We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chale Bay Farm

Certificate of Excellence
05/22/2017 05/23/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
Panoramas (41)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chale Bay Farm
See the most recent reviews
Showing 278: English reviews
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2016

I have been going to the Isle of Wight all my life and this is easily the best place I have stayed on the island. The focus on customer needs and desire to continuously improve are evident throughout. Highlights are the comfortable rooms with finishing touches such as bottled water and lovely biscuits, the delicious breakfasts with plenty to choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
Steve C, Owner at Chale Bay Farm, responded to this review

Many thanks for your Outstanding review. Regarding the shower pressure, we'd had mentions in the past the showers were almost too powerful and had turned the guest water pressure control valve down by half a bar. We've turned it back up as a result of your comments!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2016

A peaceful and relaxing place to chill out. Beautiful location and a great breakfast that set us up for the day. We found both hosts and staff to be friendly and attentive. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzanj374
Steve C, Owner at Chale Bay Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - be sure to take advantage of our repeat stay special offer if you come back next year!

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Cannot fault Chale Bale farm, the way the rooms are laid out & the facilities are perfect. Stunning location & you can make the most of this with a patio area for each room. When we arrived we were welcomed and advised we had a complimentary upgrade to a family suite. Very considerate and my only fault is on me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikitayl0r
Steve C, Owner at Chale Bay Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. Whenever we are less busy we always like to try to offer a complimentary upgrade if we have a suitavble room free for the entire stay.

Bucks
Reviewed October 25, 2016

From time we booked (and they arranged the ferry) through to leaving we were made very welcome, the room was excellent with great view and facilities with complimentary fruit and more, lovely bed and bath, that was most relaxing after walking over 12 miles during the day! Breakfasts plentiful and varied choice and set us up for the walking we...

Review collected in partnership with HP Windows 10
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andybaz1961
Steve C, Owner at Chale Bay Farm, responded to this review

Many thanks for your fantastic review and recommending us on TripAdvisor.

Esher, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Chale Farm has an amazing atmosphere and is in a delightful setting. Everything was good about staying there and the breakfasts were magnificent. Nothing too much trouble. Will visit again sometime in the future. Ray and Marion

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raystenning
Steve C, Owner at Chale Bay Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay, it was wonderful having you here and for your review. Don't forget to ring us and claim your 10% repeat stay discount if you come back again next year!

Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2016

A friendly welcome from Charlotte who showed us to our room boded well for our stay. The room was comfortable with a sofa, super king sized bed and well thought out touches like lots of plug sockets at mid height next to the dressing table. Also a lot of mirrors sensibly placed in the main room and bathroom. My only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharp9500
Steve C, Owner at Chale Bay Farm, responded to this review

Many thanks for the Excellent review and input to improving our service.

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Stayed here for a week in mid October with some friends. Steve & Charlotte were so welcoming and accommodating by allowing us to park the buses we brought over for an event on the island in their grounds for the duration of our stay. On check in there was a very warm welcome & was shown personally to my room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bromleyboi
Steve C, Owner at Chale Bay Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for already booking again for next year's event!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 11, 2016

Stayed in this wonderful hotel, sadly only for one night! It truly couldn't have offered my husband and I anymore. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable, warm and friendly and offered stunning views of the sunset out over the sea. We had a room with a patio. Breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked when ordered. Would find it hard to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
Steve C, Owner at Chale Bay Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review. You are right in what you say in room tips - six out of eight of our rooms have sea views, and five have their own personal patios.

Monett, Missouri
Reviewed October 5, 2016

Our Hertz rental car broke down, although we managed to get to the hotel with it and Hertz essentially left us stranded. The proprietor of this hotel waived the local phone call charges we had to make and himself made several phone calls on our behalf to try to get help for the situation. Without his help, we might still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 95Carol
Steve C, Owner at Chale Bay Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We were so sorry that your trip to the UK has been spoiled by the breakdown of your hire car, so it was the least we could do to try and let you escape and have some dinner and enjoy some of the Island whilst fielding and making calls on your behalf to try...

Bedfordshire
Reviewed October 1, 2016

We had a superior room which was very comfortable and clean. It had everything needed and more. Especially nice was the welcome complementary fruit. The only slightly down side was that it was possible to hear people in the bathroom in the room next door but it didn't really detract from our stay. The bed was very comfortable and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StanleyGBeds
Steve C, Owner at Chale Bay Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for rating us excellent in your review. The design of the property is that many of the bathrooms "dovetail" with each other so we are sorry if you heard some noise from the adjacent bathroom.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

288 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (37)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (37)
Viewed
Deluxe Duplex Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (16)
Viewed
Superior Double Room with Sea View (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
05/22/2017 05/23/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chale
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
780 reviews
6.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
700 reviews
6.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
799 reviews
8.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful and individual guesthouse nestling among rolling fields with stunning views on the south-west of the Isle of Wight. Situated on the Isle of Wight’s Heritage Coastline with uninterrupted sea views to the Needles and the chalk cliffs of Tennyson Down, Chale Bay Farm provides an idyllic and tranquil setting. Originally a Dairy Farm, Chale Bay Farm is set in 26 acres and has modern, purpose built guest rooms set around a relaxing courtyard with water garden, creating bespoke, luxury guesthouse accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chale Bay Farm

Address: Chale Bay Farm Military Road, Chale PO38 2JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Chale
Price Range: $147 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chale Bay Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chale Bay Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chale Bay Farm Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chale Bay Farm staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chale Bay Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms good”
CamraPales, 4 days ago | Read review
“All rooms (built around a courtyard) have countryside and sea vews.”
868elise, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms to the front have uninterrupted far reaching views. All rooms have different advantages.”
terrylarkins, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“If you can afford to get a room with a sea view I would highly recommend it”
petertS7691VB, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Air conditioning, plenty of parking, excellent views in all directions. Super king bed. Other larger family rooms available.”
VictorCPeirce, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Expedia.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates