We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fountain Inn

Traveler (68)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (11)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Ocean View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
411Reviews
87Photos
5Q+A
92Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 97
  • 141
  • 71
  • 57
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Booked in for 3 nights on climbing up the stairs noticed most rooms had the door handles missing. After a long journey sat on the double bed had heard a crack and a sinking feeling. Looked under the bed which was supposed by wooden lats one was missing were I had sat the next
Read more
Response from Alan A, Manager at The Fountain Inn
Responded Sep 13, 2018
We apologise that the hotel did not meet your standards. We are aware of the repair issues needed and these are underway, we are constantly looking to improve and do so from feedback such as this.
Read more
Fabulous staff, they could not have been more helpful,they where the saving grace when we had a problem.Poor old Fountain could do with a refurbish again, very scruffy. Staff are pushing water up hill.Room 15 has view of harbour but near kitchen fan.
Read more
Response from Alan A, Manager at The Fountain Inn
Responded Sep 13, 2018
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, we will pass this on to them.
Read more
Absolutely pouring down with rain on this particular Sunday so after some deliberation we went for The Fountain. A range of roasts available (we had beef and lamb between us) and a pie and chips. Very prompt table service with the food but slack bar service - didn’t know who was
Read more
Response from Alan A, Manager at The Fountain Inn
Responded Sep 13, 2018
I am sorry about the service you received at the bar. All staff will be spoken to with regards to correct responses when faced with these issues. However I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
We went to this pub as a group of friends celebrating a birthday. We all bought drinks and 1 lady in our group asked for a large gin and lemonade. As this was a double and she was only given a small dash she asked for a little more lemonade, It was £9.50. When she questioned the
Read more
Response from Alan A, Manager at The Fountain Inn
Responded Sep 13, 2018
We are sorry that at the time that you visited our toilets were not in there best state, these have since been repaired, and I apologise for the issue that you had with our member of staffs response. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to make things right.
Read more
Absolutely appalling food and service. I payed just shy of seven pounds for a 'king prawn startee' the portion size and the prawns were pathetic. When question I was just told 'that's what you get' Would not go back and definitely not recommend. Ruined a family evening. Main was
Read more
Response from Alan A, Manager at The Fountain Inn
Responded Sep 13, 2018
I apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your standards, it is only through feedback like this that we can continue to improve our service. We are constantly improving and hope that you will come back and try us again.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
The suite on the first floor, lovely and spacious but noisy
Ho visto specchi più grandi...
La scrivania sulla quale teoricamente dovreste lavorare... (solo mettendo tutto a terra si presu
PreviousNext
1234567
Is there any car parking?
We stayed during Cowes week so town was busy, we opted for the park and ride, and took the bus into the town and had a short walk to the hotel. Worked very well for us.
0 votes
Show all answers
Are the rooms air conditioned., please?
Just a fan no air conditioning in our room .
1 vote
Show all answers
Do you allow pets ie Small dog
yes
0 votes
are there any pet friendly hotels on the isle of wight
I believe the Luccombe Manor Country House is pet friendly. Hope this helps you :-)
0 votes
Show all answers
Are hairdryers provided in the rooms?
Yes
0 votes
Show all answers
"Stay somewhere else"
"stay somewhere else"
"Rooms 21 and 20 are in the loft space, but very quirky and look out onto the harbour"
"Choose a different hotel"
"From my own experience the higher you r room more noise."
PreviousNext
12345619
PRICE RANGE
$67 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the fountain hotel cowesfountain hotel cowes
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightCowes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing