We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Ryde Castle

#3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 280: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The service at the bar was the poorest I have experienced. Bar staff were miserable and had to wait an extremely long time to get served with no greeting. The food was AWFUL for the price I paided which was equivalent to London prices for the quality of what you would get from Iceland superstore! DISGUSTING!

Helpful?
Thank Dannii K
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Came here for breakfast by chance as got hover over from southsea for the day with the kids. I have to say the breakfast was very generous and delicious. Staff were really friendly. I would definately come again. It was a great start to a lovely day out.

Helpful?
Thank emma c
Durham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just had a week at the Ryde Castle hotel. The room we had booked wasn't as we expected i.e. A sea view. It should have been pointed out that standard rooms are at the rear. The bar was the only venue to eat as the restaurant is not open until Thursday and the weekend , although breakfast each... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda G
chrisvharding
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate my husbands birthday. The room we were given was small and very very warm. The windows did not open fully so could not get any breeze into the room. Didn't sleep at all well, because it was so warm we had to have the windows open and all we could hear... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrisvharding
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had two very nice nights here and I can't fault it ! Staff are very nice and attentive. Room very clean and tidy. Breakfast. Although a small portion was very nice with lots of tea and toast to fill up on. Ample parking and just a very short walk to everything Ryde has to offer. One very happy customer

Helpful?
Thank Steven B
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at Ryde Castle several times but this time it was not so good . The Staff and rooms were good , but the breakfast was poor on the Saturday ...the Bacon and Sausage were very poor . After a long day with the Grandkids we were looking forward to a good nights rest , but round about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steff L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a weekend celebrating a friends 50th. The hotel is lovely. We had room 14 which was superb and overlooked the sea. Very clean. The problem is the service, no one on reception and had to ring a bell, although the receptionist as lovely. Now to the food! Do not eat in the bar, the food is well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kate2001
Ashby de la Zouch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is situated overlooking the sea on the Esplanade in Ryde not far from the Hoverport. On site parking is good and free. It is a 5 minute walk into Ryde where there are plenty of restaurants and bars although the hotel has a good basic menu if you don't want to go out. The room that we had was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry S
Trevor6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We popped in to here after enjoying a day out at the Pirate Festival on Appley Beach on Fathers Day. We had a small budget left so ordered two adult roasts and a childs roast. When we checked our change we was charged less than what we thought and asked if this was right. We had a response of "Yes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
Trevor6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do hope you return to us for future visits. Kind Regards More 

Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whe booked a table for 10 people. For 7pm was shown to our table no one came to take our order by 7.45. When complaining was told whe are short staffed At about 8 pm whe all decided to leave. Followed by 4 other people.

Helpful?
Thank thechaingang2016
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

223 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Accessible Family Room (25)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room with Sea View (25)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Twin Room with Sea View (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
9.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wight Montrene Hotel
Wight Montrene Hotel
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The majestic Ryde Castle is a former Victorian manor ideally located on Ryde seafront overlooking the picturesque marina. The newly refurbished bedrooms are all en-suite with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Some of the bedrooms benefit from spectacular sea views across the Solent and beyond. The Hotel also features a lift, fully accessible rooms and external ramps.The Ryde Castle has a beautiful restaurant and bar patio area so you can enjoy a relaxing drink and a meal whilst taking in the wonderful views and sea air. Ryde Castle is accessible from all major transport links, both the hovercraft and catamaran services that link the Isle of Wight with Portsmouth and Southsea are only a short walk from the hotel and with ample parking available free of charge it makes Ryde Castle hotel the perfect choice whilst visiting the Isle of Wight ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ryde Castle

Address: The Esplanade, Ryde PO33 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Price Range: $115 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ryde Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ryde Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ryde
Ryde Castle Hotel
Castle Ryde
Hotel Ryde Castle Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay