We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE England
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1198)
Room & Suite (196)
Dining (107)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hythe Imperial Hotel
Updated 07/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#1 of 3 in Hythe
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 92 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Highchairs available
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Bulgarian and 4 more
2694Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 882
  • 788
  • 503
  • 275
  • 246
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
James T wrote a review May 13
1 contribution
Very Enjoyable stay. Excellent location and facilities. Next to golf course. Plenty of parking. Pleasant clean room. Dinner and breakfast very good. Service throughout excellent with friendly and helpful staff. Well worth a return visit
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Chris H wrote a review May 13
1 contribution
I have stayed at the Hythe Imperial Hotel several times in the last 3 years Lovely accommodation and restaurantwas good. Highly recommend a visit to the Hythe Imperial, great hotel , friendly staff , fabulous views right opposite the Channel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Room Tip: Front elevation views are fabulous
See more room tips
Vera wrote a review May 13
1 contribution
Stayed at the hotel in a Family room - what a find!! Spacious and a separate room for the kids with a sea view. Convenient to the zoo nearby. The restaurant opens at 6 so ideal. Just be aware they don’t provide travel cots in the room. Every staff member I encountered were polite and knowledgeable. We love Hythe and will keep coming back! Well done the Hythe imperial!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
CKShome wrote a review May 13
Ascot, United Kingdom21 contributions10 helpful votes
Having enjoyed our previous visits to Hythe and the surrounding areas we booked into the Hythe Imperial for the weekend. Once again we were not disappointed although on this occasion we had a more modest room. It was extremely comfortable and served our needs. The staff were extremely helpful with suggestions of things to do. The restaurant menu and service was very good. The staff were very attentive which wasn't expected as the restaurant was extremely busy. We will definitely be back again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Plenty of parking but do check what time you can check in
See more room tips
pez1967 wrote a review May 12
Crawley, United Kingdom3 contributions
Visited the Hythe Imperial for a well deserved birthday treat with my boyfriend. From booking to checking in, we’d received nothing but 5* service. The hotel is absolutely stunning. Our room had a beautiful seaview, so clean and the most comfortable bed. We used the Moët bar whilst here and all I can say is WOW! The bar overlooks the sea, is so classy and elegant.. such a must! We then had the most delicious 3 course meal in the coast restaurant, service was brilliant and the food was 10/10! We really had such a lovely, romantic weekend away and without a doubt will be returning as soon as we can. Thank you to all the staff at the Hythe Imperial Hotel for making my birthday to special.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Lynn D wrote a review May 12
Folkestone, United Kingdom11 contributions17 helpful votes
I feel compelled to let the manager of the martello bar know how disgusting the coffee is since the change from the advertised ILLY coffee you always used to serve in a barista style machine to the now absolutely cheap and nasty watery coffees made with what tastes like powdered mild and powdered coffee! Just for speed and ease of the staff! Yes, people get their lattes instantly but please can you sort this terrible quality, I myself feel ashamed to see other people sitting looking like they're enjoying their drinks. I've been a couple of times and certain staff., if you mention it will actually make you an illy coffee from the usual machine.. We love the establishment and spending an hour with lunch or coffees, but now wont be back I'm afraid owing to such a 4 star establishment going downhill so much with quality....Please Mr Manager., its little touches like really good coffee that people come back for..., most dint and didnt mind waiting in the old days for really good barista style coffee ........ If you change one thing please please change your coffee machine....
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
1 Helpful vote
Armenio G wrote a review May 11
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I haven't got words to thank you all enough for the amazing stay and service provided. We had one night stay at this beautiful hotel. Bar staff were very welcoming and friendly ( some of them junior staff but very well trained and responsible for their duties). Thank you to David the Restaurant Manager and all is service team. Breakfast was nice. Was really nice to see some brilliant staff like Annie, Emily.Unfortunately this time I did miss Ben. A special thank you to the Management For the upgrade Room and the kind gesture that we Received over Dinner. But what actually really made my day was the opportunity to say hello to some brilliant people from the back office like Georgia, Julie, Mitch & Kat😀 Looking forward to my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
MBL wrote a review May 10
Huntingdon, United Kingdom1 contribution
I was taken her for lunch by friends for it to be something a little different and upmarket. Well we may as well have gone to a greasy Joes which in fact might have been better. Ridiculous prices for rubbish food. The waitresses were sweet but needed further training.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Response from Hythe Imperial, Guest Services / Front Office at Hythe Imperial Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest As discussed with a member of your party, our restaurant is closed at lunch times so the only food options for lunch was our Bar Food of which is of good quality. We value all feedback however after reviewing the CCTV, we could see exactly what happened and the burger was well done so this was replaced for you. No other comments were made on the day. We are very sorry we was not the place for you on this occasion. Kind Regards Guest Relations
Read more
mbs132015 wrote a review May 7
Kent, United Kingdom6 contributions6 helpful votes
The room was nice but the customer service in the restaurant and bars was really poor. The staff were abrupt and made us feel like an inconvenience. Breakfast was basic but ok. Nice location. Probably wouldn’t return tho unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Response from Hythe Imperial, Guest Services / Front Office at Hythe Imperial Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. As a hotel we value all feedback so we can continue to improve on our services and standards in the hotel however the hotel was not informed on any of your comments made otherwise we would have rectified this for you at the time if you had made our Duty Manager aware of your points raised. Unfortunately if the hotel is not aware, it is always difficult to make comments after the event. Could I ask you to please get in contact with myself with regards to this as I would like to investigate this further. My email address is as below. sm@hytheimperialhotel.com We do welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards Guest Relations
Read more
Carlamay wrote a review May 6
Maidstone, United Kingdom11 contributions15 helpful votes
Me and my partner stayed here at the weekend for a chilled night away as there was a restaurant in area we wanted to visit. There were a few issues with the room which we mentioned at check out so the receptionist told us to email the manager and didn’t really care about the problems at the time. The next day I realised I left something expensive in the room and they wasn’t worried at all failed to contact us to let us know if the housekeeper had found it and so I called the following day and they told me that no housekeeper had found anything! I decided then to email the manager regarding all the problems and my ‘ missing’ products, the response was absolutely shocking they basically stated we was lying and that they will not respond as if we were in the wrong! Never stay here terrible customer service and hotel room was filthy!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Response from Hythe Imperial, Guest Services / Front Office at Hythe Imperial Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest This is not factually correct, as a hotel, we have advised you that no cream was left in the your room and at that point you called us thieves which we are not and advised you to contact the police which we will be happy to assist. Our staff assisted you with your Air conditioning unit and when they left it was fully working only to find that you had played with it again and put it onto the hot setting. As a hotel there was nothing else we could have done for you. Kind Regards Guest Relations
Read more
$79 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
mercure hythe imperial hotel hythe, mercure hythe imperial hotel and spa, accor hythe imperial, imperial hotel hythe
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa
United KingdomEnglandKentHythe
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hythe Imperial Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hythe Imperial Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Crypt of St. Leonard (0.6 miles), Hythe Beach (0.4 miles), and St Leonard's Church (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hythe Imperial Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hythe Imperial Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hythe Imperial Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hythe Imperial Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hythe Imperial Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coppers, Twenty Four, and The Holy Pundit.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hythe Imperial Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hythe Imperial Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Hythe.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hythe Imperial Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hythe Imperial Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hythe Imperial Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Romanian.