We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Ryde Castle

Esplanade, Ryde PO33 1JA, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Hovertravel
    0.2 mi
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviewed 1 week ago
Christmas Day meal
We recently booked a Christmas Day dinner at this old but... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 327: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently booked a Christmas Day dinner at this old but moderniser venue . It was quite an event for us as we were 37 hungry guests that hadn't seen each other for in some cases 25 yrs so emotions were running high! The context wasn't an easy one, amongst our guests were exited children & babies , also guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonusfishfox
Sean6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review, it was a pleasure to share this experience with you not to mention the great atmosphere you and your family brought to the Hotel for Christmas Day. We look forward to your next family gathering. Kind Regards

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just stayed at Ryd Castle Hotel, both as guessed to the hotel and as wedding guests to the Bride & Groom. I can't overstate how good our stay was, the room, the food and the staff were excellent and good value for money. Their service as a wedding venue as also excellent. Thankyou Sean and the team for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aarononastone
Sean6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review, I have passed your lovely comments back to my team. Thank you Kind Regards

hampshire, uk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were all really friendly, had a lovely welcome. Stayed just the one night after Christmas, and also booked the festive menu meal. Room was nice, but little on the small side, tv kept cutting off, but that's the only negative. Breakfast really nice, and plenty of it. Festive menu was fine for the money, probably just too much food....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra g
Sean6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, your kind comments have been passed to my team. Kind Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed two nights between Christmas and new year in a standard double. Welcome was pleasant and check in quick. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok but could easily be much improved - on both mornings the fruit was non existent despite being in the buffet menu. That said, lovely fresh croissants. We didn't eat in the bar at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beetle001
Sean6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we do hope you return to us for future visits. Kind Regards

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went Ryde Castle for dinner 1 Friday during December & wasn't disappointed.. friendly staff, found a nice window table, food was Good typical pub grub just what we were looking for, reasonable prices too will return Thank you 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leanne p
Sean6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review, we look forward to your return. Kind Regards

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was our first time of staying in a hotel over the Christmas period and we had a truely fantastic time. The package was very good value, our room was clean, well furnished and had a lovely view over the sea to Portsmouth, and the hotel staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. The manager Sean treated us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
Sean6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review and wonderful comments regarding your stay with us over the Christmas period. It was a pleasure spending Christmas with you and we do hope you return to us in the new year. Happy new year. Kind Regards

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 6, 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed at Ryde Castle while visiting relatives on the island. We booked a superior room thinking this would be we'll furnished and with good views. The room was a large room and was clean. Bed was comfortable and fairly quiet, especially as there were Christmas parties in function room. Bathroom was clean. However we were disappointed by general quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wheel_100
Sean6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review, we do appreciate your constructive comments and will be passed on. Kind Regards

Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

Came to the Isle of Wight for the first time and stayed at Ryde Castle Hotel for the night. Stayed with family but this place would be good for families, couples and even dogs are allowed! It's a beautttttiful venue, absolutely spotless, really spacious rooms, comfy bed, helpful friendly staff. Really peaceful night sleep, couldn't hear any other rooms. Could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
Sean6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review and great comments, we are very much looking forward to your return. Kind Regards

Nelson, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Very nice clean hotel friendly staff food excellent only stayed one night but would re visit and recommend to friends and family. Great location rooms also available with sea views Parking facilities on site

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew19672015
Sean6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review I have passed your kind comments back to my team. Kind Regards

Reviewed November 30, 2016

The room was very nice and a good size, but we had problems getting any hot water in the shower in the mornings. The water stopped completely for a short while leaving us unable to even flush the toilet. We booked a meal in the restaurant on the Sunday evening and went out for the day. Got back at 7:30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynngeoff123
Sean6506, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, please accept my apologies we run low of stock on our menu however we do hope you do return to us for future visits. Kind Regards

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

250 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Accessible Family Room (25)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room with Sea View (25)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Twin Room with Sea View (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
3.3 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
377 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
404 reviews
7.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The majestic Ryde Castle is a former Victorian manor ideally located on Ryde seafront overlooking the picturesque marina. The newly refurbished bedrooms are all en-suite with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Some of the bedrooms benefit from spectacular sea views across the Solent and beyond. The Hotel also features a lift, fully accessible rooms and external ramps.The Ryde Castle has a beautiful restaurant and bar patio area so you can enjoy a relaxing drink and a meal whilst taking in the wonderful views and sea air. Ryde Castle is accessible from all major transport links, both the hovercraft and catamaran services that link the Isle of Wight with Portsmouth and Southsea are only a short walk from the hotel and with ample parking available free of charge it makes Ryde Castle hotel the perfect choice whilst visiting the Isle of Wight ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ryde Castle

Address: Esplanade, Ryde PO33 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Price Range: $91 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ryde Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ryde Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ryde
Ryde Castle Hotel
Castle Ryde
Hotel Ryde Castle Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ryde Castle staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ryde Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I think all rooms are excellent, reasonable priced for quality of stay, and food menu is exceptional value for excellent quality.”
 of 5 bubbles Aarononastone, 1 week ago | Read review
“Chose a sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles 133debbiej, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Eat somewhere else in the evenings.”
 of 5 bubbles Lynngeoff123, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“has lift to first floor but not to second floor”
 of 5 bubbles bungyc, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“We had a superior room but unfortunately it did not come with much of a view (#9) but the wonderful bed made up for this compromise.”
 of 5 bubbles disappointed983, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question