We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hythe Imperial

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hythe Imperial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,334: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Found this gem browsing on Wowchers website. Got an excellent deal with breakfast. Upgraded to a sea view room, which was well worth the money. I was fortunate enough to have excellent weather. The room had everything you could need, didnt need to ask for anything. Made use of the pool, sauna and jacuzzi too. I will definately stay here... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarceDark
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After waiting for the facelift of the hotel to be finished, we decided to book an afternoon tea to see for ourselves. The hotel and facilities were starting to look a little old, and this visit was to see what had been done and to renew our membership to the facilities and golf. The hotel have seated a small room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TheMarritts
HytheImperial, Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review

Dear TheMarritts, Very sorry to read your comments regarding your experience in our afternoon tea parlour, the room had previously been a lounge and unfortunately the hotel does not have an area on the seafront to enable us to place the afternoon tea. We do however have our Moet & Chandon Bar which will be opening on 5th August which... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hythe hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in one of the newly refurbished bedrooms over looking the sea. Lovely room and was spotless. The hotel looks newly refurbished and has a nice modern feel but at the same time it is in keeping with the old building. Had dinner in the Restaurant on the first night which was exquisite. Breakfast in the morning was well presented... More 

Helpful?
Thank AFEP30
HytheImperial, Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review

Dear AFEP30, We would like to thank you for your 5 star review, we are delighted that you were able to take advantage of the facilities at the hotel and were well looked after. Your comments have been passed onto the team and we do hope you are able to return to the hotel in the future. Regards Hythe Imperial More 

Chatham kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night in one of the newly decorated rooms on 3rd floor. Nice room but lacked a few basic things ie only the one toilet roll and even in the cheaper hotels you get a box of tissues. Nice shower but the on and off handle was square so hurt your hand when turning on and off. Nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank MAUREEN W
HytheImperial, Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review

Dear Maureen W, Thank you for your 4 star review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hythe Imperial, however it does seem that we have been remise in placing an addtional toilet roll and tissues in the bedroom which we have amended in our room checks. The hotel does pride itself on its cleanliness and the entrance... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been a frequent guest at this hotel over the last few years and, as you will see if you scroll back far enough, have previously given this hotel excellent reviews: Christmas 2013 when we stayed 3 nights (see photos); July 2015 when we stayed a few nights in two rooms; Christmas 2015 when we hosted a family lunch... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bearz1066
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review

"bearz1066" - Thank you for your comments. Please be assured we take all feedback on board equally of a positive and negative nature so as to continually improve upon our hotel, services and product. I was surprised to read your titled publication and subsequent comments concerning the rudeness of my public area cleaner as she has been with us for... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two evenings in this hotel. One at the beginning of a 12 day tour of Europe and one upon our return. We booked this hotel as it is near the Eurotunnel. The first room we were allocated was distinctly average with the wind howling through the old windows. The room was cold on our arrival and the décor very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison G
HytheImperial, Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review

Dear Alison G, We are pleased that you enjoyed both of your stays at the hotel and were able to experience both our standard and superior rooms, we are now 50% completed on the renovations of the hotel and will be commencing further work in the new year. I was disapointed to read your comments regarding the bar staff and... More 

Bromley
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not usually impressed by large English hotels but this time I was wrong. The hotel is gradually upgrading their rooms and we were lucky to get one of those that had been modernised. We were over looking the sea, the beds were comfortable. The decor was stylish. Breakfast was good and service was excellent. We did not have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sbaileyBromley
HytheImperial, Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review

Dear sbaileyBromley, What a great 4 star review thank you for your comments, hopefully if you are able to return to the hotel you will be able to award us 5 stars next time. Regards Hythe Imperial More 

Lydd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived for drinks in the hotel bar. at the entrance to the hotel we were met with lots of cigarette butts all over the hotel steps. There were more butts and cigarette packets in the flower bed in front of the bar. The ashtray in the foyer was overflowing. Not classy!!! The service in the bar was terrible. So so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
HytheImperial, Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review

Dear Kerry C The hotel was very disapointed regarding the situation that occured during your stay and the ashtrays at the front of the hotel, this is not our normal standard and of course has been dealt with accordingly together with ceiling that is currently being fixed as there was a leak folloiwng major storms earlier in the week. Kerry... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms on the first floor, with a sea view. The room was spacious and beautifully finished. The sea view was great but it was a shame a van, skips and building materials were just outside the room, as the refurbishments continue. The scaffolding didn't get in the way luckily! Swimming pool was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tshirtsuntan
HytheImperial, Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review

Dear tshirtsuntan, Thank you for your 4 star review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as our spa, we do appreciate constructive feedback and have noted your comments regarding the skips and building materials. As you are aware the hotel is going through quite and extensive renovation and this unfortunately is unavoidable, however we... More 

Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you don't want to be a second class guest then don't book this hotel during the coach party season ( probably April to September ) as you will be told that you can't dine in the restaurant before 8.30pm and you'll be told where you can sit for breakfast ( and it won't be near the buffet ). Everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank carmadnick
HytheImperial, Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review

Dear carmadnick, We were very sorry to read your review and that you were not happy with the hotel due to an unfortunate experience with the driver of one of the coach parties that were staying at the hotel. We have as you are aware been in touch with the coach company who have appologised, please do be assured as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

350 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (342)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (186)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stade Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#3 of 9 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
11.8 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Address: Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Price Range: $110 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay