We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

YHA Medway

Hotel website
351 Capstone Road, Gillingham ME7 3JE, England
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Medway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a few kids with me, the staff were friendly and helped us a lot. The food was delicious, especially the curry and we asked for breakfast very early and each day it was never late they also accommodated the peanut allergy well too. Wifi was a bit iffy but so was my phone data so don't think it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shooks1988
Aix-en-Provence, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

It is the third year when I come to YHA Medway for a school trip around Dickens. The youth hostel is situated well. It is pleasant to wake up with the birdsong. We eat very well and the staff is charming.

Helpful?
Thank aholtzheyer
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

Stayed here for what was to be 2 nights but after the first night had to abandon the place. Room 3 - faced directly in front of the door - banging doors till midnight / loud birds all morning dawn chorus above heads and more banging from 6.00am. Teen boys and I slept very little. Food mediocre to poor.....staff nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RotherwoodAngel
YhaMedwayManager, Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had a disturbed night at our hostel. We always encourage our guests to let us know if they have any issues during their stay so we can resolve them as soon as possible. We would have been happy to move you to a different room if you had let us know that one was so noisy,... More 

Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

I booked here with some trepidation as i have not stayed in a youth hostel for decades and never on my own. The building has been beautifully restored both in and out. The welcome was excellent and i was allocated a bunk in a 4 bunk room. Luckily there were only two of us in the room so we both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo S
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

Since I've become a courier I've stayed at lots of different places, some good, some not so good. Having spent one night at the YHA Medway all my preconceptions about them went straight through the window. I was pleasantly surprised the location was clean, fresh and very well presented. The staff were very pleasant and couldn't do enough to help... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken B
Feldberg, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

It is a interesting house in a great landscape. Its near Dover and London and it isin a calm neighbourhood. We met a very kindly and helpful staff, we felt us welcome, although we just stayed for one night each time.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank familyweber
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

I understand that this is a basic hostel and you get what you pay for! The good points lovely building on the outside, polite staff, good clean kitchen area. The beds were old they creaked if you turned over, the bedding was tatty, you could hear every sound and past 11.00pm someones child kept opening and slamming the door( that's... More 

Helpful?
Thank sammy1977
kent
Level Contributor
447 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Although this hostel is a fair way from town and hard to find without a sat-nav it is a converted oast house so oozes charm. There is a small but functional kitchen, a large dining area, a television room and another large entertainment room on the ground which has a table-tennis table in it. There are many bedrooms upstairs and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sabatinitennis
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Very interesting building old Kentish Oast house . A warm welcome and warm rooms on a very cold night. Welcoming breakfast room and host who was pleasant to chat too in the morning. Impressive disabled facilities; there was a disabled group in who were obviously having a great time!

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank FionaC248
Newport, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

My friend and I stayed here with a group for the weekend. We did have a lovely weekend because of the company and the way it was organised. However I wouldn't choose to stay at the Medway myself again. I should state that I do not often stay at youth hostels and the Medway really didn't persuade me that they... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 24KateG
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Gillingham Business Park Hotel
2.3 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rainham (Kent) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in rural Kent, YHA Medway is opposite Capstone Farm Country Park. This traditional Oast house is also just 10 minutes' drive from Chatham's Historic Dockyard Trust Museum. The Youth Hostel offers both private rooms and dormitory accommodation and has lots of character - look out for exposed beams and beautiful brickwork. Guests are welcome to relax in the ambient communal lounge and make use of the self-catering kitchen, we've got a garden full of colourful planters and picnic benches outside too. YHA Medway is well located accommodation for winter sports at Chatham ski centre, historic Rochester, Chatham Dockyard and the Kent Downs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Medway

Address: 351 Capstone Road, Gillingham ME7 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Price Range: $37 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Medway 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your YHA Medway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Medway Gillingham, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay