We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

YHA Medway

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Medway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 25: English reviews
Abingdon UK.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just a quick weekend away, we chose instead of staying in Rochester , to come to the local YHA MEDWAY. . WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED!!!! A further few minutes on the train and a short taxi ride and you arrive opposite the local country park a mere 2.2 miles from the station at Gillingham. We booked in advance to what... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYTRAVELLER448
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A small hostel opposite Capstone Country park. The communal areas offer a place to rest, eat drink and socialise. The park opposite provides you with the opportunity to stretch the legs. Easy reach of jn4 M2 The rooms are small, and the toilets (clean and in good working order) are a windy way from some of the bedrooms. Plenty of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clashworth
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

We visited the south of England within two weeks with a family of four and stayed mainly in hostels by the YHA. This hostel situated in a traditional Kentish Oast house was very nice for a stay for three nights, with good connection both by car and by train to London. You better need a car or come by bike,... More 

Helpful?
Thank erichter129
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

We love yha! Great location for stop over through Kent (if you're chasing ferries across the channel), this charming and recently refurbished yha is perfect for a quick one night stop off. Friendly staff, tidy rooms and first class breakfast...a fine example of this great institution :-)

Helpful?
Thank Jason W
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

This is a really nice, family-friendly youth hostel. As with all (most?) hostels, it's basic accommodation but the staff were lovely (even lent me a hairdryer because I'd forgotten to bring my own), the rooms/ showers etc were clean and the location is fantastic for Rochester, Chatham and Gillingham. We had a great stay - thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Katie M
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016

The entire hostel had a very personal touch and we felt welcome the moment we set foot into it. We met people who liked to talk and to share a glas of wine, always nice!. The facilities were very clean. A good place to start your England trip.

Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016

We traveled to YHA Medway on the way to a Festival, and needed to check in early as we would be arriving late in the evening - the staff were very efficient and friendly, and this was not a problem. We added a breakfast onto the room at check in, which turned out to be well priced, with a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZannJR1
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

I had a few kids with me, the staff were friendly and helped us a lot. The food was delicious, especially the curry and we asked for breakfast very early and each day it was never late they also accommodated the peanut allergy well too. Wifi was a bit iffy but so was my phone data so don't think it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shooks1988
Aix-en-Provence, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

It is the third year when I come to YHA Medway for a school trip around Dickens. The youth hostel is situated well. It is pleasant to wake up with the birdsong. We eat very well and the staff is charming.

Helpful?
Thank aholtzheyer
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

Stayed here for what was to be 2 nights but after the first night had to abandon the place. Room 3 - faced directly in front of the door - banging doors till midnight / loud birds all morning dawn chorus above heads and more banging from 6.00am. Teen boys and I slept very little. Food mediocre to poor.....staff nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RotherwoodAngel
YhaMedwayManager, Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had a disturbed night at our hostel. We always encourage our guests to let us know if they have any issues during their stay so we can resolve them as soon as possible. We would have been happy to move you to a different room if you had let us know that one was so noisy,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
2.4 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Gillingham Business Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.2 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in rural Kent, YHA Medway is opposite Capstone Farm Country Park. This traditional Oast house is also just 10 minutes' drive from Chatham's Historic Dockyard Trust Museum. The Youth Hostel offers both private rooms and dormitory accommodation and has lots of character - look out for exposed beams and beautiful brickwork. Guests are welcome to relax in the ambient communal lounge and make use of the self-catering kitchen, we've got a garden full of colourful planters and picnic benches outside too. YHA Medway is well located accommodation for winter sports at Chatham ski centre, historic Rochester, Chatham Dockyard and the Kent Downs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Medway

Address: 351 Capstone Road, Gillingham ME7 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Medway 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Medway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Medway Gillingham, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay