and coffee making facilities and two packs of biscuits. Breakfast is served until 9am and was full service and prompt. I would definately recommend, particularly as it is cheaper than a budget hotel and better quality.
Read more
Response from Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel
Responded Apr 26, 2019
We are delighted that this guest enjoyed their stay with us and left this glowing review. We always strive to offer a quality service at budget prices and we obviously succeeded on this occasion. Many, many thanks.
Read more
I will start with the good points. OK now the bad; dirty, noisy, dated, unfriendly, draughty, in poor repair, thin walls, rattling windows, cheap fittings, cold food, overpriced breakfast,slow service, owners/staff kids running round in public areas,terrible shower, toilet too cramped to use, dead spider on light switch, his extensive home above the door, cheap carpet, broken equipment everywhere, creaky floorboards, dodgy electrics, low quality bedding, uncomfortable bed and finally, stained (yes stained, you know what colour the stain was), thin, hard, tiny towels. Finally, they charged me again for my visit, via the booking website l used, for my stay 2 days AFTER l had paid on arrival.
Read more
Response from Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel
Responded Apr 23, 2019
Wow where to start. Firstly the building is over 300 years old and grade 2 listed consequently the decor is in keeping with this. This is made abundantly clear on ALL our advertisements. This guest was a nightmare from the moment he arrived, in fact we considered asking him to leave due to his constant complaints. We take issue with his comments regarding all his negative comments. I will not go into detail as I don't have the time or inclination to do so. During his stay he broke the toilet and left the room in a disgusting state, in fact the stained towels were his doing and had to be thrown away as they looked as if he had used them to wipe up something disgusting. Finally, he accuses us of charging him twice. This is total fiction on the guest's part. When a booking is made payments are pre-authorised by the booking site NOT by us. The customer is then charged on arrival against this pre-authorisation. All in all we were glad to see the back of this guest and hope he never darkens our doors again!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$51 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandAlford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing