We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Kilhey Court

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Macdonald Kilhey Court
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,254: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The old part of the hotel is very nice. If you are in the new part you may as well be in an aging travel lodge. Poor sound insulation means that it is not ideal for sleep and you can hear the quiet alarm in the next room as well as the TV etc. Bathroom had lots of mould on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelotottle
Batley
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night Didn't look at the reviews until I booked a room then thought I was in for a disappointing stay far from it, on arrival I was greeted with a smile from the receptionist who checked me in all the staff were well manared, I used the gym & spa facilities twice on my stay the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markydog
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose to stay at Kilhey Court because we were meeting up with friends from Southport before we drove back down the M6 South. One of the friends has a hip problem and uses a walking stick. The hotel has little disabled facilities, almost every part has to be negotiated by stairs! Even the front door! No disabled toilets on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winifredjay
KC_GeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am really sorry that you have struggled with the amount of stairs in the building during your stay. Our main part of the hotel was build in 1884 and unfortunately there is a little amount of adjustments we can make, however my team is always happy to assist in...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Over night stay for work, first stay at kilhey court. On arrival lovely looking building with a lovely drive, ample parking on site. Check in was fast and easy, a very friendly lady checked me in nice to see a smiling face on front of house. My room was 213 nicely decorated room small but comfortable, all amenities available in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lianne S
KC_GeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review

Dear Lianne S, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear many positives following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you could hear noises from room next to you however I am happy to hear that you found the bed comfortable and managed to have a good night sleep. It is lovely to...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Needing a stop close to the M6 I was willing to compromise. No need having found this excellent stopping place. We stayed 2 nights and though we didn't need to we would have been able to bring our dog. The staff ensure that a ground floor room is allocated should this be the case. The room was spacious and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmhLondon
KC_GeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear about your perfect stay with us. The team will be happy to hear your compliments and I can not wait to welcome you back for many more prefect stays in our beautiful hotel. Kind Regards, Kirsti Playdon General...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for new years eve and had a great time. Hotel is in a good location next to a lake with nice walks. Room was clean and staff very friendly. We also used the spa facilities which was great. Breakfast was brill with a variety to choose from. Only down side was the WiFi. Connects but then goes off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
Paul F, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review

Dear Gareth, Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us on New Years Eve. I am happy to hear that you had a great time with us. I am sorry to hear that you had problems with the WiFi. I do hope we will be able to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards, Paul Fenech General Manager

Ambleside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here over Christmas 2016, visiting family locally. Our rooms, 201 and 202 were very spacious and comfortable (junior suites). The atmosphere in the hotel was very festive with two open fires and comfortable seating in the hall and bar. Staff were excellent, very cheerful and helpful. The food was also excellent, extensive cold buffet and hot breakfast every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
Paul F, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review

Dear Mary H, Thank you for taking time to post your feedback following your recent visit. It always makes me happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their visit to the hotel. I do agree with you it does make it festive having two real log fires. It is lovely to hear that the team were excellent, cheerful and helpful...

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly the staff at the hotel were lovely and helpful but there weren't enough of them. The rooms were along way from the function room where the wedding we were attending was being held. We had to go outside and in again to access it. There were steps in to the reception area and then down in to the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudithBuffham
Paul F, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had troubles during your stay. Our main part of the hotel does have a lot of stairs around due to being an old building that was build in 1884. The team are always happy to assist in any way they can to make our guests stay...

greater manchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From start to finish the stay has been fab. Started with a lovely afternoon tea followed by a manicure. We had our bags taken up to our room. As it was mums Birthday the staff left chocolates on a plate with happy birthday message and birthday card on arrival which was very nice. The room was lovely though the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wiganmandy
Paul F, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to know that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate your mum's birthday. The team always tries to make any occasion special for our guests with small touches in the room. I am happy to hear that the team looked after you from the moment you have...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Made welcome on arrival, quick check in. Nice and clean modern Bedroom and Bathroom, pleasant receptionists We were on a DBB package. good value for money. Bar lady didnt have a clue what she was doing. Charged us for 2 Champagne glasses instead of white wine that was when eventually got served. Food was really nice and well presented however...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mattamanda2016
Paul F, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you were made feel welcome on your arrival. Please accept my apology for the issues you had during your visits to the bar and the restaurant I can assure you this is not our usual level...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
2.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.1 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
11.9 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel, a perfectly accessible place to do business and to unwind, just 10 minutes drive from the M6 and M61 motorways directly between Manchester and Liverpool. Take advantage of unlimited, free WiFi throughout the hotel, a comfortable night's sleep and relax in the spa at the hotel. The hotel has completed a refurbishment programme to upgrade 14 bedrooms, rejuvenate the bar, restaurant and reception. Following a day on the road or in the meeting room, there's plenty of ways to unwind at Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel. We're passionate about the quality of food that we offer, sourcing fresh, quality ingredients to craft simple but flavoursome dishes. Try our award-winning food in the Laureate Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Kilhey Court

Address: Chorley Road, Standish, Wigan WN1 2XN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Price Range: $67 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Kilhey Court 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Kilhey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Kilhey Court Standish, England
Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel Standish
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Kilhey Court staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Kilhey Court staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“201 and 202”
 of 5 bubbles maryhG5560CF, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Upgrade if Possible”
 of 5 bubbles mattamanda2016, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Our room was a bit of a trek from Reception up stairs along corridors etc.I did see a lift but we didn't use it.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelmH455YX, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“404 is the Byron suite and this is where I would stay when I return.”
 of 5 bubbles 837darrenn, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“save yourself some money and stay at a budget hotel where at least you would get a good nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles KMaroundtheworld, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay