We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Dr Syns Guest House

24, Mill Road, Dymchurch TN29 0NY, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dr Syns Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arrival we were given a lovely room overlooking the garden. After going for a quick look at Dymchurch we went back to unpack and get ready to go out to eat. Debbie, who owns and runs the guest house met us and said she had received a cancellation and would we like to change room. The new room still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beverley P
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just spent 3 fantastic nights at the above to us it was a very special place and we hope to visit again very soon prices are very reasonable also very quiet and peaceful Although you are a stones throw from the beach, pub, Tesco Express and loads of places to eat. Debbie the owner is a lovely person... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet J
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Very nice place and Debbie very polite and helpful,good tea/coffee facilities in room.On our arrival we did say that we did not want or eat breakfast and will only have coffee in room.We have been up north and have been offered a little courtesy discount if no breakfast required,appreciate it was our choice not to eat, the place was nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin F
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Dr Syns Dymchurch, with ref breakfast .. the accommodation here at dr syns is Bed and Breakfast which is included in the price agreed at time of booking, .. if asked i also do a takeaway breakfast or even something light left in the room for people... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

A very lovely guest house run by the equally lovely Debbie. Our room was clean and very comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Our en-suite shower was excellent. We were able to spend a warm June evening on the patio with a drink from the bar. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice for all tastes. We would definitely... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Richard H
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it was lovely having you stay and if your this way again please give us a call, with best regards Debbie xx More 

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016 via mobile

The guesthouse is very quaint and well cared for and the breakfast is delicious! Debbie the owner is lovely and went out of her way to find help us when we booked wrong date! She also posted us our keys we left behind!! Would definitely recommend this place to others :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_chant
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2016

My partner and I stayed at Dr Syns over the weekend. Debbie , the owner , was very warm and welcoming . Our room was very comfortable and clean. We both had an extremely comfortable nights sleep after venturing out for a bite to eat at the local pub. The full English breakfast was delicious and really set us up... More 

Helpful?
Thank RebeccaBS
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review,, glad you enjoyed your stay here at Dr Syns Dymchurch, it was very nice to meet you both, hope maybe to see you in the summer,, regards Debbie.x More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016 via mobile

This is my first review on Trip Advisor as I do not normally comment but on this occasion I feel I need to. As previously mentioned on my wife's review, we stayed there last weekend. Everything was fine and the room was comfortable but then the issue of the shower and running water occurred. Had we have been told that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank adamnelson1304
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review

Hello, thank you again for your critcism of myself and my guest house,,- this is my 3rd reply to comments.. I realy dont feel that when guests check in i should be telling them that a plumber had been here the day before up grading a room for the summer season,and that room still needs decorating but nice shower been... More 

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016

We decided to have a weekend away and what better place than Dr syns. We have been here on many occasions in the past eight years or so and have never been disappointed. Debbie is a very welcoming person nothing is to much trouble and her breakfast is second to none. Well recommended. Vanessa and dean jordan

Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa j
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments,,, lovley to have you stay again,,, as you know at Dr Syns guest house i try to accommodate all guests with what they need during there stay, including evening meals,, drinks at the bar,,or in there room, or garden " weather Permitting" ,,,taxis,, even laundary if they are on a long trip,,, Breakfast is highlight... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I arrived at this property yesterday between the agreed time of check in (3 - 4pm). We met Debbie the owner who was friendly and welcoming - after promptly collecting payment she showed us to our room. The room and bathroom looked quaint and cosy and perfect for our needs. Debbie showed us how to work the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldineRobinson
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. I always appreciate feedback even if it's negative and in my opinion uncalled for. In this instance the shower problem would have been easily solved had there been some communication regarding the problem. Plumbing work had been undertaken at this property the day before and this had simply caused an unforseen air block that leaving... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2016

Very disappointed with this place. We had to find another guest house as when we arrived to check in there was nobody there. Made a phone call to say we were there and the owner, very curtly, said she wasn't going to be back for a few hours.I asked if we could leave our stuff in the car and come... More 

Helpful?
Thank nannajay
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your comments,, On the afternoon that is described in your review this is what happened,, your room was booked about 10 days by yourselfs by phone call to me, in our conversation about yourselfs arriving that day you asked if you could check in at 1 ock lunch time,, i said yes ok,, you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dymchurch
3.6 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Romney
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stade Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Romney Bay House Hotel
Romney Bay House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littlestone-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
6.1 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#2 of 3 in Hythe
3.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family Run 17th Century Guest House & Restaurant, Set in Dymchurch Romney Marsh Kent, 200 yards from the Golden Sandy beach of Dymchurch and 200 yards from the Steam Railway "RHD" Steam Railway.All our rooms are EN -suite here at " Dr Syns" and decorated to a very high standard.The Name " Dr Syn" comes from the book by Russell Thorndike " Dr Syns" all about Smugglers in the 17th century, Walt Disney also made a Film about 1963.Our Guest house is Ideal for people wanting to vist Castles and gardens, or just sit on our lovely beach 200 yards walk, Euro Tunnel is just 15 mins drive from " Dr Syns" , Dover Docks 25 mins drive. Our Prices all include Full Breakfast. Evening meals served on request £13.50 for 2 courses. We also cater for private Functions Parties, small weddings, Buffetts, etc . We have private parking, Large Garden andSun Terrace, also ideal for motor bikes. Hope to see some of you soon.Regards Debbie Dr Syns Guest House Dymchurch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dr Syns Guest House

Address: 24, Mill Road, Dymchurch TN29 0NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dymchurch
Price Range: $99 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dr Syns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dr Syns Guest House Dymchurch, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay