We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fountain Inn

High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Fountain Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Bed was great and room was quirky. Bathroom was about average, but the shower not great. The food we had was fantastic and all really reasonable too, which shocked us a bit coming from Bucks, where everything is double that of everywhere else on earth. The staff were fantastic, really friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt P
Rome
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have been here a few times for breakfast or lunch and I have to say it wasn't the best experience. When you walk into the restaurant you get this old school sailor vibe, which is great and the staff are all really lovely too. But the food has not been too great. I ordered a sandwich and my boyfriend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adventure0911
Glauchau, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are small, dirty and filthy. In the first room, there was a thick crust on the table, lights did only partially work and I could not get any WiFi. The receptionist assured me, that the room was cleaned that day..... Anyway, I got another room and this time WiFi worked, but the ceiling in the bathroom of Room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anja N

Travelers are raving about these Cowes hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Never stayed in the hotel but had lunch here for the second time. Really good food and service nice outdoor area overlooking the harbour. Can definitely recommend for food or drinks will come again in summer :) Good portin sizes you wont go hungry!

Helpful?
Thank Mab1666
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Because I'm quite tall, I couldn't fit under the shower (the head was broken btw, which I forgot to report) and constantly had to mind my head in the room. The mattress was really soft (I'm used to a hard one), which caused lower back pain in the first few hours of the day. I also found the room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

I have shared your feedback with the management team, Kind regards More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

We have eaten here many times and have always had great service and superb food. However when we walked in on a Sunday for a table for 12 it all went a bit pear shaped. They offered us three tables pushed together in the rear restaurant area, it was only midday and the pub was empty. They took drinks orders... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin W
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit and that the team failed to deliver our usual high standards, We value all feedback, Kind regards More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Lovely, chatty and informative staff. Helpful too. Food was reasonably priced and really tasty, lots of variety for fussy eaters. Really near to local area. Was made to feel welcome, plus the room was gorgeous. Only downside was drunk/rowdy locals at the pub nearby that could be heard from our room, however it was a saturday night, so to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alice B
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

A great review to read and share with the team Kind regards More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night for a Christmas do in cowes. Very impressed with the quality of the room , very comfortable well equipped room with tea and coffee facilities, chocolate brownies and an iron and ironing board. Staff very attentive and helpful nothing to much trouble, breakfast buffet plus cooked breakfast cooked to order all to a high standard . Would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma A
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

A great 5* review to read, Kind regards More 

Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

We headed for the Fountain on Sunday evening as its popular with my father. All in all the food was very good and the ribeye steak I had was very well cooked and tasted great. The only few issues I noticed where the longer than expected wait time for our food and also the horrendous smell from the vinegar pot.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DG_1312
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and review, Kind regards More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015 via mobile

I'm writing this at 01:30 as we are staying at the Fountain Inn, to attend a wedding in the morning. The room we have been given faces onto the pub next door The Vectis Tavern, which has a beer garden. They were meant to close by midnight but still full of drunks sat in the beer garden making lots of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 80sDave
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that our next door neighbours kept you up and disturbed your night, I have fed this review back to the management team to discuss and review their policy for night calls to help future guests whilst staying Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay